We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave!”
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in VIP villa 9 for 9 nights on our Honeymoon and we have nothing but positive things to say about the Royal Takitumu Villas. The view from our room and front deck was beautiful and the beach was some of the best we saw during our ramblings around the island. The snorkeling was also great and could be done at any phase of the tide which was not always the case in other areas of Rarotonga. Service was fantastic and we really enjoyed the game of Petanqe with the other guests. We had considered other locations to stay on Rarotonga but after having a look while we were there we definitely think we got the best value for money and were very happy with our choice of accommodation. We did the day trip to Aitutaki which we highly recommend. Overall a fantastic place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The villas on the beach are lovely however those just back from the shore also looked nice and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Kia Orana Bailinh and thanks so much for your GREAT review of Royale Takitumu. We too wish you could have stayed longer! First off, congratulations again on your wedding, and thanks so much for spending your honeymoon with us. Thanks for your very kind words about our Villas, view, beach, snorkeling, and our staff. It was our pleasure meeting you, and we do hope to see you soon on one of your Anniversary trips! Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
287
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

we were thoroughly impressed with royale takitumu from the moment we arrived to the time we departed. the staff were incredibly welcoming, and the location was perfect for some great snorkelling. we stayed in a beachfront villa - and enjoyed waking up each day to a view straight out to the ocean. we are a couple in our late 20's with no kids, and this type of accomodation was ideal - no children, the villas have kitchens so we could stay in and eat if we wanted, and overall the feeling was very peaceful and relaxing. we hired a car and a scooter - and it was incredibly easy to get around - there are resorts all over the place and restaurants nearby so you can immerse yourself with others if you so choose. we would definately stay there again if we are lucky enough to come back to Raro!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Kia Orana Mel & Jon and thanks so much for your Gorgeous review of Royale Takitumu! Thanks for your very kind words about our staff and our property. We also hope you are lucky enough to come back to Raro, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Royal Takitumu. Arrival greetings were very welcoming and our stay was fantastic. Our Villa had a lagoon view and breakfast on the balcony each morning was great listening to the birds, views of the ocean and a very private beach. You can do as little or as much as you want. Beauty there is that there were only adults (no children) so very relaxing. The staff were very friendly and they put on drinks and nibbles on the Friday with a game of Petanque for those that want to participate - great way to meet other guests. They also put on a lovely morning tea on the Tuesday, muffins, scones etc and again great to meet other guests.
They have kayaking, snorkelling, gorgeous swimming pool and very sheltered from the winds which we experienced for a few days. The bus stops right outsde the property and you can go either clockwise or anticlockwise to wherever you want. Plenty of lovely restaurants to dine at and great food. A very relaxing holiday!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, however it was very windy when we were there so even though we had an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Kia Orana Lynda and thanks so much for your Wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. It was our pleasure meeting you, and we were so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We departed Auckland on the 10 August arriving a few hours later in Rarotonga on 9 August at 4pm.
We were picked up by Island Hopper along with other guests staying at Royal Takitimu.
Arrival at Royale Takitimu went smoothly. We were sat down in the ‘lounge’, had a drink & completed our registrations.
We stayed at Royale Takitimu for 5 nights then moving to Crown Resort for another 5 nights.
Royale Takitimu was great nothing to do except lie on sun loungers on the beach, stroll along the beach, snorkel, kayak. We needed a relaxing holiday and this was part of it. The ‘no children’ policy is great & was a major consideration in booking. The grounds are lovely the pool very nice. The staff put on a petanque (or as my partner spells it – pontonks) night which was great fun, and also had a home baked scones morning tea.
We had one of the beachfront units, lovely waking to the sound of the waves on the reef then sitting outside looking through the palms as dawn broke. We were visited regularly by very healthy looking chickens & rooster.
The accommodation is good. A kingsize bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was good with a large ‘spa bath’, strangely the shower was over the bath, not separate. No real problem though unless you are a bit unsteady on your feet in which case it needs a grab rail.
The kitchen has everything that you might need.
The lounge is adequate looking straight out through the palm trees to the reef, oh such a chore.
TV in the Cooks is very limited. I took a laptop & some DVDs we were glad to have them. Apparently you can ask for a DVD player at the office. Can’t really understand why there is not one with each TV, after all they don’t cost much.
Royale Takitimu does not have a restaurant or bar. It is a very good idea to make sure you have your duty frees sorted & bring some food. Not just because supplies are more expensive but for the convenience.
A couple of days before we left I went to the butchers & got them to vacuum pack some meat & bacon. I froze the meat put it in a cheap insulated bag at 6am and 12 hours later when we arrived it was still solid. Yes you can take frozen meat from NZ, just declare it. We also took some rice, noodles, cans of tuna, crackers, cheese and very importantly teabags. Nearby is a small store & fruit & vegetable stall.
About the only fruit that was available was paw paw & ‘star fruit’ ( Averrhoa carambola). When we got back I Googled star fruit. Concerningly if you have kidney problems it is seriously toxic, best to be warned, for anyone else it is fine.
In the morning I would BBQ’d bacon & eggs, for dinner the vacuum packed meat with some veges.
The beach has a reasonable slope & the snorkelling good. Snorkel out as far as you can, the coral & fish change the further out you go.
There were three disappointments all nothing to do with Royale Takitimu.
We went to the ‘Wigmore Falls’ a local attraction. There was a drought. Apparently people that walk the island & arrive there swim in the pool, I doubt it is ever much more than a metre deep. For us it wasn’t even worth the drive.
We had read the tourist brochures about horse riding nearby. We went and had a look at the horses. Poor things. Very little grass, no shelter, no water and ribs showing. We gave that a miss, apparently tourists do complain but that is the way the locals care for horses. .
On the Sunday we decided to go out for dinner. We found out that a restaurant at a hotel down the road had a seafood buffet -Little Polynesian. What a let down. The seafood was fish steak, probably tuna cooked on the BBQ and ‘kebabs on a stick’ comprising onion, capsicum, 2 baby octopus & 1 prawn. There was chicken, beef and vegetables etc but what a total let down. Not even marinated raw fish.
When you arrive & enter the terminal the duty free shop is directly in front of you. Websites claim that the duty frees in the Cook Islands are cheaper than NZ & Australia. I am not sure about that but if not they are not a lot dearer & it saves you the bother of carrying the bottles. The downside of getting duty frees is how much you will be delayed getting through immigration, customs etc if you got off the plane quickly but then you might have to wait with the transfer bus for other visitors.
Would we go back, without a doubt.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the accommodation closest to the road. Everywhere else is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Kia Orana Michael and thanks so much for your great, and very detailed review of Royale Takitumu. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are very happy that you would return to see us. We hope to see you again very soon! Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in the garden studio in September 2012. This was wonderful, we arrived in the middle of the night and we had a very warm welcome. There was breakfast to get you started on your first morning and a well equipped kitchen. The setting is quite and peaceful, you hardly knew that there was anyone else there. Beach is great as is the pool area, which you look out to when you stay in the garden studio. Thank you for a wonderful stay and hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Kia Orana Claudia and thanks for your wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you embraced the privacy and seclusion of Royale Takitumu. It was great meeting you and we can't wait to see you again on your next visit. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed here in July 2012 in a beach front villa. I can not reccomend Royale T enough, firstly the huts are fantastic and well maintained, the views are really as good if not better than the photos on trip adisor. But it's the team here that make your stay so wonderful. Bill and his staff are genuinely lovely people. I highly recommend taking his advice on restaurants on the island (and ask him to book- we had the best table every night! :-) we wanted a relaxing holiday and thats exactly what we got, but there is enough close by if you want to wake board, kayak, dive, safari.

Bill we hope your well! Thank you again for making our holiday so enjoyable. Royale T is on my key ring :-)

Kate and Nikki

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for a beach front hut
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Kia Orana Kate and Nikki and thanks so much for your great review of Royale Takitumu. It was our pleasure meeting you both, and we are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your very kind words - it means a lot to us. We do hope that you can return to your new "home away from home" very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very good property with wonderful staff. Our Villa was lovely and everything we thought it would be. Beautiful white sand beach a few paces away. We were impressed with the quality of the loungers at the pool and on the beach. Pool setting is lovely.
Mii and all the staff were always available to help with anything we required.
Not a resort and you need to be independant, exacty what we love.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Kia Orana Kerry & Bronwen and thanks so much for your great review of Royale Takitumu. It was wonderful meeting you, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words about our villas, beautiful beach, pool, and our staff. We do hope your travels allow you to return to Royale Takitumu and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Property: Royale Takitumu
Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing