We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday”
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived till the time we left(midnight!) 8 days later, Amber,Joy & Mii provided a most enjoyable experience at these secluded villas. The accommodation is first class and its outlook is without peer on the island. The swimming, snorkeling & kayaking just in front of the units was excellent. The morning tea get-together on Tuesday (with freshly made muffins) to meet other guests and the Friday afternoon petanque competition with champagne and snacks were very pleasant events.
Amber provided information regarding restaurants/cafes and other island activities and was able to arrange a hire car to be picked up and dropped off at the villas. The local buses could be accessed in either direction on the roadside out front.
If you want a totally relaxed holiday in the Cook Islands we would highly recommend the Royale Takitumu as the place to be. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Kia Orana George and thanks for your Perfect review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice meeting you both, and it was great spending time with you at our morning tea (glad you liked the muffins!), and Friday's petanque match. Like you, we most certainly do hope you can return to visit again very soon. Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent our 50th wedding anniversary at this piece of Heaven on Earth. Everything was outstanding but nothing more so than the wonderful spirit of hospitality shown by Nii, Joy, and Amber in reception as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of the cleaning and groundstaff. All arrangements were perfectly organised. The location was ideal and as a couple who have never snorkelled before we were amazed at the wonders beneath the surface of the lagoon. We are just waiting for the stock market to jump so we can return to this magnificent venue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Kia Orana ! It is us who have to say WOW - CONGRATULATIONS again on your 50th Wedding Anniversary. What an incredible accomplishment, and we are so, so proud that you chose Royale Takitumu as your quiet piece of Heaven to celebrate this important milestone. Thanks for your very kind words. It was our pleasure meeting you both, and we too hope that you can return for another visit very soon. Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Two weeks ago we spent 6 days in this lovely property, among lush gardens, with spectacular beach front access and views.
The villas were very private, light, and Amber and her crew were great hosts. In the garden, right by the beach, were two very comfortable day lounges under the palms,
No restaurant, but that was a plus, as with a comfortable car ( courtesy of the villa) we were able to have two wonderful days around the island, having lunch at delightful little seaside restaurants.
Later we extended the car hire for longer at a very reasonable rate.
As well, we found nearby a great little store with all kinds of fresh island produce. One of the restaurants, "Vaima", even picked us up for dinner, and returned us later at our time of choice, where we ate lovely island food on the sand in the moonlight.
We loved the whole concept.
It would be great for honeymooners, and much better than a resort, and very private. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Villa 9, as it is very private, with extra outdoor seating, as well as the most private day lounges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Kia Orana Jude and thanks so much for your great review of Royale Takitumu. It makes us so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed your true, authentic Rarotonga holiday. We try to provide a relaxed, luxurious, and very private getaway for couples, and we agree with you when you state, ". . . much better than a resort." We hope to see you again, very soon. Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Royale Takitumu is simply a secluded paradise hidden away on the immaculate Titikaveka beach. My wife and I were looking for a holiday were we could relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and we found it!!!!!! We were in villa 10 which was right on the beach edge. We had an uninterrupted view of the beautiful lagoon and the only noise was the ocean crashing over the coral reef. Amber and Mii were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The villa had everything we needed and was spacious and very comfortable. The snorkelling was out of this world and is literally on your doorstep, with kayaks also available to use to explore the lagoon. Our expectations were exceeded with private transport arranged from the airport and our first nights dinner reservation made for us. Every little detail was thought about to ensure our stay was as we had planned. I would certainly recommend this property as a place to stay for anyone looking to spoil themselves in a secluded corner of beautiful Rarotonga.

Room Tip: The beach front VIP and Honeymoon Villas are fantastic although any villa on this property would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Kia Orana Peter and thanks for your great review of Royale Takitumu. We are so happy that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us - we just wish you were able to stay longer! We are very proud of Amber and Mii, and so proud to read that you enjoyed the service we provide. We like to think that all of our guests eventually become part of our growing Royale Takitumu family. We hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga soon, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent our 28th wedding anniversary at this wonderful resort right on the beach on the southern side of the Cook Islands. We could not fault the accommodation and the staff in particular Mii and Amber are first class. If you are looking for a full style resort with restaurant and bar this is not the place for you. It is quiet and fully self contained. We took our breakfast with us from Sydney however we always ate out for other meals. Life is slow at the Royale Takitumu and I think we rarely had lunch as we were getting out of bed mid morning.... (nudge, nudge, wink, wink) We also had friends that stayed at the Little Polynesian, just up the road and they paid twice as much for their accommodation there. (Little Poly, as it is called, is also very nice but offers restaurant and bar facilities) Be prepared to spend money as most perishables have to be imported into the Cook Islands and are expensive. The Royale Takitumu is a great resort and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Always book the beach villas... you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolthead99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Kia Orana Bothead99 and thanks so much for the GEM of a review of Royale Takitumu. First off - CONGRATULATIONS again on celebrating your 28th Wedding Anniversary. We are so proud that you chose Royale Takitumu for your anniversary celebration. We appreciate your very kind words, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay in our quiet little piece of paradise. We hope to see you on your 29th Anniversary! Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 7 days at this beautiful property. We had wanted somewhere where we could totally relax, quiet, private and on the beach - not just any beach - but a beach with white sand and lined with palm trees! We could not have found a better place anywhere. We stayed in villa number 9 which was literally 5 steps from the sand, had our own private hammock strung between 2 coconut trees, canoes and snorkelling equipment. Our villa was fully self contained and we ate in a couple of nights on our balcony looking out at the coral reef which surrounds the island. All of the villas, even the garden villas, have a view of the water, but if you can afford it - it is worth one of the front beachside villas. Mii and Amber were always totally helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Some great restaurants on the island to enjoy the freshly caught fish at a reasonable price. Hire a car or a motor bike for a day to go around the island and if you have time, take a trip to the nearby islands. My only complaint was that we could not stay longer! We will certainly return to recharge the batteries!!

Room Tip: All good but go for the beachfront if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAE549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Kia Orana RAE549 and thanks for your HEAVENly review of Royale Takitumu. What a lovely review. We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us for your brief Rarotonga holiday. Now you know - you need to stay longer next time! We can't wait to see you again very soon. Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Royale Takitumu for a week with my husband in May. Our bunglaow was right on the beach, complete with our own hammock.
The bunglaows were spacious, and well equiped with everything that you could need. The bathrooms are also very large with jacuzzi baths.
The grounds were beautiful, and the pool area was also very well maintained - a great place to spend the afternoon.
Amber and Mii, the managers are so helpful and are around all day if you need to ask them anything at all. Mii also makes very good muffins, which we got to enjoy at a morning tea that they organised for al of the guests.
The Royale Takitumu was just what we were looking for - it gives you all the facilites of self catered accommodation, as well as having staff on hand to help you if you need it. It was very peaceful, and the beach is by far the best on the island.
There are a couplf of restaurants within walking distance, and a number of other ones will provide free transfers for you, so there are a lot of options if you don't want to be cooking while you are on holiday.
They provide breakfast each day which is delivered to your door in a basket - usually cereals, fresh fruit platters, eggs, bread and preserves - which is all you need, and great to wake upto in the moring.
We really couldn't fault this place, and it had a lot more charm, and is much more beautiful than a number of the larger hotels that we saw as we travelled around the island. We would stay here again if we are lucky enough to visit Rarotonga again.

Room Tip: We had a honeymoon villa which was right on the beach - I would spend the little extra and get one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveloften27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Kia Orana and thank you so much for your Excellent review of Royale Takitumu. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your Beachfront Villa. Thanks for your kind words about Amber and Mii - they do a great job!! We most certainly hope that your travels return you back to Rarotonga, and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range: $218 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing