We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute slice of paradise...”
Review of Sea Change Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Change Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute slice of paradise...”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I were in Rarotonga from the 27th May to the 6th June and stayed in Villa 7 (a lagoon view executive villa with it's own plunge pool).
We absolutely fell in love with both Rarotonga and the Sea change Villas on this visit, our very first to this beautiful pacific paradise.
Sea Change Villas is a beautiful boutique resort with only 6 wonderfully private villas. We have travelled to both Fiji and Australia and stayed at larger resorts including the Hilton and Sheraton Resorts and yet Sea Change would be our overseas stand-out.
Our villa was an absolute delight, private, spacious, very well appointed and oh-sooo romantic, everything we expected and more. Whilst the beachfront villas are beautiful, and they are really lovely, we were not remotely disappointed with our executive villa. In fact we preferred our villa as it was larger and more private.
Nina,John and Keren are simply the best hosts you could ever wish for, friendly, super helpful and their local knowledge is priceless. Orientation is a bonus as these guys really do know Rarotonga and the best places to dine and visit. The service is first class and so much better than the bigger resorts we have visited.
Truly the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday we have ever had.
Oh...there was just one downside.......
.......coming home to a NZ winter......brrrrr!
Thanks so much Nina, John and staff.
All the best,
John and Yvette Mackay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    35
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
564
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed for our honeymoon in November and had a great time. The private pool is a great addition. The property is set up nicely with lots of native plants. The beach out front is okay but just a short motorbike ride away are some stunners. The reception was extremely helpful with info and booking of anything we wanted. This is definitely a great option for Rarontonga if you have the cash or want to splurge.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloehrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently stayed here for the week of our wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon package and lagoon view villa! Our room was emmaculate and had a fantastic private swimming pool. The photos we had seen online perfectly reflected real life - something that was really important to us seeing as we had nothing to go by but websites and a friends recommendation.

The service was spectacular. They really looked after us from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We really appreciated the 'personal touch' the staff were so good at providing - everyone knew us by name and went out of their way to ensure we had an incredible week. We had a large wedding party with us, staying all over Raro, and the staff at Sea Change were fantastic at helping us to coordinate tour groups. In addition, their personal run down of where to go and what to do on the island was just fantastic and the envy of our friends staying elsewhere. We also really appreciated their flexibility as we had to alter some of our bookings/inclusions around our plans with guests and they bent over backwards to help do this.

We thouroughly enjoyed a week of pampering, site seeing and relaxing and the week couldn't have been any better!

Room Tip: Our Lagoon View Villa was fantastic and although not "beach front" was only moments from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newlyweds246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for a week in late June 2012 and decided to renew our vows on the beach in front of the villas which is such a beautiful spot with the white sand and the beautiful colour water. The staff did everything to make it such a happy day for us from raking the beach to building an arch for us and putting petals of flowers around. They also put flowers in your villa, supply canoes, reef shoes, snorkel gear, beach towels, bathrobes and even have a laundry there so you can do your washing. They arrange all your tours and will even book the restaurants and arrange for you to be picked up if necessary as there a couple of restaurants nearby that will pick you up. I have never felt so relaxed and happy after a holiday as the Cook Islands are such a beautiful, relaxing spot especially at Sea Change. Would highly recommend staying there as all the staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: The beach front villas are worth it but the other villas and views are still good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I spent the second week of our honeymoon at Sea Change Villas. Everything about the experience was top notch. I booked our stay our stay about a month beforehand. The staff worked with us to make sure it was a wonderful experience.

The refrigerator was stocked upon arrival. The canopy bed was divine. The private pool was great for quiet evenings at home. John gave a really thorough orientation to Rarotonga. We received recommendations for some truly memorable restaurants. We went in April so there was a little bit of rain. The office is fully stocked with books and dvds for rainy afternoons.

Since it was our honeymoon I splurged and had a massage on the deck. It was fabulous and much, much cheaper than the area spas.

We are looking forward to a return trip to Sea Change for an anniversary celebration.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in late June 2012. We decided we'd stay here after reading several of the reviews on here. It truly lives up to its reputation.

We stayed in a beach front villa with private plunge pool. Large windows opened up to a small deck and vast beach and reef views. The four post bed was great and the villa was equipped with everything you could possibly need. The villa was very private despite the great views from inside.

All this was made much more enjoyable with Nina's friendly and courteous service, including a detailed preparation of our itinerary.

The villas are well located on the southern side of the island. The reef is much better on this side and there restaurants and cultural sites are not far away. In terms of price, it was definitely worth the little bit extra.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2, one of 3 villas with beach views. It seemed to enjoy the best and most open be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hard as we try we just can't put into words our amazing time we had in May at Seachange. We arrived late at night with not alot of moon light our trip from the airport was lovely the car filled with the smell from the leys we had draped around our necks on arrival. When we entered our beachfront villa it was heaven we sat on the deck outside drinking our cold beers from the fridge and listened to the waves in the distance, wondering what picture we would wake to in the morning. The view over the lagoon from our villa was to die for and we spent time taking photos and staring out finding it hard to believe we were actually looking at this view for real when we had spent so many hours looking at pictures prior to our holiday. Nina & John were amazing hosts and Deb gave us so much help in booking our trip, the staff we saw over our 12 nights stay were warm and welcoming.
We snorkeled every day straight from the beach in front of our villa, or at the many beautiful spots around the island,had lunch on our deck swam in our beautiful private freshwater pool and ate out every night at the many restaurants around the island, most recommended by Nina. I can go on and on about our amazing time at Seachange, but you have to experience this beautiful accomodation yourself... I can guarantee you would never regret your decision to go.

Room Tip: A little bit extra but worth every cent to stay in a Beachfront Villa. We had Villa 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbielowep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
2.3 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
2.3 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Change Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Change Villas

Property: Sea Change Villas
Address: | Turoa, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Change Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a romantic escape or a family break you’ll experience the perfect holiday in a setting that simply is breathtaking. Sea Change Villas is nestled discreetly on the southern side of Rarotonga, on its own secluded white sandy beach and turquoise clear blue lagoon which extends more than a hundred metres to the reef and then slopes steeply to deep water. The resort offers guests the choice of nine spacious one, two and three bedroom villas. The beachfront villas all enjoy stunning lagoon and outer reef views whilst the lagoon view and executive lagoon view villas are set amongst lush tropical gardens surrounded by breathtaking lagoon and reef views and majestic mountains. All villas offer a perfect blend of modern comfort and casually elegantly appointed Polynesian architectural accommodation. The villas feature a super bed with en-suited bathrooms. The bathrooms come well equipped with tiled showers large enough for two (double shower rose), Italian basin, toilet, a bidet is also included in the beachfront villas. Our two bedroom villas have en suites to both bedrooms. The lounge area has a complete home theatre system consisting of DVD, full surround sound stereo, flat screen TV and a selection of DVD movies available at no charge from reception. There is a fully self contained kitchen with all the amenities one would expect in this calibre of accommodation including dishwasher, gas hobs and convection/ microwave oven. Floors throughout are Italian porcelain, and all artwork is local and has been hand painted and commissioned exclusively for our villas. Each villa has its own completely private swimming pool. The decks on the lagoon side reach within a metre or so of the high tide mark, while the gardens and vegetation add to the wonderful tropical atmosphere of the executive lagoon view villas. Stand up paddle boards, kayaks, snorkelling gear, bicycles, private orientation for all our guests, private VIP car airport transfers, welcome flower ei’s, and a start up breakfasts are all provided on a complimentary basis. Fishing, paddling, sailing, diving, swimming, safari tours, cross island guided tours, off road quad biking and glass bottom boating are just some of the activities that abound in this tropical paradise. No matter how you choose to fill your days and nights one thing is certain, you’ll leave feeling rested and above all determined to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Change Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Change Villas Hotel Titikaveka
Sea Change Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing