We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to come back again!”
Review of Makayla Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makayla Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had to come back again!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have recently returned from an 11 day stay at Makayla Palms - our second visit to this wonderful gem, and our 10th visit to Rarotonga over the past 19 years (so we have plenty of other accommodation experiences with which to compare Makayla Palms! )
If a quiet, relaxing holiday, close to a beautiful beach & in an immaculate and well equipped modern villa sounds like your 'thing' - then then this is the place to stay. John and Rachel the hosts, are welcoming, , friendly and helpful (in an unobtrusive way) and of course Rachel's home baking is legendary! The other recent reviews say it all!!
Some recommendations from us-
* "Island Living" - a delightful, newly opened gift shop (Rachel will give you the directions)
* "Tivaevae Collectables" - near the airport --
* "The Cafe" at the Beachcomber in town, and Neil Dearlove's take-away coffees made at the coffee roastery at his home at Matavera every day 7am- 10am (except Saturdays (cicoffeecompany.wordpress.com/)
* the smoked marlin hash, and the pizzas, at Cafe Salsa in town (www.salsa.co.ck)
* "Little Polynesian" for fine dining - perhaps to celebrate a special occasion (www.little polynesian.com/)
* The nearby CICC church at 10 am on Sunday to hear the amazing singing and have morning tea with the locals after the service.

The only problem is that it's so hard to come back to city life and work after such a wonderful holiday! Thanks again John and Rachel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boydies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
258
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

For a wonderful holiday experience Makayla Palms is the place to stay.
Your hosts Rachel & John ensure that all details no matter how small are taken care of.
Accommodation is modern, spotlessly clean and ever so handy to the beach.
A haven for swimming, snorkling or just lazing on the sand. Everything provided.
We also enjoyed waking up to find fresh fruit or home baking left on our outdoor table.
You could walk across the road and buy fresh vegetables for a BBQ at night if you did not want to dine out.
Lots of nice restaurants close by to go to as well.
We shall return and have no hesitation returning to Makayla Plams.
Glen & Gaynor Auckland

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaynordonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Arrived on late flight from NZ arriving to accommodation around 0300hrs to be greeted by a smiling John.
Easy to find address., leave airport turn left and drive for around 15 kilometers small blue sign on the right hand side of the road.

very clean spacious accommodation. large deck which has dining table and chairs, BBQ and covered by roof. Windows and ranch slider has screens to prevent insects.

Can only fully support remarks made by other guests.

Meet and greet, drink with hosts and other guests.

Hosts working hard to give guests a great stay and enjoy their work.

Recommend to others.

Room Tip: All good rooms, no concerns
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have just returned (to snow at home!) from our wedding in Rarotonga. John and Rachel were simply amazing hosts. All the little touches, the lei's on arrival at the airport, transfers, champagne, some home baking and breakfast the day after our wedding, we simply could not have found better. The beach is in the best part of the island and although we already had everything planned, they offered to do any bookings for us while we were there.
As everywhere in Raro, remember to take ear plugs for the rooster noise at night! Our hosts actually had the foresight to provide these for us.
Over all Makayla Palms is a great place in a gorgeous setting and above all John and Rachel are just both very nice people to know!
We feel privileged to have had the wedding holiday that we got :)
Al and Claire

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlandClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Makayla Palms was a fabulous place to stay - modern, light, spacious, well equipped and very clean and tidy. Hosts John and Rachel were especially helpful and helped make our holiday even better. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janjan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Seldom does an establishment score as highly and consistently as Makayla Palms. We completely agree with all the high opinions expressed on this website about Rachel and John's immaculate units where you are made to feel more like a family guest than a client. We learned a lot about Rarotonga and really enjoyed their companyin this perfect pocket of paradise where nothing is too much trouble.
We especially liked Rachel's beautifully planned garden and also the close proximity to Titikaveka Lagoon -ideal for swimming and snorkelling with all gear supplied. It was so nice to be in the village where chooks rule, the church is across the road and a handy dairy and a fruit and vege stall also there. We enjoyed meeting Lovie, the indomitable domestic help whose homespun philosophies on life in Rarotonga are enlightening.
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Makayla Palms on our Honeymoon- after debating a few options the reviews on this site steered us towards this property and we certainly werent disappointed! The villa was beautiful and modern, neat and tidy and so much more homely than a hotel. On arrival we were greeted by John who took care of us during our stay (Rachel was away) and he was so warm, friendly and hospitable. There are so many nice personal touches at Makayla Palms- on arrival there was basic food items like bread and milk and beautiful home made slices which was so nice when you fly in the early hours of the morning, and John/Rachel go out of their way to ensure that your time spent here is comfortable. During the duration John popped by numerous times, checking to see how our stay was or if there was anything he could do for us, helping us to hire a moped, dropping us into town when we needed a lift. and just offering a 'locals' view/suggestion on sightseeing, snorkelling spots and island nights etc which was really helpful.
We were really happy with our stay at Makayla Palms and can't wait to return to John and Rachels piece of paradise :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiegirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
2.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
553 reviews
1.5 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makayla Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makayla Palms

Property: Makayla Palms
Address: Kauare, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makayla Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air NZ Cook Island Tourism Award Winner 2016/2017 Self Catering Villas Award winning Rarotongan accommodation at its best! Excellence on trip Advisor. Beautiful self catering villas with private beach access to stunning Titikaveka lagoon and beach. A perfect tropical holiday destination. Relax on the uncrowded beach with complimentary kayaks and snorkeling equipment or explore the many and varied activities on the island. Makayla Palms has a two bedroom villa and two couples villas (studios) and they have everything you need for your tropical holiday. These fully screened villas feature full kitchens, spacious lounges with flat screen TV, iPod dock, DVD player and Wifi modem. A cupboard contains all linen changes and beach towels, books games and DVDs. Guests enjoy the BBQ on their deck and the open air shower. AIR CON available with a surcharge. Within walking distance is a village shop, a fruit stall, a church, Tuk tuk tours, cafes and restaurants. Three kms away in Muri are many more cafes and restaurants. There is a car and scooters that can be pre booked and parking is available on the property. Buses run regularly and may be hailed at the gate. Exclusive airport transfers are available for booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Makayla Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makayla Palms Hotel Titikaveka
Makayla Palms Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing