We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect - in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rarotonga Beach Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect - in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

We were married in Rarotonga at the Rarotonga Beach Bungalows in April, 2010 and it was perfect - in every way. RBB is better than any 5 star hotel. We had a beach front bungalow and spent many hours sitting on our deck enjoying the water, waves and, of course, the wonderful sunsets. Tom and Lucky and their entire staff were the best. They were accomodating in every possible way. By the time we left, we really felt we were leaving family. Our bungalow was spacious, clean, comfortable and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The breakfast provided each morning was more than enough - the fruit was unlike anything we can get at home and we enjoyed visiting with Tom and Lucky and the other guests over coffee. We were married on the beach right outside the bungalow and it was storybook perfection. What a romantic memory we will always have. Tom and Lucky even provided a surprise bottle of champagne after the ceremony and Tom shared the pictures he so thoughtfully took. The lagoon was beautiful - the coral is NOT dead and we found no trash. Snorkeling was like swimming in an aquarium!! The lifestyle was very relaxed and laid back - not many other tourists. The people was sincerely friendly, helpful and very glad to see you. We would recommend the Flying Boat for the best fish and chips we have every had!!! A rental car is a "must" so you can explore the entire island. The local police need to issue you a Cook Island Driver's License. For the small fee we paid - it is one of our most treasured souvenirs. We are already planning our return trip for next year and would recommend everything about RBB and Rarotonga without reservation. We did not want to come home!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveandSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
132
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Just returned with my wife on our first exploration to the South Pacific. We researched Rarotonga and The RBB extensively prior to booking our trip. The Island and the Bungalows exceeded our expectations ! Tom, Lucky, Mary and Miriam could not have done more to help us enjoy this incredible vacation. We had multiple e-mails with Mary before our trip. She quickly answered all our inquires. Our room and breakfast was ready when we arrived at 6am. The photos on the web site accurately show the bungalows. We had a Garden Bungalow just behind the Beach Front ones. If we had arrived and had a choice of any bungalow, we would have choosen this one. We had a great view of the water with some protection from the wind (of which there was very little). We had a garden shower off the bath that was fantastic. You step out onto a tiled, very large open shower, surrounded by the private garden. Just perfect. The kitchen was well equiped to cook any type meal. Contrary to the above review, we cleaned our own dishes and wouldn't expect anyone else to do that. The bedroom featured a very comfortable king size bed with plenty of extra pillows, air conditioning, and a satelite TV (which we never turned on). For music, there was a very nice CD player that would accept your i-pod for charging (USB) but not for playback. The staff could not have been better. Mary was in the office every morning to answer any questions and make dinner reservations. There was free use of the internet and e-mail for several hours in the morning. Either Lucky, Miriam, or Tom would have fresh coffee going. The breakfast was not extravagant but included cereal, multiple toast, fresh fruit and juices. We did not eat breakfast anyplace else and did fine. Snorkeling was great right out of the front door in the lagoon. The coral was NOT dead and full of mariine life. The town and island was great to explore. We rented a small car (less than $200 for the week - Rarotonga Car Rentals) which was better especially if going out to dinner at night or dealing with rain. Many enjoyable, reasonable places to eat - The Flying Boat for fish and chips during the day - The Tamarind House could hold its own against any State Side 4 star restaurant with fresh food and beautiful setting - Paw-Paw Patch next to the Bungalows was just OK - The Flame Tree was good. Nice grocery store in town for anything you need. LOTS OF FRIENDLY PEOPLE. For Island Night go on a Wednesday to the Highland Paradise for the best cultural experience. For drinking water they say you could probably drink the tap water. To be sure, we purchased a "SteriPen" for $80 before we left. It will completely sterilize a liter of water in 90 seconds with a UV light, faster than boiling and cooling. For money - we put our vacation funds into a credit union with a VISA /debit card that be used in the ATM for the best exchange rate. This also protected all of our state side funds located in another major bank if anything should happen while abroad. We have been using this method of money for years through out the world and never have had a problem. Also look into trip health insurance. If you get hurt on Rarotonga they can stabilize you at their hospital then ship you off to Auckland which can be expensive. In summary, this was a fantastic trip. The island is like Hawaii in the early 50's. No buildings over 2 stories, no StarBucks or McDonalds, just a real throw-back in time to a beautiful, relaxed location. My wife and I would HIGHLY recommend the RBB and Rarotonga. If anyone has any specific questions please feel free to e-mail through Trip Advisor. It was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suntom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

I'll start with the positives: My husband and I stayed in one of the beach-front cabins and the view is everything we expected. The cabins are spacious and relatively clean. The kayaks and such are nice to use, and the coffee in the morning is great. If the price to stay was $400 USD per night, my review would end with a simple reminder that Rarotonga is not Hawaii, which is both good and bad.

But, because it cost a small fortune to stay here, we expected certain things, such as the oft-mentioned hospitality of this place. One of the draws of the bungalows, at least for us, is the kitchenette. I'm a big cook, and we relished the idea of bringing back fresh foods from the local market for a home-cooked meal. We did this on the second night, and managed to dirty 2 pans, 2 bowls, 4 glasses, 2 plates, a knife and a cutting board. (Our dinner was amazing-- fresh ahi, with wild rice, stir fried peppers and a green salad.) But, the next day, after room service left, we returned home to discover the dishes untouched. I figured there may have been some kind of mistake, so I inquired with the front desk. "Hello there? How are you? (Stern face on the other side of the glass -- heaven knows what I had ever done to this woman.) I'm sorry to trouble you, but do you know if the room service is supposed to include washing our dishes?" Response: (no smile; no "I'm sorry for the misunderstanding".. just:) "You do your own dishes." Not a trace of a smile from this woman, and I was dumbfounded. I returned to our bungalow where I spent 10 minutes washing the dishes. This may seem silly, but it was a 10-minute job, and for the price to stay here, it seems like a reasonable expectation that room service would do our dishes. This experience left us soured about the value we were receiving at this place, and of course, one begins to notice all kinds of other defects.

1) On the second to last day, we had almost run out of our drinking water. There wasn't going to be enough to last us through the last day. But, we figured they'd replace it in the morning. Nope! We had to leave a note at the front desk (unstaffed on Saturdays) requesting drinking water. Several hours later, two bottles were delivered to our porch.

2) Breakfast is minimalist. I know food is expensive on the island, but it wouldn't kill the owners to provide hard-boiled eggs or some other form of protein for guests. Breakfast is cereal, toast, fruit and coffee, but -- for the price -- an egg would be nice.

3) Upwind from the RBB is a property that features an ono of some kind. Cook Islanders are not ashamed to admit they will burn just about anything in the ono, and this one was lit everyday we were there on the island. The effect is a thick, black, stinky smoke covered the beach and burned our eyes between the hours of 10:00 am and noon each day. It was extremely unpleasant.

4) The marine sanctuary is not. The reef immediately adjacent to the bungalows is in poor shape. We saw a lot of fish, but the coral is largely dead. My husband found evidence of dumping here: a car stereo on the sea bottom. And, while no fishing is allowed, we witnessed a group of men casting nets one morning, collecting all kinds of baby fish in a bucket.

If you decide to come here, don't pay full price like we did. We discovered once we arrived that we were the only American couple there that was not appreciating "the Costco deal." Perhaps that's the way to go. Honestly, it feels funny to complain about the sampling of paradise this place offers. But, if you're a younger couple on a budget for whom this trip (and the expense) is a big deal, I'd consider going elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NorCalRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I returned to RBB for the second time in two years. In 2008, we split our trip between Rarotonga and Aitutaki. This year, we chose to spend all 12 nights at RBB. It is that wonderful. Both times we stayed in Ature, which is one of the three beachfront bungalows. The bungalows are huge, with fully-equipped kitchens, plenty of living space, and fantastic garden showers. Personally, I spent the majority of my time on the very large and comfortable deck, reading a book and gazing out at the perfect lagoon. The property is peaceful and quiet and the beach is never crowded. In fact, we had it to ourselves the majority of the time.

The lagoon is literally teaming with sealife. Amazingly colored lagoon fish, blue starfish, stingrays and cool coral formations were abundant. There is very little current and the water is gin clear, making for perfect snorkeling. I could easily spend 1-2 hours snorkeling in the lagoon several times each day. I brought my own snorkeling equipement. However, everything you needed was available at the office.

The staff at RBB is wonderful. Lucky, Tom, Mary and Miriam made my husband and I feel very welcome. We were greeted every morning with a thermos of coffee, fresh fruit and toast to take back to our bungalow. Lucky even made us omelettes the morning we arrived. Everybody was very helpful and friendly without being obtrusive.

I do recommend renting either a scooter or car while you are on Rarotonga. Tom has an arrangement with a rental agency (I can't remember which one) and helped us get an excellent deal. It was nice to have the freedom to run into town to do a bit of shopping or go by Ocean Fresh (the fresh fish store) to see what was just caught and brought in that morning. It is best to get there before 10am to get the best selection. A vehicle is also nice when going out to dine because there are only a couple of resteraunts within easy walking distance. Our favorite restaurant in town was Trader Jacks - nothing fancy but the fish was really fresh and the prices were reasonable. Paw Paw Patch right next door to RRB was good. The Little Polynesian was very over-priced and absolutely horrible when we were there for the Christmas Day Buffet. Everything looked and tasted as if it had been sitting on the grill or the buffet table for days. Most of the time, however, we cooked and dined in our bungalow.

RBB encapsulates all that I love abour Rarotonga. It is beautiful, relaxing, laid back and very friendly. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place and recommend it without reservation. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubsfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

This hotel consists of 5 bungalows, 3 on the beach and 2 behind them. The 2 behind have beach/lagoon views, so they are not inferior to the 3 in front. We stayed in Rori, which is the best bungalow of them all; it has a terrific view and a garden shower that is just wonderful.
Tom and Lucky run the hotel and have mastered the art of hospitality. They make the hotel an absolutely delightful place to stay. Mary works in the office and is so helpful.
Breakfast, which is included with the room, consists of fresh fruit, bread with jams/peanut butter, juices and coffee. Tom is up early every morning sweeping the sand to make it look pristine.
The hotel is situated on Muri Beach, a prime location on the island.
We could not praise or recommend this hotel enough. It is the place to stay on Rarotonga.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayareabosoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

Booked through Costco Travel for our Honeymoon. You hope that the reviews are right. And for this place they were. Loved this place. Would go back in a heartbeat. Only a couple restaurants within walking, everything else you would need to take a bus or rent a car/scooter. But that just more it feel more secluded and private. We had a tropical bungalow and were very pleased with view and all the amenities. Clean, well maintained, and perfectly relaxing. We could not have picked a better place for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle07Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

My wife, Andrea, and I treated ourselves to a long-promised holiday travelling from Vancouver, Canada to Australia, New Zealand and The Cook Islands. We took 2 weeks to drive from Sydney up the East coast to Cairns. We then flew to Auckland, New Zealand. From Auckland we drove South to Queenstown and then North up the West Coast for another 2 weeks. From the Franz Josef Glacier we took the switchback across the mountains to Christchurch. All this is to say that we had a spectacular 4 weeks we will never forget.

After all that driving our plan was to spend the last two weeks of our 6 week getaway in the Cook Islands at Rarotonga Bungalows just relaxing. What an experience! If you are looking for the ideal place to relax and do absolutely nothing this is it. That is not to say there is nothing to do - there is - from golf to deep sea fishing. Our choice however was to vegetate on the private beach close to our bungalow or on the shady verandah.

Tom, Lucky and the rest of the ladies certainly know, and practice, the last word in hospitality. Apart from the breakfasts - which were great - the bungalows were self-catered and Tom and his staff were very helpful when it came to advising us about getting in supplies. From the moment we arrived we found that nothing was too much trouble for them. The bungalow to which we were assigned was very clean and well furnished. The sand between the bungalows and the beach was pristine (the result of daily grooming by Tom) and the ocean of the sheltered bay was blue and calm. Snorkeling equipment was provided as were kayaks and great sport was to be had. We were in and out of the water all day every day except when I went deep-sea fishing!

The 2 weeks we spent with Tom Fearon and his staff at Rarotonga Bungalows in the Cook Islands was truly the highlight of a spectacular trip and we will certainly be returning at the earliest opportunity.

  • Disliked — The cleanliness of the entire resort and the frienldliness of the owner and his staff.
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BJEVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rarotonga Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rarotonga Beach Bungalows

Property: Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Address: P.O. Box 3045 | Rarotonga, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rarotonga Beach Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just five (5) deluxe beach bungalows clustered in a native village atmosphere, these units all offer the laid back and unique feeling of visiting the South Seas of the 1940's. All units front on a wide, white sand beach where the tropical lagoon in front is a national maritime protected area -- and,thus, allows endless snorkeling adventures. All bungalows are separate, free standing, Polynesian designed units. All have coconut thatch roofs, bamboo interior walls, colorful cloth on the ceiling and white sand at each bungalow entry. All are furnished with modern amenities. The property strives to offer the maximum BEACH fun with a 'spirit of the islands'. Nothing here is stuffy, snobby, stainless steel -- just a great secluded location for couples to enjoy the BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rarotonga Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows Hotel Titikaveka
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing