We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Second holiday at Moana Sands and will not be the last. With the sandy beach just a short stroll from the unit what could be better. Pleasant staff and a good restaurant makes for an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Stairs to top floor can become tiresome but these rooms are very spacious. Lower fllor has better be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis_De_Camp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    87
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
41
144
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in a 2 bedroom beachfront villa with my mom and friend and we all had an awesome time. Early check in and late check out, was no problem. The staff were inviting and welcoming. The unit was clean and looked after, the kitchenette was well stocked for cooking and cleaning up after yourself.
The beach in front of the villas is clean and the water is AMAZING. You can swim, lounge on the beach, feed the fish, snorkel etc.
I would recommend the day trip to Autitaki, the lagoon left me speechless. I didn't know there was so many shades of blue. I would also recommend a trip to the beach up the road across from the Fruits of Rarotonga, it is a protected area and seems like there were a few more variety of fish to look at.
Came home to rain, rain and more rain, Rarotonga will be in my heart and soul for the rest of my life. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: This room is great for a family and the units on the ground level are better as you have direct acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 5 idyllic days in Rarotanga staying at Moana Sands in Titikaveka. The staff were warm and welcoming especially at the front desk and couldnt do enough for us. The hotel was clean and tidy with total beach frontage. Walk out the door and into warm tropical water and hand feed the fish. Stunning snorkeling, kayaks, all there. Check out Captain Tama's glass bottom boat lagoon tour and have the best day ever! The hilarious crew make it a day to remember. The Cook Islands are a tropical paradise in every sense of the word. The most welcoming, inviting place I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. We will definately be going back. 10/10!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just came from our week's stay at Moana Sands. Located on the south eastern side of Rarotonga, the hotel had good access to the beach and allowed for fish feeding, snorkelling, swimming, and kayaking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, the sort of place you can just relax and not worry about travelling too much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImranNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I have just returned for our fourth time to the Moana Sands Hotel. All I can say, is that it gets better with each visit. The staff are amazing and make you feel like you are part of the family. As for the loaction, it would have to be the best on Raro. Perfect white sand beach, with amazing snorkling at your doorstep. It is a smaller hotel, so best suited for those that wish to relax and not be in a huge resort with lots of guests and noise. The hotel also has The Sands Restaurant located at the property. Some of the best dinning on the island, with dinner on the beach watching the sunset and a drink in hand, what more could you ask for. To all the staff at the hotel and restaurant - we promise we will be back next year. Why change when you are on a good thing.

Room Tip: Standard room located on the ground and first floor, if your lucky enough the ground floor rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nici3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just back home one week and looking at our photos and wishing we were still there. This would rate one of our best holidays ever. We stayed in the Villas and had a fab time, everything was perfect from the welcome we got at 1am to all the staff who were so friendly and helpful. The villa was a spacious 2 bedroom 2 big bathrooms very modern with all mod cons ( gorgeous cocktails glasses) and cleaned every day with fresh towels and super big beach towels. We basically had our own private beach, loungers, snorkeling gear, kayak and the colours and types of tropical fish were just a few steps into the water. We had an upstairs villa and sitting out on the balcony gave us a great view of the lagoon and was so peaceful and relaxing. Will try to get back again sometime.

Room Tip: Upstairs villas have a bit more view and possibly more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shapeup24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a week stay in October. What a wonderful place with a great beach on your doorstep. The rooms were clean and the cleaning ladies were bright and friendly every day. The views are fabulous. We were on the 2nd floor with a great view over the beach. The snorkeling is amazing and is great for beginners. James the night porter is great. He is a wealth of information and so friendly and helpful. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas

Property: Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Address: Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel is located at Titikaveka on the southern coast of the island. There are six ground floor beachfront studios, six first floor beachfront studios & five top floor deluxe beachfront studios. We have four sets of interconnecting rooms (two on ground floor & two on first floor). All rooms are ABSULOTE beachfront, each with its own private balcony. Snorkelling equipment, Kayaks & beach towels are complimentary to guests. All rooms have a small kitchenette, LCD TV’s with SKY, air-conditioning & are all non-smoking. We have a hotel BBQ on the beach that is available for guests to use otherwise The Pawpaw Patch Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast & Dinner, seven days a week.Moana Sands Beachfront Villas are located at Vaimaanga, a five mins drive away from Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel. There are six villas; three on the ground floor & three upstairs. Each villa has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. All villas are ABSOLUTE beachfront, each with its own patio or balcony, Modern kitchen, Spacious open-plan lounge/dining, TV/DVD/Music System/ipod dock/Sky TV/Wifi internet. Guests have access to complimentary snorkelling gear, kayaks & beach towels. Units are fully serviced six days per week & guests are provided with a Complimentary breakfast starter pack on arrival. A BBQ on the beach is available for guests to use. All villas are air-conditioned and non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel And Villas
Moana Sands Beachfront Titikaveka
Hotel Moana Sands Beachfront
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing