We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This hotel looks nothing like the website shows. The rooms are grey and not particularly clean, there were ants on the bedside table when we arrived, and the "double" bed was actually 2 single beds pushed together. The breakfast was not very good either- choice of cereal, toast or fruit and thats all! The beach is tiny. However the most disappointing thing about this place was the manager of the place. We found her to be rude, disorgnised and quite patronising. She sent us to a restaurant and failed to mention that we would need to make a reservation and she booked us an airport transfer that never turned up! There is no staff on site in the evening / night and at the weekends there is noone there at all, except for a few hours in the morning. Rarotonga is okay but if you can, visit Aitutaki instead- more peaceful, beautiful and just a lovely place to stay. I could not use any of these adjectives to describe the Moana Sands. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Greenie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2008

When looking to book accomodation I was immediately blown away by the photographs on trip advisor. The view from the room was fantastic. To be able to walk along the beach was wonderful. We often walked to Muri in the early evening to have a meal and then caught the night bus back. Or we ate at the Paw Patch next door which was super and very good value for money. It was good to have fridge in the room and there was a little store 10 minutes down the road. We did quite a few tours booked though the hotel.
Just a word of warning- be aware of island time- watches do not exisit on that island!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claraclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We first visited the Moana Sands in March 2007 and immediately upon getting home, booked for our most recent visit in April 2008. We're now planning our third stay for April 2009. What makes us come back? Great people, friendly service an AWESOME snorkelling. Who can resist a nearly deserted 10 km white sand beach?

We stayed in a beach front top floor suite. The room is good value and includes a kitchenette and tv/dvd (not that we used it). The PawPaw Patch restaurant was open for breakfast and supper. The included breakfast was fantastic; fresh fruit, range of cereal and toast. There was also menu choices. Meagan always made sure there was a paper to relax over as you finished your breakfast. Evening meals were well presented and there was a variety of choices - just make sure to wear bug spray on the ankles. Tooks(sp) hosted a fantastic Sunday bar-b-q with live entertainment. We booked activities, from dinner reservations to the cross island trek, through Tuanga at the front desk. Tuanga's friendliness is one of the things that keeps us coming back. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel for each direction. Just tell the driver where you want to end up and he'll stop for you.

The Moana Sands has everything we're looking for when we go on holidays at a price we can afford.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 2shaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

2x2 nights in their top floor suites on way to/way back from Aitutaki.
Large rooms, comfortable bed, modern bathroom and adequate kitchenette. TV, radio, cd and dvd player.
View over the lagoon from the balcony was stunning.
Plenty of sun lounges and kayaks.
Good snorkelling out front.
Easy 20 min ride to Avarua on circle island bus.
Little store with limited supplies 10 min walk away.
Pawpaw Patch great for breakfast (worth the extra to get a cooked breakfast) and dinner. The Sunday night BBQ is also excellent.
Staff very helpful and friendly and go out of their way to make sure things are right. They were especially helpful when we had a delayed flight to contend with.
Only a very small gripe....pay as you go internet EXTREMELY slow and subject to multiple disconnections....but this was the case with every public internet service we used on the island.
Can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Well, you have all said it before, this hotel is magical. The setting, the people, the restaurant and the accommodation is such value for money....

Let's start at the beginning: The sun shone as we got off the plane and we were greeted with flowers and music at the airport. A slick transfer to the Moana Sands were a refreshing glass of chilled juice awaited us with a smiling receptionist. In reception there is a board which is updated daily with what is going on on the islands and how to get about. The Internet is also available here for a small charge. Our room was very clean and had the most stunning views from the second floor (see pictures). The bed was large and comfortable. The kitchen area had new equipment and was well stocked with cutlery etc. The shower room was adequate and there was plenty of hot water and towels. The only down side if you can find one was that the noise level from the room above was a little loud, but who cares when you are in the room so little. The view of the sea a glorious blue and the palm trees wafting in the breeze was awesome.
.
The Paw Paw restaurant offered an excellent breakfast and we were welcomed with open arms. The evening meal here was one of the best we had all week, consequently we booked for the beach bar b que as well. This was great even though the music didn't show up due to an island power cut! Didn't matter the food and wine flowed well and the company was amazing.

We only had sun bed rage once and that was on the Sunday when most of the island is closed. (They deserve one day off). Even that hardly seems worth mentioning. Beach towels provided and they were replaced daily, we ended up having 2 towels each.

The snorkeling is amazing and just , and I mean just off the beach. I spent many hours still in my depth snorkeling around the different corals. I have sooooooo many pictures to prove it!

We were lucky with the weather as it had rained for 3 weeks continuously before we arrived and didn't rain at all until the day we departed and then it tipped down.

This hotel is paradise and the location is fantastic...we will return.

Thank you to all who looked after us on our stay

Swallow

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Swallow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

I had seen good reviews of Moana Sands Beach Hotel on the Internet and heartily agree after coming back to N.Z. from 9 days there. It is located on the south western end of the island with definitely the best beach potion of that better part of Rarotonga.
We had an apartment on the third floor which had a TV and an electric frypan. This kitchen item is great for cooking yourselves as an occasional break from the many restaurants. The other attraction about Moana Sands is the attached restaraunt (Paw paw Patch)which is great if you haven't hired local transport on arrival. Do buy a concession card for the bus at 10 clips for $22 works out at $2 a ride as compared to $4 a ride. If not using the bus so much request a return ticket for $6 and save $2. The bus go clockwise and counterclockwise around the island and stop right outside Moana Sands.
Lyndon & Rosaline Weggery, Dunedin N.Z.

12  Thank LyndonDunedinN_Z_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

My husband and I spent 12 nights at this wonderful beachfront hotel, and are so glad we did. It is located on a spectacular beach that has great snorkeling right infront of the hotel at most times (visibility can be reduced when tide coming in). The area was nice and quiet for those of you wanting to relax, but you can always go into town or to an island night for a bit of party atmosphere.
The staff at the hotel and the connected Paw Paw Patch are wonderful, always smiling and willing to chat for a bit, never made you feel like you were interupting them.
The hotel rooms are well appointed and kept nice and clean, we did move up to a suit part way through our stay and would recommend spending the extra for these rooms. Though all the rooms are nice, the suites have a lovely open feeling due to the high ceilings and lighter colour scheme.
We enjoyed eating out the first week, then happily used the provided amenities to cook the last week, having the BBQ available for guests to use was great.
All in all I would recommend this property with no hesitation.

Stayed: April 2007
20  Thank dbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel

Address: Ara Tapu, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range: $113 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel, directly overlooking the idyllic Titikaveka Beach, features a variety of studios with stunning beachfront views. Evenings can be spent at Sands Restaurant & Bar and our popular Sunday night beach BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel And Villas
Moana Sands Beachfront Titikaveka
Hotel Moana Sands Beachfront
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing