We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Polynesian Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little Polynesian Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Polynesian Escape”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a review of the Little Polynesian in Rarotonga. Excellent hotel with very helpful staff. The room was very well maintained and always very clean. Everything worked. Fantastic location. Great food. Free use of water equipment Canoes Paddle boards etc all in good order. Very quiet with no screaming kids if thats what you want.

Room Tip: We stayed in a waterfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenstownRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Kia orana

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review about our resort I will pass on your comments to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    77
    27
    12
    13
See reviews for
13
395
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I have just read some of these reviews and can't believe some of the negative ones! We had seven nights at the Little Poly for our honeymoon over Easter 2013 and were completely blown away. The room was practical and well-decorated, and the outdoor shower and bath was wonderful. We were upgraded to a beach front unit on our final two nights and this lovely gesture was much appreciated. We found all the staff incredibly welcoming and friendly, we were dropped off and picked up from dinner at another resort by the GM one night when the weather was bad! We dined at the restaurant for a few lunches and had dinner on the beach one night which was a highlight of our honeymoon. A few months after our trip to Raro, our tans have faded and we are back to business as usual - but we have many happy memories of our stay at the Little Poly. E & J Evans

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokoroa_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Kia orana, You guys were an absolute pleasure to have here at our resort. I am so glad you enjoyed it. About the negative comments, I know we can not please everyone but the staff work hard to try too. I am glad we were able to help build some fond memories. As I said to you before you departed, "You know where we are now" So if you feel the need for a tan come back to see us at the Little Poly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A wedding truly in paradise.

Our ceremony, celebratory dinner and stay at the beautiful Little Poly, with its tranquil, picturesque beachfront, with the sound of soft crashing waves from the crystal clear blue waters of the lagoon made lazing around relaxing, reading a book or snorkelling right outside our private beachfront villa just a treat.

Our beautiful wedding was held, during the mid afternoon, right on the beachfront at Little Poly. An isle of coconut tree branches greeted my wife to be, as she walked to stand with me at the perfectly created ceremonial alter. A vision of a love heart made out of coconut tree branches, positioned between torchlit poles painstakingly covered in woven palm leaves, against the beautiful backdrop of the exquisite Little Poly beachfront.

Thanks to our wedding coordinator Vicky and the fantastic team at Little Poly, our wedding day and honeymoon was exceptional!

The staff at Little Poly make everyday in paradise a treat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Kia orana, Thank you for allowing us to be a part of such an important occasion. It was lovely meeting your families. All the best for the future and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about our resort. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the welcome (complete with tropical fruit drinks) to the farewell, this is a class act. The staff are helpful (some more than others which is to be expected) and well informed. The rooms are private, clean, and beautifully designed. The outside spa bath was a highlight (we stayed in the beach are). The setting is spectacular, with excellent snorkelling outside the room door, and shells to be discovered on the beaches. The breakfasts were fresh with various tropical fruits readily available. The staff were accommodating with regard to check in and check out times within the limits of room availability.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _not_an_eskimo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Kia orana, We really appreciate that you have taken time to write a lovely review about our property.

I love your comment "this is a class act" our previous Manager (who passed away two years ago) would be extremely happy. We tell guests we have some of the best snorkeling on the island. I don't think they believe us until they go elsewhere. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be able to return some day. Ka kite ano - (see you again)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week May 27-June 1, 2013. It was a perfect place for a relaxing getaway. The lagoon is steps away from your accomodations on a pristine beach. Excellent snorkeling. The property has a couple of kayaks and a Standup paddleboard as well as snorkeling gear to use free of charge. The amenities in the rooms are plentiful complete with robes, and an outside as well as inside shower with jacuzzi tub in your own private little garden area. Vicki Wells at the front desk was a wealth of information and always available to answer questions. Marilyn greeted us with a warm smile every morning at breakfast which is also included. I highly recommend this place. We stayed in #8 right on the beach! I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in one right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pennynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hey Penny thank you so much for taking the time to write a beautiful review about our resort. It was lovely to finally get to meet both of you. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We loved having you here with us. I hope everything was fine when you got back home. All the best for the future. - Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from the Cook Islands , an exotic part of the world.
We stayed at the Little Polynesian, a beautiful small complex. The staff were exceptional, they could not have been more helpful.
Our bungalow which was right on the beach, was the most beautiful I have
ever stayed in. Very romantic. I loved the design. Each had a separate
outdoor entrance with shower and outdoor spa, which kept any sand on your feet away from the main living area. The staff kept the rooms spotless.
With the coconut trees and exotic flowers, blue sea and crashing waves breaking on the outer reef, it was something out of a post card

Room Tip: The beach bungolows are superior to the garden bungolows, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlenysDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Kia orana

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great meeting you both. I will tell the staff you found them exceptional. It is always lovely to hear compliments about the work they do.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely comment about us. All the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Little Poly (as the locals know it) is such an amazing, relaxing and friendly place to stay.
My wife and I spent 6 nights in a beachfront bungalow and the view is to die for. Lounging on your private sun lounge or taking 10 steps and being in the crystal clear water this place requires nothing from you, yet gives such in return.
The rooms are amazing, the service is friendly and attentive.
Situated on the best stretch of sand on the island in a quiet location you can walk the beach and not even see anyone. The place makes you feel as if your the only one there. The Cook Islands is such a stress free, warm and welcoming location that allows you to totally unwind and take in the absolute beauty of the place.
We could not recommend the The Little Poly and the Cook Islands high enough. The place is amazing.
You must also make the day trip to Aitutaki! This place is a whole new world again.
Thanks to Vicki and Sam at The Little Poly and also the friendly smiles of Marilyn in the mornings at breakfast, she is just lovely.

Room Tip: A beachfront Bungolow is the ultimate. Large, comfortable, private and just metres to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KURTandLISA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Kia orana

Wow what beautiful comments and so eloquently phrased. I hope you don't mind but I would love to put some of these comments on our website and possibly brochures as well as we are reprinting these shortly. It was lovely having you both here and as I said upon your departure you know where we are now. So if you are in need of a break away from it all and feel like our tropical paradise again just let us know. Thank you so much for taking some of your valuable time to write such lovely comments about us. - Ka Kite ano (see you again) Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.1 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Property: Little Polynesian Resort
Address: PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Little Polynesian we take great pride in our name, to us it signifies everything we have aimed to share... a humble, intimate, luxurious and yet remarkably friendly environment to warm your heart and recharge your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing