We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Beautiful Villas. Wonderful Hosts.”
Review of Makayla Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makayla Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week and wish we could have spent more time.

John and Rachel have done a wonderful job building Makayla Palms and it really shows. Everything is so nicely taken care of, and our hosts really took care of us with fresh fruit, activity bookings, and immediate attention to a minor maintenance need.

The villas and the entire property are beautiful. The villas we stayed in was literally perfect. We could not have asked for more well kept accommodation.

The landscaping is extremely impressive, especially since the staff at Makayla Palms is only four people- it's easily on par with some of the nicest resorts I've stayed at. As an added bonus, many of the plants are edible herbs and fruit that you can use in your meals.

We also had an incredible time exploring the island and getting in some much needed relaxation. After traveling around the island a few times, we realized that while everything is lovely, Titikavaka is easily the nicest, quietest, most beautiful beach. The snorkeling just steps from our villa was the best either of us have ever experienced. The abundance of life and diversity of fish in the lagoon is unbelievable. The further out you go, the better it is.

We cooked most of our meals in our villa and ate outside most of the time. It was great to have the BBQ and full kitchen. We also appreciated having access to the the high quality kayaks and the laundry room so that we could travel with minimum baggage.

We'd definitely recommend Makayla Palms to anyone looking to visit Rarotonga and we hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Makayla Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 386 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our stay at Makayla Palms was all we could want and more. The team there Rache land John, Loving and Fred, and the children all gave us the best time ever. The accommodation is tops, the beach and snorkelling fantastic, and Rarotonga and its people, very special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciderhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Your stay with us from the Cider House Cafe in Cromwell was an absolute pleasure and we look forward to your visit next September. Loving, Fred and the Makayla Dance group send special regards to you both! Thanks for the cheese scone recipe.J and R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

These villas are very nicely kept (and very new) and it looks as shown on the pictures, we enjoyed the nice kitchen for cooking and had all our breakfasts on the terrace, which is under a porch roof so we could sit there even when the rain was pouring down.
The beach is so beautiful and literally only steps away, we especially enjoyed the snorkeling and the peace and quiet since we had the beach to ourselves most of the time.
The umu dinner with Fred and Lovie, is a must, we really enjoyed learning about the traditional cooking and tasting this lovely food - served right at the villa!
We hope to come back some time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 383Med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed our villa and peaceful beach and also that you had the chance to experience our local family umu.Fred does an amazing job and his little girls dancing are the icing on the cake.We would love you to return to our little corner of paradise some day.John and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

John and Rachel have done a terrific job with these villa's, they are beautifully appointed with everything you would want, although we did find we lounged on the bed quite alot because we didnt find the sofa that comfy.
The villas feel private and this is in part due to the gorgeous gardens. There are two fruit and vege stalls literally within a few mInutes walk from the front door.
Titikaveka is a great location if you are considering areas on Rarotonga, nice beach, wide lagoon for snorkling and kayaking, all this within easy reach of restaurants and cafes.
We noticed traffic noise as our villa was close to the road, but this may be typical of much of the accommodation on the island.
I cant speak highly enough of John and Rachel from their efficiency with bookings, their informative communication, hospitality and going the extra mile to help ou when we had hassles with transporting luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punkrockrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a great place to be!!!
Rachel and John are terrific hosts. The villas are beautifully presented in a lovely setting.
Our group of seven had ten days of relaxation and were grateful for the suggestions as to the restaurants and activities that we should consider. The breakfast in the gazebo and the delicious home baking was an added bonus. We are pleased to promote Makyla Palms to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Not only is Makayla Palms in a great location, John and Rachel are excellent hosts who provide many extras which include:
* beautiful gardens and use of ripe fruit (passionfruit -yum) and fresh herbs
* very well-equipped and spotlessly clean villas
* delicious home baking
* a specially prepared breakfast
* local knowledge and advice
* a wide range of equipment for beach use
* the booking of outings
* transport to the shopping area and the delivery of groceries to the villas while we enjoyed lunch at a local cafe
* the provision of books games DVDs and CDs

This was my second visit to Makayla Palms and I am sure it will not be the last. This is a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marnie471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and we very much look forward to your return.
John and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Friendly hosts. Rachael and John wonderful cookies for morning tea thanks.
Handy location with some of the best swimming out front.
Local knowledge added interest.
Handy vege stall across the road
Well equipped acc. For self catering and great happy hours!
Thanks John and Rachael.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moespots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makayla Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makayla Palms

Address: Kauare, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range: $202 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makayla Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air NZ Cook Island Tourism Award Winner 2016/2017 Self Catering Villas Award winning Rarotongan accommodation at its best! Excellence on trip Advisor. Beautiful self catering villas with private beach access to stunning Titikaveka lagoon and beach. A perfect tropical holiday destination. Relax on the uncrowded beach with complimentary kayaks and snorkeling equipment or explore the many and varied activities on the island. Makayla Palms has a two bedroom villa and two couples villas (studios) and they have everything you need for your tropical holiday. These fully screened villas feature full kitchens, spacious lounges with flat screen TV, iPod dock, DVD player and Wifi modem. A cupboard contains all linen changes and beach towels, books games and DVDs. Guests enjoy the BBQ on their deck and the open air shower. AIR CON available with a surcharge. Within walking distance is a village shop, a fruit stall, a church, Tuk tuk tours, cafes and restaurants. Three kms away in Muri are many more cafes and restaurants. There is a car and scooters that can be pre booked and parking is available on the property. Buses run regularly and may be hailed at the gate. Exclusive airport transfers are available for booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Makayla Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makayla Palms Hotel Titikaveka
Makayla Palms Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing