We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and relaxing holiday”
Review of Makayla Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makayla Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

You can believe all the positive reviews. This place is a well-maintained and sparkling accommodation choice. Our one-bedroom villa was very clean, and bright with plenty of storage.The gardens are superbly tended with many beautiful flowers, and herbs and fruit available when in season. John and Rachel are great hosts and willing to share their vast knowledge of the island, and suggestions for excursions and dining options. The beach and lagoon, whilst not fully visible from much of the property is only 40 metres away and the water in the lagoon was crystal clear and the beach was almost always deserted. There is a good selection of DVDs available for those who wish to watch TV. The pleasant surprise was the amount of provided pantry items and bathroom supplies available on a "use and replace " basis. It was a very pleasant stay in a beautiful tropical setting, and it's apparent that the owners work hard to ensure their guests have a good holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loopy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We made our second visit to Makayla Palms in July and had a wonderful time again. Our family joined us this time around as we felt we should be sharing this beautiful spot. As reviewed by others, the accommodation and surroundings is of a very high standard and we were very comfortable. Our big kids enjoyed the 2 bedroom Villa Tiana and we loved being in Villa Tia just next door. We ate together on the deck at "their place" for half the time and ate out for the other half. This time we enjoyed the fare at the Rickshaw Cafe at Muri Beach, Fish and Chips at the Boat Club and dinner on the deck at Trader Jacks. We bought fresh fish at Avarua and tried our hand at making Ika Mata (successfully) and also made fish burgers. Apart from a few of us going on the Koka Cruises glass bottom boat trip and a few of us circumnavigating the Island on push bikes we just relaxed, snorkelled, kayaked and swam off the gorgeous beach at the end of the path. We only saw Rachel fleetingly this time around, but all enjoyed the baking she had prepared before her departure. John provided an excellent secretarial service as it became clear our daughter's social life was transferred from home to the Islands...places to go and people to see! Thanks for a lovely holiday Rachel and John; your property is awesome and remains a credit to you. We all enjoyed our lovely mid-winter escape.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thrilled that you returned with the family and had such a fabulous time.John's new secretarial service sounds great too! Sorry I missed you all this time but look forward to your next stay and catching up! Rachel........and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Makayla Palms, and this stay was equally as enjoyable as the previous. Rachel and John are such fabulous hosts, and the villas were up to the usual excellent standard. We will certainly be going back. It is fabulous having such a beautiful uncrowded beach, to call your own.

Room Tip: All villas are excellent,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Always lovely to see Makayla "friends" return who just slide into Raro time and the villas as though they have never left!! Greatly appreciate the help you gave the local community too. Look forward to your visit next year.John and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was the first holiday in 20 years that my husband and I had had without kids. It was near perfect with the only let down being several days of rain. The accommodation at Makayla Palms was fabulous with the villa having a well-equipped kitchen and a pantry stocked with the essentials. We cooked many of our own meals, and with Rachel’s input on where best to source local produce, we dined on beautiful fresh fish, meat and produce.
A short stroll through the gardens at Makayla Palms gave us access to a white sand beach that at times was empty. We had free use of kayaks and snorkelling equipment, both of which we put to good use. The fish life as you near the reef is abundant and we saw several large schools of fish.
We hired a scooter from John and Rachel for the week which is such a fun way to see the island and gave us a chance to stop for a spot of lunch at the Saltwater Cafe or The Mooring Fish Cafe while exploring the island.
The views of the island from the Needle are well-worth the mud and 4 hour hike over the cross island track. Parts of the track are quite steep and not always well-marked, but if you enjoy hiking then give it a go.
Thanks John and Rachel for helping make our long-awaited holiday near perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoupleonHoliday853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week and wish we could have spent more time.

John and Rachel have done a wonderful job building Makayla Palms and it really shows. Everything is so nicely taken care of, and our hosts really took care of us with fresh fruit, activity bookings, and immediate attention to a minor maintenance need.

The villas and the entire property are beautiful. The villas we stayed in was literally perfect. We could not have asked for more well kept accommodation.

The landscaping is extremely impressive, especially since the staff at Makayla Palms is only four people- it's easily on par with some of the nicest resorts I've stayed at. As an added bonus, many of the plants are edible herbs and fruit that you can use in your meals.

We also had an incredible time exploring the island and getting in some much needed relaxation. After traveling around the island a few times, we realized that while everything is lovely, Titikavaka is easily the nicest, quietest, most beautiful beach. The snorkeling just steps from our villa was the best either of us have ever experienced. The abundance of life and diversity of fish in the lagoon is unbelievable. The further out you go, the better it is.

We cooked most of our meals in our villa and ate outside most of the time. It was great to have the BBQ and full kitchen. We also appreciated having access to the the high quality kayaks and the laundry room so that we could travel with minimum baggage.

We'd definitely recommend Makayla Palms to anyone looking to visit Rarotonga and we hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our stay at Makayla Palms was all we could want and more. The team there Rache land John, Loving and Fred, and the children all gave us the best time ever. The accommodation is tops, the beach and snorkelling fantastic, and Rarotonga and its people, very special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciderhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Your stay with us from the Cider House Cafe in Cromwell was an absolute pleasure and we look forward to your visit next September. Loving, Fred and the Makayla Dance group send special regards to you both! Thanks for the cheese scone recipe.J and R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

These villas are very nicely kept (and very new) and it looks as shown on the pictures, we enjoyed the nice kitchen for cooking and had all our breakfasts on the terrace, which is under a porch roof so we could sit there even when the rain was pouring down.
The beach is so beautiful and literally only steps away, we especially enjoyed the snorkeling and the peace and quiet since we had the beach to ourselves most of the time.
The umu dinner with Fred and Lovie, is a must, we really enjoyed learning about the traditional cooking and tasting this lovely food - served right at the villa!
We hope to come back some time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 383Med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed our villa and peaceful beach and also that you had the chance to experience our local family umu.Fred does an amazing job and his little girls dancing are the icing on the cake.We would love you to return to our little corner of paradise some day.John and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royale Takitumu
Royale Takitumu
#2 of 12 in Titikaveka
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makayla Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makayla Palms

Address: Kauare, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range: $186 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makayla Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air NZ Cook Island Tourism Award Winner 2016/2017 Self Catering Villas Award winning Rarotongan accommodation at its best! Excellence on trip Advisor. Beautiful self catering villas with private beach access to stunning Titikaveka lagoon and beach. A perfect tropical holiday destination. Relax on the uncrowded beach with complimentary kayaks and snorkeling equipment or explore the many and varied activities on the island. Makayla Palms has a two bedroom villa and two couples villas (studios) and they have everything you need for your tropical holiday. These fully screened villas feature full kitchens, spacious lounges with flat screen TV, iPod dock, DVD player and Wifi modem. A cupboard contains all linen changes and beach towels, books games and DVDs. Guests enjoy the BBQ on their deck and the open air shower. AIR CON available with a surcharge. Within walking distance is a village shop, a fruit stall, a church, Tuk tuk tours, cafes and restaurants. Three kms away in Muri are many more cafes and restaurants. There is a car and scooters that can be pre booked and parking is available on the property. Buses run regularly and may be hailed at the gate. Exclusive airport transfers are available for booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Makayla Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makayla Palms Hotel Titikaveka
Makayla Palms Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing