We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I have just returned for our fourth time to the Moana Sands Hotel. All I can say, is that it gets better with each visit. The staff are amazing and make you feel like you are part of the family. As for the loaction, it would have to be the best on Raro. Perfect white sand beach, with amazing snorkling at your doorstep. It is a smaller hotel, so best suited for those that wish to relax and not be in a huge resort with lots of guests and noise. The hotel also has The Sands Restaurant located at the property. Some of the best dinning on the island, with dinner on the beach watching the sunset and a drink in hand, what more could you ask for. To all the staff at the hotel and restaurant - we promise we will be back next year. Why change when you are on a good thing.

Room Tip: Standard room located on the ground and first floor, if your lucky enough the ground floor rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nici3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    82
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
137
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just back home one week and looking at our photos and wishing we were still there. This would rate one of our best holidays ever. We stayed in the Villas and had a fab time, everything was perfect from the welcome we got at 1am to all the staff who were so friendly and helpful. The villa was a spacious 2 bedroom 2 big bathrooms very modern with all mod cons ( gorgeous cocktails glasses) and cleaned every day with fresh towels and super big beach towels. We basically had our own private beach, loungers, snorkeling gear, kayak and the colours and types of tropical fish were just a few steps into the water. We had an upstairs villa and sitting out on the balcony gave us a great view of the lagoon and was so peaceful and relaxing. Will try to get back again sometime.

Room Tip: Upstairs villas have a bit more view and possibly more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shapeup24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a week stay in October. What a wonderful place with a great beach on your doorstep. The rooms were clean and the cleaning ladies were bright and friendly every day. The views are fabulous. We were on the 2nd floor with a great view over the beach. The snorkeling is amazing and is great for beginners. James the night porter is great. He is a wealth of information and so friendly and helpful. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auck NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked the Moana Sands Hotel for our wedding and we had the most incredible time with our friends and family, we had the place to ourselves which was awesome. The view is amazing, and the weather was perfect for the 9 nights we stayed. We stayed in the deluxe beachfront rooms which are on the top floor, very spacious and clean. Wi-fi is available for around $15, and we were lucky enough to connect to it in our room, some of our other guests had to go into the reception to use it.

The restaurant (The Sands) was fantastic (had breakfast there every morning, and only opens again for dinner), and they like to have dinner on the beach most nights, its a good idea to book as well. Ngawai (Hotel Manager) and Jason (guy on the front desk) were very welcoming, and made everyone's stay very enjoyable.

We had our wedding right out the front of the hotel and a marquee set up for the reception, it was the ideal place!

We will definately be back

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on the top floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked to stay at the Moana Sands hotel and when we turned up we were upgraded to the villas (two couples) it was a great surprise and made the trip all the more awesome. Nga was really really nice and accommodating. The housekeeper was also extremely nice as well as the people at the cafe downstairs. The villas were huge and very private, we would come in from going snorkeling every morning and the villa would be spotless and new breakfasts would be in the fridge. The shop was only just across the road and very handy. We also tried the Moana Sands restaurant one night and it was delicious with great entertainment. All in all it was the best holiday we've had and we'd all go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a room on the bottom floor of the villas and our friends were above us and they were both jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from over a week at the only place we want to stay in Rarotonga - Moana Sands Hotel. The staff there are incredibly warm, friendly and helpful - Ngawai, James, Tuanga, Parcon, Nanette, Gina, Mama Neke - thank you. The setting is amazing - paradise. We couldn't ask for anything more. We had some unscheduled additional days in Rarotonga due to problems Virgin Australia were experiencing and the staff were so accomodating. Making sure we had somewhere to stay and were well looked after. Ngawai and James thank you for calmly taking our panicked late night phone calls and relieving our stress. James you went above and beyond to help sort out the situation we found ourselves in and we are very grateful. A special thank you to Tony and Kelly at the Sands Restaurant on site. We are vegan and that can be tricky at restaurants. Tony cooked us some amazing meals that were one of the highlights of our trip. We have stayed at Moana Sands three times now and are already looking forward to our next stay. Thank you all for making our time there so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a 6 day stay at the Moana Sands Villas. With just 6 villas the accommodation is very private. The villas are huge and have absolutely everything you could want - right down to the tea light candles. The snorkelling is just a few steps outside your villa and was the best on the island - water crystal clear and lots of fish and coral. The staff that service the apartments are so friendly and nothing is a bother. We would highly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
4.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas

Property: Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Address: Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel is located at Titikaveka on the southern coast of the island. There are six ground floor beachfront studios, six first floor beachfront studios & five top floor deluxe beachfront studios. We have four sets of interconnecting rooms (two on ground floor & two on first floor). All rooms are ABSULOTE beachfront, each with its own private balcony. Snorkelling equipment, Kayaks & beach towels are complimentary to guests. All rooms have a small kitchenette, LCD TV’s with SKY, air-conditioning & are all non-smoking. We have a hotel BBQ on the beach that is available for guests to use otherwise The Pawpaw Patch Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast & Dinner, seven days a week.Moana Sands Beachfront Villas are located at Vaimaanga, a five mins drive away from Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel. There are six villas; three on the ground floor & three upstairs. Each villa has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. All villas are ABSOLUTE beachfront, each with its own patio or balcony, Modern kitchen, Spacious open-plan lounge/dining, TV/DVD/Music System/ipod dock/Sky TV/Wifi internet. Guests have access to complimentary snorkelling gear, kayaks & beach towels. Units are fully serviced six days per week & guests are provided with a Complimentary breakfast starter pack on arrival. A BBQ on the beach is available for guests to use. All villas are air-conditioned and non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel And Villas
Moana Sands Beachfront Titikaveka
Hotel Moana Sands Beachfront
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing