We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, romantic, quiet property with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, romantic, quiet property with wonderful staff”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We opted to stay here for the first part of our honeymoon. Upon arrival, Mi'i welcomed us with fresh juice and a brief orientation and tour of the property. Beautifully landscaped, we felt like we'd entered the garden of Eden. Our bungalow was immaculately clean and situated on the edge of the property, right by the beach. The view was simply breathtaking, but we had no idea just how breathtaking until we donned our snorkel gear and looked down. WOW! This is by far some of the best snorkeling on the island. Giant blue starfish blanketed healthy coral heads, teeming with schools of bright fish. My husband saw both a turtle and a nice spotted eel, and we were both in awe of how clear the water was and how untouched the coral was. We had planned to do some diving while we were there, but the snorkeling was so good, we really didn't feel we needed to. Our second morning, Mi'i invited the guests to attend a complimentary tea to meet the other guests and the owner, Bill, who was just lovely. The muffins Mi'i served are much talked about in other reviews and for a reason. I'd do the hokey-pokey for her hokey-pokey muffins! We enjoyed how peaceful the property was, without children running about as there are at so many other properties, and liked that we could sleep in as late as we liked without maintenance firing up a leaf blower or lawnmower, as we've experienced elsewhere. On the afternoon of our third day, Jimmy, the groundskeeper, came by with a few fresh coconuts and taught us how to open them, serving us beautiful coconut water and from the sprouted coconut, the meat that's gone lofty - almost like a coconut meringue, which we had never experienced before. It was mouth-watering! We greatly enjoyed our stay and would certainly revisit this property for a romantic weekend. Do note (and we thought this was a good thing) that you're pretty much opposite the main "downtown", so if you're looking for numerous restaurants and activities within easy walking distance, this isn't ideal. That said, the buses run twice an hour and are easy and inexpensive to catch, so you can definitely get where you want to go pretty easily that way, or with a scooter or rental car. Just bear in mind you'll require some transportation unless you enjoy a decent stroll or bike ride. Overall, just a stunning place to stay with wonderful people and a prime location, especially if the beach, kayaking, snorkeling, and sunning are how you plan to spend the majority of your time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow #4, which is on the edge of the property and is quite private. Very nice, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraSaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Kia Orana Sara and thank you so much for your beautiful review of Royale Takitumu! We are thrilled to read your review, hearing how happy you were with your stay. Thanks for your very kind words about our property, our location, the private thatched-roof villas, and our amazing staff. We do think we have the premier location of any resort in Rarotonga. As a future note, some of our nearby restaurants do offer free car transfers if you want to dine with them - something to remember for your next visit! We do hope to see you again, very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
286
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

30th wedding anniversary and this place was really special. We chose a VIP villa (villa 4) and were delighted with the room, the service and the associated support equipment (snorkels, kayaks etc). Rooms and furniture were very comfortable and the self catering was beneficial for the 1 meal we had in the villa.
Other meals were an easy walk to the tropical gardens (dinner and lunch) and the Little Polynesian.
Royal Takitumu also had a bit of a "meet and greet" for guests on a Friday night and this was really helpful and friendly.
We dropped off our bags early and the staff were most accommodating.
Snorkelling is excellent straight off the beach.
We rated this venue and its service commitment very highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Kia Orana Richard and thanks so much for your absolutely wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice meeting you both, and we were honored that you chose Royale Takitumu as the destination to celebrate your momentous 30th Wedding Anniversary. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we do hope to see you again very soon on our friendly shores. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Takitumu 12 months ago and it was fantastic. The villas are well designed, comfortable and blend in perfectly with the surrounding grounds. The quality of the beach and snorkelling are unsurpassable where very few places could match, and the lagoon would even change to different shades of blue and green depending on the time of day. Above all it was the hospitality of Mii and crew which made it such a memorable experience. The amount of thought they made into making our stay so personal and welcome will remain etched in our memories for a long time.even now we wish return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim_Lewis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Kia Orana Kim and thanks for your Exquisite review of Royale Takitumu. It is hard to believe that it has been one year since your visit - its time for another visit! Thanks for your very kind words about our location, the grounds, the Villa, and the overall experience. It was so nice having met you during your stay, and we do hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga and to Royale Takitumu again very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is the place to go so relaxing the villa's are very comfortable and so near to the beach,my friend and I were travelling the world and this was the best place we stayed.
You wake up and breakfast is waiting for you,sit outside in your and enjoy the view of the lagoon it's so peaceful with a nice size swimming pool which is nice and cool with beds and wicker chairs,they should take a photo of you when you arrive then take one when leaving as I swear we looked ten years younger at the end of our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 464Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your 'Heavenly' review of Royale Takitumu. You know, we sometimes think that Royale Takitumu really is the Fountain of Youth - and you seem to have proved it for us! Guests really do come, relax, and feel recharged and re-energized. It was so nice meeting you both, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you get to return to your new home in Rarotonga - Royale Takitumu. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I spend a week here in April. The bungalows was comfortable like sweet home,the service was good and staff very friendly.The beach super nice we could see the beach from our bungalow ahhh wonderful, it was a paradise.My husband enjoyed each morning the kayak.
The breakfast was fresh, different every day, very sad when you have to say good bye.The trasportation to and for the airport on time very well organized.I would high recomenmend The Royal Takitumu.
I hope, we make it back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecider D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice meeting you, and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your very kind words. We do hope that you get to return to Royale Takitumu very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have recently stayed at the Royal Takitumu villas in Rarotonga. The position on the southern side of the island overlooking the logon is beautiful. White sands, coral reef teaming with tropical fish.
The villas are nicely appointed with all you need for a peaceful break away.
The staff and owner of the villas go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one.
Highly recommend if you are heading to the Cook Islands, that you make this resort your destination.
We will most definitely be back in the furture.

Room Tip: All of the villas in this resort are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62PsB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Kia Orana and a great big thank you for your wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. We are thrilled to read how happy you were with your stay. Thanks for your very kind words about our private, thatched-roof Villas, our amazing location, and our great staff. We can't wait for your next visit. Meitaki!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,249 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,550 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased. The grounds and Villas are beautiful and the owners and manager are outstanding hosts, attending to any need and helping make any arrangements for restaurants, transportation and tours. We stayed in Villa #9 which is secluded, peaceful and right on the Raro’s best beach and lagoon, Titikaveka. The beach consists of soft coral sand and is long, wide and nearly deserted while the lagoon formed by the barrier reef remains deep enough for snorkeling even at low tide unlike others on Raro. The lagoon is full of fish, blue starfish and other invertebrates and snorkel gear is provided if you do not have your own. Kayaks are also provided and paddling around the lagoon, one can look down into the crystal clear water and see almost as much as if one were snorkeling. While there is no restaurant or bar on site, the Sands and Little Polynesian are within walking distance and the Vaima and Kikau Hut provide transportation. In addition, the Villa, besides a bedroom, large bathroom, large main room and a veranda; has kitchen facilities. While there is a small convenient store across the road, the real grocery store, Wigmores is beyond walking distance but serviced by the bus route that circles the island. Also, there is no problem bringing food into Raro so things like bacon, oatmeal and other dry goods can be brought from home and upon arrival the airport duty free shop opens and one can purchase any alcoholic beverages one may want for their stay at a reasonable price. We would typically wake-up, take a walk on the beach and a quick swim in the lagoon followed by a relaxing, self-catered breakfast on the veranda and go to one of the island’s many fine restaurants for lunch and dinner. While it is possible to get by without a vehicle, we would still recommend renting one if one has any plans of exploring the island or visiting any of the more distant restaurants or beaches as the bus only runs once an hour in each direction. While one has the sense of seclusions and privacy, a number of activities that we really enjoyed are organized throughout the week permitting an opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of the other guests, the wonderful hosts and Salvador, the resident cat. Internet access is available for a reasonable extra charge and although we had some difficulty with it one day, it was generally reliable allowing us to Skype our kids halfway around the world back in the USA. In summary, the Royal Takitumu is a wonderful place with exceptional hosts in one of the nicest places I have been to in the world. We both highly recommend the Royal Takitumu to anyone looking for an exceptional, peaceful and relaxing place to stay. If we are lucky enough to return to Raro someday, without a doubt, we will be staying at the Royal Takitumu.

Room Tip: While all villas are great, stay in a beachfront one if possible. Villa 9 is probably the most secl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaleTakitumu, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Kia Orana Steve and thanks so much for your simply amazing review of Royale Takitumu. We really appreciate the very kind words about our property, and our staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and thanks for sharing your wonderful photos. A great big congratulations again on your 25th Wedding Anniversary, and thanks again for spending it with us at Royale Takitumu. We hope to see you again very soon on our friendly shores. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Property: Royale Takitumu
Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing