We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Paradise”
Review of Makayla Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makayla Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We spent 8 amazing days at this very modern, clean, spacious and homely villa. You have the best snorkelling on your doorstep, beautiful white sand beaches and crystal clear waters. You have the option to dine at many of the beautiful restaurants or stay in house and cook a BBQ on the deck for some quiet time. It was definatley an escape to paradise. The owners are awesome, full of knowledge of the island and always willing to help you out if you need them. We were sad to leave Makayla and would highly recommend it to anyone. We will definately be going back! Shirelle & Glen

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Glen-Shirelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

John and Rachel greet you off the plane with a smile and an "ei" which they get especially made and smells of the tropics. We were then swept away to the villa and shown around before being left to explore. The beach is a stones throw away and had very few people on it to disturb some serious reading and snorkelling. The villas are really well appointed and once you are stocked up from the local grocery store there is everything there that you could want or need.
The Rennies are full of information about the island and its inhabitants and while we were there we went with them to the big event of the year in the cultural competition held in town. This was a serious affair with dance teams coming from all over the island group, and the talent was amazing!!
We hired a scooter and you can motor around the island in 1 hour with Makayla Palms being 1/2 hour either way from town.A great way to get around.
We can't wait for another opportunity to visit our friends again and recommend Makayla to anyone, young or old!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sudsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We have just returned from Rarotonga and our 8 days at Makayla Palms were incredible. The villas are on the doorstep of the nicest beach on the island and just a short distance from the lagoon at Muri (the other choice spot to swim on the island - we definitely recommend making the excursion by kayak!!!). Unlike many on the island (we looked around out of interest) the villas are in impeccable condition, with all the amenities required to really make it feel like a home away from home. The snorkelling gear and kayaks provided are of the highest quality and were extensively used. The 3 burner gas BBQ was also a great addition and made cooking up local delicacies (try the local Wahoo with cocunut milk and lemongrass - delicious!!!) a breeze on the few occasions we didn't dine out.

John and Rachael were incredibly friendly, gave great advice on what to do during our visit and assisted us with all of our bookings/
enquiries. Every one of their recommendations for restaurants/
cafes/shops/health spas were right on the money!!! Their extensive knowledge of the culture and history of the Cook Islands enabled us to appreciate the island to the fullest.

We have recommended Makayla Palms to all of our friends and look forward to returning ourselves in the near future.

Jerry & Rachael (Auckland, New Zealand)

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jerry075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

It is a pleasure to review the accommodation at Makayla Palms. We stayed in the recently constructed two bedroomed villa that was outfitted with everything that one would need for a relaxing holiday in Rarotonga. The villa was spacious, extremely clean, attractively decorated and surrounded by a well kept tropical garden. About 30 metres away was a beautiful lagoon suitable for snorkelling and swimming for all ages and abilities and with a great array of fish species and corals. We booked directly with our hosts John and Rachel over the internet and our requests for any information were dealt with promptly and pleasantly so it was no surprise that on arrival our congenial hosts did everything to make our stay most enjoyable.

Richard and Rosalie, New Zealand

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarylouNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

We stayed for 11 fantastic nights in the Villa at Makayla Palms and found everything to be just wonderful. The Villa was beautifully clean, well equipped and in a great position. This part of the beach was a bonus as it was not as populated as nearby Muri but still had all the advantages. Our hosts Rachel and John were just fabulous, helpful at every turn, warm, friendly and showed great professionalism in their dealings with us from start to finish.

What can we say - except that we highly recommend Makayla Palms !!

Glenda, Barb & Bill from The Coromandel, New Zealand.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jazzie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

We have just returned from our holiday on Rarotonga. It was a supise burthday present to my partner, and everything turned out perfectly!
The house (Makayla Palms) was exactly as described. Everything was spotless, clean, tidy, modern, very cosy. It is 20 steps away from the white sandy beach. The owners also provides the kayaks and full snorkling gear, reef shoes.

It is true that the best beach on the island is here, we have explored the island and this is the nicest beach! Thank you for the perfect holiday! Hope to be back again some time!
Helga

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

My wife and I spend one week here during our honeymoon in NZ and the cooks.
After spending serveral month of lunch break on planning our itinery, I also found this - praktically brand new - bungalows on Raros South side on the internet.
When arriving we were picked up from the airport by John and already got our first introduction of island culture on the way.

At the bungalow, we were very happy with what we found.
Everything was new, clean, and nicely decorated with fresh flowers.
You get a lot for your money here.

The beach turned out to be only a couple of footsteps from the bugalow, although you can see it only slightly, depending where you sit on the poarch.
But when you go to the beach, be prepared to enter paradies .

As everything in the cooks takes its (island)time, the telephone was still missing when we were visiting.
But Rachel and John made easily up for this by booking everything for us and always being available when we needed anything.
Island night, restaurant, diving, you name it.

We spend two days out of our one week stay on Aitutaki and while this is definitely very much worth going, I can not agree to all those people who recommend to drop Rarotonga and to directly go to Aitutaki.
Both Islands are well worth going.

We would definitely not hesitate to stay at Rachel&Johns place again.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank Markus_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makayla Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makayla Palms

Address: Kauare, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range: $198 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makayla Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air NZ Cook Island Tourism Award Winner 2016/2017 Self Catering Villas Award winning Rarotongan accommodation at its best! Excellence on trip Advisor. Beautiful self catering villas with private beach access to stunning Titikaveka lagoon and beach. A perfect tropical holiday destination. Relax on the uncrowded beach with complimentary kayaks and snorkeling equipment or explore the many and varied activities on the island. Makayla Palms has a two bedroom villa and two couples villas (studios) and they have everything you need for your tropical holiday. These fully screened villas feature full kitchens, spacious lounges with flat screen TV, iPod dock, DVD player and Wifi modem. A cupboard contains all linen changes and beach towels, books games and DVDs. Guests enjoy the BBQ on their deck and the open air shower. AIR CON available with a surcharge. Within walking distance is a village shop, a fruit stall, a church, Tuk tuk tours, cafes and restaurants. Three kms away in Muri are many more cafes and restaurants. There is a car and scooters that can be pre booked and parking is available on the property. Buses run regularly and may be hailed at the gate. Exclusive airport transfers are available for booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Makayla Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makayla Palms Hotel Titikaveka
Makayla Palms Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing