We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 10 Days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little Polynesian Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2007

After being in Rarotonga for over a week, we decided to change our Accommodation, as what we had booked was not up to standard. Last year we stayed in Rarotonga and stayed at Rumours and Reflections which is of the highest standard. Accommodation in the Pacific is hugely overpriced but its what you have to pay. We approached the Little Poly and got to see two rooms, there were 4 of us. They were beautiful and everything has been done really well but the price is highly inflated. Beachfront are quoted at $950.00 per night. From Pacific Island standards, they are a little on the high side, but we did get a good discount and were really happy there. We ended up staying a extra week and did get a good price. They are extreml;y helpful, especially Billie, who is without a doubt a real asset. The food is nice, but really expensive and after a while it would be nice to have a change.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 527 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2007

Same as earlier reviewers, we moved to this resort because the hotel originally booked informed us (very late) that major construction work was ongoing. As there was no information available on "Little Poly" except its own website and one (!) Tripadvisor review it took "a leap of faith". But were we pleasantly surprised!!!
The resort turned out to be rebuilt entirely new (it only reopened september 2006), with spotless villa's, equipped to the latest standard of comfort and amenities. Especially the outside lounge bed (Beach Villa's only) overlooking beach and laguna was heaven! We stayed in one of the Beach villa's, far recommendable over the Garden villa's (these are of the same comfort and size, but only have a small walled garden which doesn't give you the idea of a beach resort).
Service is exceptionally friendly and (because the resort is so small) very personal. When we were there (first week January) the restaurant had just opened: although things sometimes were still a little uncoordinated, food was excellent. We are sure coordination will have improved to the overall level of service by now.
Some pointers though: although (we guess) kids are welcome, Little Poly should in honesty be considered a "couples only" resort. There is fairly little to do for kids except play on the beach. There were no sports facilities (yet) except for 2 canoes, so bring your own snorkel gear. There is no internet facility, except when you can persuade Jeanine or Doreece to let you use their office computer. But on the other hand: isn't it great to be away from e-mail for a while?
We would certainly recommend Little Poly to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxed but very well serviced tropical holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank TravellerJanWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

We can only concur with the views of the earlier, honeymoon, couple. We had also been moved from another hotel and being in our 60's we were concerned regarding this hotel as we do like our comforts and any information we could obtain was based on out of date facts.

The hotel has been completely rebuilt to an exceptionally high standard with 12 new villas facing the sea and 4 renovated villas to the rear. A beautiful new infinity pool has been built .This is overlooked by a cafe/restaurant which serves excellent food (using mainly local ingredients) cooked by the tireless,imaginative and talented Carlos.

All rooms are now airconditioned, finished in contemporary style with clean lines. The bathrooms are a feature with two wash-basins, internal shower with two shower systems, outside shower and outside double spa bath - attractive also to us "oldies"!

The views from the room and external deck (especially from the comfortable day bed) were out of this world looking through coconut trees, across smooth white sand to a blue lagoon encircled by the reef. Swimming in the sea and pool were a delight!

For those, of any age, seeking a quiet break in luxurious comfort with excellent food and superb, friendly service in magical surroundings Little Polynesian would take a lot of beating anywhere in the world. Dorice and Janine have created excellence in Paradise.

However those who have children under 15, want musical entertainment or who do not want to be pampered - forget it!

Jan and Keith, Reigate, Surrey, UK

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UKNitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We were initially apprehensive about saying at the Little Polynesian as we had been moved at the last minute by or travel agent due to building work at our chosen resort. As soon as we arrived however we realised we had absolutely nothing to be apprehensive about.

We choose to go to the Cook Islands on part of our Honeymoon and this resort turned out to be just perfect. Having just re-opened after major rennovations everything was new, clean and luxurious.

The small resort has a few beachfront villas which all have their own decking and this also houses a fabulous day bed which was extremely comfortable. The villa itself was stunning with an enormous, comfortable bed and twin bathroom area. The shower was fab with 2 hoses, one of which was a great shower fountain. Then, in the secluded back garden was a private spa - perfect at the end of the night to watch the stars from.

The beach was right outside and, after the tropical breakfast was served in our villa, we could just stroll out for a swim, kayak or some wonderful snorkelling.

The resort is right on the bus route and next door was a great, fun, restaurant called the Paw Paw Patch - often full of locals which we took t be a good sign.

As we drove round the island we couldn't see anywhere nicer and can only say that if you too are going on honeymoon - the Little Polynesian would be hard to beat.

Carrie & Jim, Scotland, UK

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Hill06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2004

We have stayed at the Little Polynesian twice. It is not only an affordable alternative but is clean, neat and on a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling. The units have a full kitchen, a basic bathroom, king beds and a small living area. The front porch leads to the beach out front! There is no air conditioning but all rooms face the sea and there is a nice breeze that blows through. This is a quiet property, no kids! Very good for honeymooners on a budget. They seem to always be booked so early is best.

18  Thank shully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Shoko17W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mariorgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.6 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Address: Main Road, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range: $387 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspiring Romance … For those seeking privacy and luxury, look no further than our award-winning 4.5 star Little Polynesian Resort. Our leading boutique resort, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, makes an ideal location for honeymooners and couples seeking a romantic picturesque escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing