We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely hospitable and lovely food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Admiral Rodney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Admiral Rodney
Ranked #2 of 2 Martley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely hospitable and lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed there almost 6 years ago while doing the Worcestershire way and always promised ourselves we'd return. We stayed this week for my husbands 50th birthday and are so pleased we did. We were lucky that we happened to go on 'Folk' night, where the bar is filled with music and a lovely atmosphere- people arrived with an assortment of instruments and entertained themselves and other customers.
From the moment we arrived we (and our little dog) were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and arrived very quickly, breakfast was huge and lovely- very glad we'd done our long walk the previous day! The ales were apparently also excellent!
We've stayed in the Snug and Malvern rooms and both were spotless, beautifully furnished and decorated. Friends have already stayed there on our reccommendation and we'd not hesitate in reccommending anybody else to stay!
We'll definitely return- a little sooner next time! The Martley Circular Walk is a must-well signposted, but you can also pick up a leaftlet/map from the church car park.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suse2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
26
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Took the father in law out for what I hoped would be a relaxing lunch. The bar was empty when we arrived so we ordered drinks from the bar and then sat at the window table. About 10 minutes later 4 people arrived who said they had booked a table and the manager said 'it's the one in the window', even though we were already sat there. The other people said that was fine and that they would sit at one of the other vacant tables but the manager then shouted at us from the bar 'Oy you can't sit there it's reserved for these people'. He had clearly seen us go to sit at this table but didn't say anything. To shout from the bar was very rude when he could easily have come over to speak to us if he really had to. Have they never heard or 'reserved' signs?

The food was ok but nothing special. The portions were large as were the prices.

When we came to the bill I wanted to pay by card. The manager was on the phone and the barman said that I would have to wait until he had finished as they only had one phone line. The call went on and on and on. About 10 minutes later he finished his call and I was able to pay.

Not the relaxing lunch I had hoped for and I certainly won't be going back. There are plenty of places with better customer service where you are made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HermioneBaglash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Four of us spent a night at the Admiral Rodney whilst Walking the Worcestershire Way from Bewdley to Great Malvern. This was the perfect stopping off point as we were able to eat a good pub meal in the evening and have a good night's rest in comfortable beds. The rooms were very clean and the large bath was perfect for soothing tired legs. Breakast offered a choice of cereals followed by cooked breakfast which was a good size and well prepared.
Des & Karen were great hosts and were happy for us to leave bags before and after our visit for later collection.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xlapak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

The Admiral Rodney is a gem of a rural pub in Worcestershire.

The range of beers and ciders is excellent

Service is friendly and prompt

Best go to the folk music nights last wednesday in the month.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank jkiddscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

Came across the Admiral Rodney pub by chance whilst planning to walk the Worcestershire Way. Quite a find!

Taken over by new owners' about 3 months ago apparently, it offers good quality and very good value bed and breakfast accommodation. Just a shame there are only 3 rooms. Didn't get to see the one with the four poster in it, but a 2-night stay in "The Snug" (double) was very nice. Though the room isn't that big, the bathroom is a good size (bath and shower) and room and bathroom are well decorated and in good condition. The price was very competitive too (have paid more for less quality in lots of other places).

Breakfast was nicely cooked and evening meals in the bar/restaurant were tasty. Don't expect "cheap as chips" pub prices (e.g. £9.25 for the homemade pie) but the quality of the surroundings and the well-cooked, homemade food make it worthwhile.

Last but not least, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back there again.

  • Liked — Overall quality and value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa_Mundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martley
1.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Huntlands Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Dewdrop Inn
Dewdrop Inn
#1 of 2 in Broadheath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Rodney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Rodney

Property: The Admiral Rodney
Address: Berrow Green, Martley | Worcester, Martley WR6 6PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Martley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral Rodney 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Admiral Rodney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing