We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unwind in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Unwind in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have recently stayed at the Royal Takitumu villas in Rarotonga. The position on the southern side of the island overlooking the logon is beautiful. White sands, coral reef teaming with tropical fish.
The villas are nicely appointed with all you need for a peaceful break away.
The staff and owner of the villas go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one.
Highly recommend if you are heading to the Cook Islands, that you make this resort your destination.
We will most definitely be back in the furture.

Room Tip: All of the villas in this resort are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 62PsB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Kia Orana and a great big thank you for your wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. We are thrilled to read how happy you were with your stay. Thanks for your very kind words about our private, thatched-roof Villas, our amazing location, and our great staff. We can't wait for your next visit. Meitaki!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
285
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,249 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,503 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased. The grounds and Villas are beautiful and the owners and manager are outstanding hosts, attending to any need and helping make any arrangements for restaurants, transportation and tours. We stayed in Villa #9 which is secluded, peaceful and right on the Raro’s best beach and lagoon, Titikaveka. The beach consists of soft coral sand and is long, wide and nearly deserted while the lagoon formed by the barrier reef remains deep enough for snorkeling even at low tide unlike others on Raro. The lagoon is full of fish, blue starfish and other invertebrates and snorkel gear is provided if you do not have your own. Kayaks are also provided and paddling around the lagoon, one can look down into the crystal clear water and see almost as much as if one were snorkeling. While there is no restaurant or bar on site, the Sands and Little Polynesian are within walking distance and the Vaima and Kikau Hut provide transportation. In addition, the Villa, besides a bedroom, large bathroom, large main room and a veranda; has kitchen facilities. While there is a small convenient store across the road, the real grocery store, Wigmores is beyond walking distance but serviced by the bus route that circles the island. Also, there is no problem bringing food into Raro so things like bacon, oatmeal and other dry goods can be brought from home and upon arrival the airport duty free shop opens and one can purchase any alcoholic beverages one may want for their stay at a reasonable price. We would typically wake-up, take a walk on the beach and a quick swim in the lagoon followed by a relaxing, self-catered breakfast on the veranda and go to one of the island’s many fine restaurants for lunch and dinner. While it is possible to get by without a vehicle, we would still recommend renting one if one has any plans of exploring the island or visiting any of the more distant restaurants or beaches as the bus only runs once an hour in each direction. While one has the sense of seclusions and privacy, a number of activities that we really enjoyed are organized throughout the week permitting an opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of the other guests, the wonderful hosts and Salvador, the resident cat. Internet access is available for a reasonable extra charge and although we had some difficulty with it one day, it was generally reliable allowing us to Skype our kids halfway around the world back in the USA. In summary, the Royal Takitumu is a wonderful place with exceptional hosts in one of the nicest places I have been to in the world. We both highly recommend the Royal Takitumu to anyone looking for an exceptional, peaceful and relaxing place to stay. If we are lucky enough to return to Raro someday, without a doubt, we will be staying at the Royal Takitumu.

Room Tip: While all villas are great, stay in a beachfront one if possible. Villa 9 is probably the most secl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaleTakitumu, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Kia Orana Steve and thanks so much for your simply amazing review of Royale Takitumu. We really appreciate the very kind words about our property, and our staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and thanks for sharing your wonderful photos. A great big congratulations again on your 25th Wedding Anniversary, and thanks again for spending it with us at Royale Takitumu. We hope to see you again very soon on our friendly shores. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

From the moment we got to this resort we were looked after and made to feel at home. After being offered an ice cold paw paw and mango drink, we were shown our bungalow and from that moment had uninterrupted views of the lagoon on our doorstep. Incredible hospitality with Mii our host on call for any questions we had, otherwise, we felt like we were in our own private paradise. Highly recommend to couples wanting a quiet, serene and beautiful location to relax on holiday. Thanks!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms really are beach front. Easy walk down the beach to resort restaurants. Close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timandkelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaleTakitumu, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Kia Orana Tim & Kelly and thanks for your amazing review of Paradise! We also feel that Royale Takitumu is paradise, and we are so proud to share it with amazing people like you. Thanks for your great review, and thanks for sharing your great photos. Hope to see you again, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a wonderful trip we just had at the Royale Takitumu! We had our own little casita just steps away from the water. This special spot is on the south side of the island which is much quieter and the water deeper which makes the snorkeling more desirable. Mii (the manager) and Bill (the owner) were so nice and attentive to any needs we had. Mii even made delicious muffins for us when she hosted a breakfast tea for new guest arrivals. A few days later Mii had a meet other guests bocce ball event that was great fun.
I would highly recommend the Royale Takitumu and would stay here again on our 7th visit to Rarotonga.

Room Tip: Pick a room that looks out at the ocean which is most of their accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Kia Orana and thanks for your awesome review of Royale Takitumu. How lucky you are to have visited our beautiful island for six times - and thank you for staying with us at Royale Takitumu. So happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we are thrilled to hear that you will be joining us on your 7th visit to Rarotonga. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This review is a few months late, but I was just reminiscing through my mind the wonderful memories made here and couldn't help but write about it. My wife and I had an incredible experience at the Royale Takitumu on our honeymoon July 1-6, 2013. Mi'i was amazingly helpful with planning our excursions and activities. The staff from the top down were friendly, warm, and willing to go the extra mile for us any chance they got. I highly recommend the Royale Takitumu to anyone looking to travel to this gorgeous island. The location is unbeatable and the service unmatched by any I've encountered to date. We plan to come back as soon as our schedules allow. Thank you Royale Takitumu for an unforgettable honeymoon! Jonny & Kelly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyandJonny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Kia Orana Jonny & Kelly! Congratulations again on your Wedding and thank you so much for choosing Royale Takitumu for your romantic Honeymoon in the Cook Islands. It was so nice meeting you both, and it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We only wish you could have stayed longer! Thanks again, and we hope to see you again on an Anniversary trip! Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I were looked after very well by the staff at Royale Takitumu throughout our stay. We were there for about a week for our honeymoon. Our flight arrived late at night, despite this all was organised between the resort and the transfer company for us to settle into our room on arrival where a bottle of sparkling and breakfast fruit platter were waiting in the fridge. Also a personalised letter inviting us to meet with the wonderful Mii the following day for a morning tea orientation. She was very helpful in suggesting and organising activities, and often we'd just stop by for a chat.

We were planning on hiring a bike each, though there was rainy weather predicted for most of our time there. Bill helped us rent a car for our stay. It is handy to have transport, because it is just a little too far away from much to walk, and the bus is $5 a ride [though I recommend you get it at least once. We rode it twice and both times we got the same driver and he was a real character].

Nearly each day we were greeted by the resort cat, Salvador. To be this cat; sit around by the beach everyday and having new visitors every few days from all over the world. What a life.

The resort is very private and unsigned from the road, with only 10 villas set amongst beautiful gardens. The beach is public space, though you would hardly know it was. At times we had it all to ourselves [and the local dogs/chickens]. The beach is safe to swim, but they have a pool also.

Our villa was right on the beachfront looking out onto the lagoon. Where we enjoyed laying around in the hammocks, swimming, snorkelling and kayaking. The snorkelling was really great. I have never seen so many types of fish so close to the shore.

Room was nice and cool with high ceilings, we didn't have to use the air conditioner. large bathroom and self catering kitchen were useful. DVD player was handy for the rainy nights [they had a selection of movies at the office]. There was a stereo too, so you can connect your mp3 player/usb with all of your own tunes.

We would love to return some day. Don't change Rarotonga
thanks from Lisa & Matt

Room Tip: Beachfront room with only coconut palms to obscure your view of the crystal clear lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2014Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Kia Orana Lisa & Matt and thanks so much for your beautiful review of Royale Takitumu! So glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for your very kind comments about our private Villas, our beach location, and about Salvador! It was so nice meeting you, and we do hope your travels return you very soon to Royale Takitumu. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Honeymooners who stayed at Royale Takitumu from the 24th to the 27th of March 2014. Would have stayed longer. We found that the lagoon here was better than the lagoon near our Aitutaki accommodation.

We travelled around the area of Rarotonga and found that the lagoon outside of the Royale Takitumu was one of the best as the beach was sand rather than crushed up coral and rocks, and you had the option to have enough area to swim or to snorkle (some other areas had either no snorkelling, or too much reef to swim safely). Mii was amazing as she was educative and helpful with our stay. She had upgraded us from the garden villa to the lagoon view villa, we also had an upgrade with airport transfers. I would recommend the lagoon view villas - you may not be on the beach front, but you definately feel it as your patio area over looks the lagoon. I appreciated the finer details that made staying here enjoyable and comfortable. These finer details proved that the place was well maintained. Eg. Daily cleaning, beach side hammocks were clean, sun beds had clean cushions & didn't look worn, kayaks weren't sun damaged. Peace & quiet in the area. Minimal people. Large Open Villas with included spa if you get the lagoon view. Walk out into one of the best areas of the lagoon. Enjoyed the complimentary wine by the beach.

If you are looking for a more commercial accommodation with a Spa, Gym and restaurant, then this may not be the place for you.

Best parts: Cleanliness, great bed, well maintained, lagoon area for swimming and snorkling. PRIVACY as you have your own villa which is broken up between beautiful ponds and gardens. Hammocks tied between two palm trees over looking the lagoon. The lagoon was still full at low tide to swim. Did not draw to far out like some other areas.

Note: Some amenities weren't available - No restaurant or bar, but Mii organised transfers to any restaurants that we wanted to go to which did not cost us any thing additional. We hired a scooter for our own transport during the day. While there was no option for b.fast, the fridge was stocked with some fruit, bread, milk, juice & jam which lasted the 3nights.

Thanks Mii you were a charm. xox.

Room Tip: I would definately consider the lagoon view villas. We originally booked the garden view but were up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catieerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your amazing review of Royale Takitumu! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for your very kind words about our property, our individual thatched-roof villas, our beautiful beach and lagoon, and especially your comments about Mii, about whom we are so proud. We only wish that you had stayed with us longer! Hopefully on your next visit to Rarotonga, you will stay with us for a few weeks! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.5 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Property: Royale Takitumu
Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing