We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT”
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Staff are brilliant, position is great. We at most, saw 4 people on the beach. You can see sunsets from the beach. This was our 2nd trip to Raro, and it was Kim Mildon's (Travel Broker at Travel Managers) suggestion that we stay at RT. Absolutely brilliant time, hospitality, etc. 11/10.
Keep up the good work. Dave and Esme'

Room Tip: Front rooms are dearer, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfarlanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Kia Orana Dave & Esme and thanks so much for your absolutely Brilliant review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice to meet you, and we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for sharing your great photos! Also, a great big thank you goes out to Kim at Travel Managers for recommending Royale Takitumu. We do hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga and Royale Takitumu again very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
289
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We keep coming back, not for one reason but many. Super quiet, absolute beachfront, best beach on Rarotonga, comfortable individual villas, great pool, super BBQ to do a grill supper, Salvador the cat, Mi'i the manager, not forgetting the weekly world pétanque championship playoffs.

Love this place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank exile66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your great review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice to see you again - for your third visit to Royale Takitumu. For us, there is no greater compliment we can receive than to have our wonderful guests return to visit us, year after year, and continue to share their extremely valuable holiday time with us at Royale Takitumu. It brings us great joy when fantastic guests like you consider Royale Takitumu their 'home' in Rarotonga. Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you very soon on your 4th visit to Royale Takitumu. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was with much pleasure we checked in to our buri. Ocean facing, sand at our feet, yes, Cook Islands. I can't say enough about Mii, she was friendly, funny, honest, interesting and always had a funny story to share. The weather kicked up on our last few days so an afternoon tea was ofganised for the guests. A great chance to chat with other holiday makers. Book this place, you will never regret it. Snorkelling, hammocks, loungers, pool, relax. It doesn't have a restaurant or bar but their are plenty of other options around you.
Hi to Salvador!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite right in front of the lagoon. Beautiful views and worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleBell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Kia Orana Nicole and thanks so much for your amazing review of Royale Takitumu. So glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for your very kind words about Mii - she is a gem! Salvador sends his best regards! Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We opted to stay here for the first part of our honeymoon. Upon arrival, Mi'i welcomed us with fresh juice and a brief orientation and tour of the property. Beautifully landscaped, we felt like we'd entered the garden of Eden. Our bungalow was immaculately clean and situated on the edge of the property, right by the beach. The view was simply breathtaking, but we had no idea just how breathtaking until we donned our snorkel gear and looked down. WOW! This is by far some of the best snorkeling on the island. Giant blue starfish blanketed healthy coral heads, teeming with schools of bright fish. My husband saw both a turtle and a nice spotted eel, and we were both in awe of how clear the water was and how untouched the coral was. We had planned to do some diving while we were there, but the snorkeling was so good, we really didn't feel we needed to. Our second morning, Mi'i invited the guests to attend a complimentary tea to meet the other guests and the owner, Bill, who was just lovely. The muffins Mi'i served are much talked about in other reviews and for a reason. I'd do the hokey-pokey for her hokey-pokey muffins! We enjoyed how peaceful the property was, without children running about as there are at so many other properties, and liked that we could sleep in as late as we liked without maintenance firing up a leaf blower or lawnmower, as we've experienced elsewhere. On the afternoon of our third day, Jimmy, the groundskeeper, came by with a few fresh coconuts and taught us how to open them, serving us beautiful coconut water and from the sprouted coconut, the meat that's gone lofty - almost like a coconut meringue, which we had never experienced before. It was mouth-watering! We greatly enjoyed our stay and would certainly revisit this property for a romantic weekend. Do note (and we thought this was a good thing) that you're pretty much opposite the main "downtown", so if you're looking for numerous restaurants and activities within easy walking distance, this isn't ideal. That said, the buses run twice an hour and are easy and inexpensive to catch, so you can definitely get where you want to go pretty easily that way, or with a scooter or rental car. Just bear in mind you'll require some transportation unless you enjoy a decent stroll or bike ride. Overall, just a stunning place to stay with wonderful people and a prime location, especially if the beach, kayaking, snorkeling, and sunning are how you plan to spend the majority of your time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow #4, which is on the edge of the property and is quite private. Very nice, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraSaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Kia Orana Sara and thank you so much for your beautiful review of Royale Takitumu! We are thrilled to read your review, hearing how happy you were with your stay. Thanks for your very kind words about our property, our location, the private thatched-roof villas, and our amazing staff. We do think we have the premier location of any resort in Rarotonga. As a future note, some of our nearby restaurants do offer free car transfers if you want to dine with them - something to remember for your next visit! We do hope to see you again, very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

30th wedding anniversary and this place was really special. We chose a VIP villa (villa 4) and were delighted with the room, the service and the associated support equipment (snorkels, kayaks etc). Rooms and furniture were very comfortable and the self catering was beneficial for the 1 meal we had in the villa.
Other meals were an easy walk to the tropical gardens (dinner and lunch) and the Little Polynesian.
Royal Takitumu also had a bit of a "meet and greet" for guests on a Friday night and this was really helpful and friendly.
We dropped off our bags early and the staff were most accommodating.
Snorkelling is excellent straight off the beach.
We rated this venue and its service commitment very highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Kia Orana Richard and thanks so much for your absolutely wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice meeting you both, and we were honored that you chose Royale Takitumu as the destination to celebrate your momentous 30th Wedding Anniversary. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we do hope to see you again very soon on our friendly shores. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Takitumu 12 months ago and it was fantastic. The villas are well designed, comfortable and blend in perfectly with the surrounding grounds. The quality of the beach and snorkelling are unsurpassable where very few places could match, and the lagoon would even change to different shades of blue and green depending on the time of day. Above all it was the hospitality of Mii and crew which made it such a memorable experience. The amount of thought they made into making our stay so personal and welcome will remain etched in our memories for a long time.even now we wish return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim_Lewis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Kia Orana Kim and thanks for your Exquisite review of Royale Takitumu. It is hard to believe that it has been one year since your visit - its time for another visit! Thanks for your very kind words about our location, the grounds, the Villa, and the overall experience. It was so nice having met you during your stay, and we do hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga and to Royale Takitumu again very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is the place to go so relaxing the villa's are very comfortable and so near to the beach,my friend and I were travelling the world and this was the best place we stayed.
You wake up and breakfast is waiting for you,sit outside in your and enjoy the view of the lagoon it's so peaceful with a nice size swimming pool which is nice and cool with beds and wicker chairs,they should take a photo of you when you arrive then take one when leaving as I swear we looked ten years younger at the end of our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 464Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your 'Heavenly' review of Royale Takitumu. You know, we sometimes think that Royale Takitumu really is the Fountain of Youth - and you seem to have proved it for us! Guests really do come, relax, and feel recharged and re-energized. It was so nice meeting you both, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you get to return to your new home in Rarotonga - Royale Takitumu. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Property: Royale Takitumu
Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing