We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Admiral Rodney at Berrow Green
Ranked #2 of 2 Martley B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have just come home having had a very nice lunch at the Admiral Rodney recommended by our former English teacher who lives in the nearby village of Clifon on Teme. Traditional ales and perry cider quenched our thirsts and although it took a little while, the home cooked dishes were enjoyed by all. We didn't even have room for the delicious local Bennett's dairy ice cream on offer. I noticed there was more than one choice for vegetarians (I have vegetarian family members) and will certainly call again. It is a lovely part of England for those who live afar and just up the road bearing right on leaving is a fantastic viewing point where you can see the Licky Hills, the Cotswolds, the Malverns and into Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having g regularly visited the pub down the road, we decided to give the admiral Rodney a go this week. We arrived to an almost empty carpark, inside was one other family eating. It took a few minutes for someone to appear at the bar, but they were polite, courteous and provided us with a high chair.
Prices of food seemed ver reasonable and after just the right amount of time our order was taken.
Starters were yummy, pâté, whitebait and mushrooms.
Main courses came quickly and were piping hot. The size of the Yorkshire pudding had to be seen to be believed. Huge bowl of piping hot vegetables for the for of us to share. Sauces were brought to the table quickly.

Food was, overall very tasty, exceedingly good value for money. Like other people have mentioned, there was not much on the customer service front, but they were in no way rude to us.

Definitely a place we will return to.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank yummy_yummy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wonderful service from Sarah who acknowledged us immediately with a friendly welcome. I was accompanied by Mum who is in a wheelchair for mobility reasons. Sarah readily helped us and showed us to our table. The food was lovely and very well presented, and plenty of it. The fish was fresh and flaky and Mum's lasagne was tasty and obviously home made. The sticky toffee pudding was moist and served with lots of custard in a separate jug. Wonderful presentation. Topped with the great service from Hayley, we shall certainly be back. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadforlife935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped by here for an impromptu evening meal on a thursday night.
It was quiet and we had a choice of where we wanted to sit.
On the plus side, the young waiter was friendly and efficient and the food was really good. Not cheap but nicely presented and very tasty!
If i were to criticise anything, the young lady behind the bar could have been more "customer orientated".
I thought that having paid £40 for 2 meals and 3 drinks i would have been sent on my way with a "Thank you very much. Have a good evening". What i got was a nonchalant "Cheers".
I couldnt fault the food or waiter service but the experience was just a little tainted by the lack of enthusiasm elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youkillemwechillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Visited with friends by chance, nice looking pub. We hadn't booked a table and they were very busy with a large party who had booked that day unexpectedly so the restaurant was full. Offered to their credit to accommodate us in the bar which we accepted, however wish they had just said they were too busy. The food although plentiful was mediocre and not very hot.. I'm sure they tried their best but not sure I would return again, bar staff not over friendly ( possibly because busy) although well stocked with ales and ciders.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hezziehoohahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great range of various local ales ,lovely warm bar /lounge wood burner glowing .We met some friends here as it was a half way house to a party we were attending in Worcester.Wish we had stayed all evening as we only had a bar snack which was first class - fish cake with poached egg & salad yum yum We watched numerous meals being served and the quantity and quality looked first class- we over heard people saying how good it was .WE WILL BE BACK .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were a group of 12 who had the 2 course Sunday lunch menu! Excellent value for money! We all had the Sunday roast which was presented well with lots of vegetables! As the weather was great, we ate outside and enjoyed the great views! The staff worked hard with good service! Can recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank School70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martley
1.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightwick
206 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
The Dewdrop Inn
The Dewdrop Inn
#1 of 2 in Broadheath
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Baiting House
The Baiting House
#3 of 27 in Worcester
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Chandlery
The Chandlery
#1 of 2 in Martley
50 reviews
2.5 mi away
Huntlands Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Rodney at Berrow Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Rodney at Berrow Green

Address: | Berrow Green, Martley WR6 6PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Martley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martley
Price Range: $65 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral Rodney at Berrow Green 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in stunning Worcestershire countryside with great views towards Worcester and the Cotswold Hills beyond, The Admiral Rodney at Berrow Green is a claasic English country inn. Currently closed for refurbishment, when it re-opens in early 2018 it will offer 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms (most with great country views), two bars and a 60 seat restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Admiral Rodney at Berrow Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing