We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couples/weddings”
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed Oct 10-15, 2011 and arranged our wedding their via site manager/wedding coordinator,Mii. The entire visit/wedding was beyond perfect!! The grounds are immaculate, the staff far exceeding hospitable/accommodating, and site manager Mii is the jewel of the islands....her sweet/pleasant/kind demeanor could only be out done by her never-ending hospitality and accommodating personality. She so very much loves what she does and it shows the second you arrive until the moment you leave. The bungalows are self-accommodating, perfectly-picturesque, and leave nothing to desire. THIS is the perfect place for a couple getaway who want serenity, peace, breath-taking scenery, probably the best snorkeling on the island at your door step, and the ideal getaway. And I haven't even mentioned our wedding yet!!
We wanted a stress free, quite, getaway wedding and we got just that and more! There could be no more of a romantic and beautiful wedding than here. Everything was absolutely perfect.
If you want Club Med, a party scene, or lounging by the pool slammed with screaming kids then this is NOT the place. If you want a tropical, serene getaway for you and your loved one, if you want peace and quiet sprinkled with luxury, if you want to instantly forget evrything else on the globe exists, then the Royale Takitumu is EXACTLY what you want.

Room Tip: Make no mistake, ALL bungalows are stunning. But if you're going to do something, then REALLY do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Kia Orana Mike. WOW! What more can we say? Your review is fantastic, and we thank you so much for choosing Royale Takitumu for your Cook Islands wedding. We consider ourselves so lucky to meet such wonderful couples as you, and we are honoured that you chose our quiet, peaceful beach for your lovely wedding. Thank you for your very kind words about Mii - she is truly a gem and we are so lucky to have her. We hope that you do return some day and enjoy a quiet, relaxing anniversary trip to Royale Takitumu. Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Royale Takitumu in August of 2011 and were amazed out how absolutely wonderful it is. The bungalows are outstanding as is the view, possibly the best view and snorkeling on Raratonga. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. We cannot recommend the Royale Takitumu enough.

Room Tip: Opt for the honeymoon or VIP bungalows, well worth the extra cost for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninja03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Kia Orana ninja03. We have been quietly telling everyone we know that we consider our location and villas at Royale Takitumu are the best of the Cook Islands. It is so nice to read that you agree with us! Thanks for your amazing review and very kind words. This means a lot to us, and we do hope that you get to return to Royale Takitumu for another visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent a week here from September 12th 2011 as part of our honeymoon and we cannot praise it enough. We had a lagoon view villa and although it isn't right on the beach, we could see the beach from our verandah and it was no more than a 5 second walk to get to the beach - hardly a struggle! As everyone has said, the villa was fantastic with a well equipped kitchenette that we made use of a few times for lunch on a budget dinner and a stunning spa bath in the bathroom. The four poster bed completed the romantic feel of the accommodation and made us feel very special.
The snorkelling and beach were the best we have ever seen. My husband isn't a strong swimmer and is recovering from a shoulder injury and was worried before we went that he wouldn't be able to snorkel and see the tropical fish. He needn't have worried - there were scores of beautiful coloured fish and bright blue enormous starfish not more than 3 metres from the shore line in water you could stand up in if needed - perfect for the less than confident swimmer. We made use of the kayaks and snorkels/fins provided and had lots of fun exploring the lagoon but nowhere did we find anywhere as stunning as just in front of our hotel. Chatting to an Aussie who was working in one of the tourist attractions but had lived and travelled all over the Pacific, he said the snorkelling in front of Royale Takitumu was the best in the Pacific - a high claim but from what we have seen he isn't wrong (and as far as we can make out he wasn't connected to RT at all!)

Mii also deserves a special mention - she effortlessly arranges everything you need with a smile. She was also arranging social events that are definitely worth going to - if you get a note on your verandah inviting you to tea and cakes, GO! The home baked cakes are amazing and a real treat! Mii made us feel like we were honoured guests in her home and we left feeling like we'd made a new friend.

I second the comment made about researching dining options - we didn't and ended up eating at the same place (Little Polynesian) more nights than not because we didn't have a car and this was walkable. We didn't mind though as it was first class food with a chocolate fondant dessert that is a divine.

We spent our second week on Aitutaki in the Pacific Resort which was meant to be our luxury 'special treat' part of the honeymoon but we both felt we much preferred the luxury of RT and felt much more special here - staying in a small personal individual hotel as opposed to a larger impersonal chain hotel. We also liked the freedom RT gave us to explore the island and experience the Cook Islands culture whereas a resort works very hard to keep you inside the resort and not seeing the place you are visiting.

We would return to RT tomorrow if it wasn't so far away but it is definitely worth going the distance for and I very much hope we can go back for a special anniversary in the future.

In summary, understated luxury provided by people who make you feel at home from the second you arrive with the best snorkelling and smooth white sandy beach on your doorstep. I can see why people keep coming back.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you can't afford a Beachfront Bungalow - you are never more than 5 seconds fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SiKatLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Kia Orana SiKatLondon_UK. We can not thank you enough for traveling all the way from London to visit us in Rarotonga, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Royale Takitumu. Your review is amazing, and makes us all so happy and proud. We are very glad that you both were able to enjoy our great snorkeling. We are so fortunate to be located on this very special and private stretch of white sand beach, and the marine life in front of Royale Takitumu needs to be seen to be believed. While London really is a long way away, we do hope that you return to your new home in Rarotonga very soon. Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay. Our individual bungalow (#4) was less than 10 feet from the picture-book beach. A hammock was just outside, slung between 2 palm trees.
The location, beach and water are perfect. There were never more than 4 other people on the beach at the same time as us. The snorkeling within a few feet our front door was among the best snorkeling I have ever done, including trips miles out to sea on boats in Turks & Caicos, Belize and Anguilla. The water is crystal-clear turquoise, and the aquatic life is abundant and varied.
Mii and her staff were extremely helpful, and set us up with reservations at a different great restaurant every evening, scooter rentals, and everything else we needed.
We stayed in late September, and the weather was ideal.
The bungalow itself was roomy, with a giant bathroom and well-appointed kitchenette for those who enjoy stocking up on supplies and prefer not to eat out for every meal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calvinosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Kia Orana Calvinosauraus! Thanks for your great review of Royale Takitumu! It was so nice seeing you in September, and we are very happy to read how you enjoyed your stay with us. The snorkeling is great in front of our amazing beach, and we are glad you were able to see it for yourself. We apologize that there were four other people on the beach - next time, we will try to aim for no one else on the beach, so you can have it to yourselves!!! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We did a good deal of research before booking a villa for ten nights at the Royale Takituma. We arrived and were made welcome immediately by gorgeous Mii, who showed us around, after giving us a cold fruit juice. A lovely welcome, which also included a fresh fruit basket and champagne in the fridge. We loved our Villa, which had fantastic beach views. The room was large, airy, comfortable and immaculately clean. There is a small kitchen, which we used to prepare breakfast and other meals. We loved dining on our verandah which overlooks the water. The bedroom is air conditioned and take care if you are staying elsewhere on Raro because many other properties only have fans, it is worth asking the question because it can be hot at night on Raro.

Meals in the cafes and restaurahts in Raro are relatively expensive [by Australian standards] and the capacity to cook fabulous local fish on the barbeque by the pool was a real bonus for us. There are large supermarkets in the town, which are well stocked and small fruit stands all along the main road which circles the island. There are plenty of fruit and vege stands within walking distance of the villas. The grounds and beach area were incredibly well maintained. The villas are very private and there were very few people on the beach where we snorkelled and swam every day. The beach is only a few steps from the villa [if you can resist the hammock on the way]. We hired a small red open topped car and spent a fair bit of time exploring the island. We did not see any other accommodation which compared to the Royale Takitumu - and we did look at quite a few. The beach at Titikaveka is far and away the best beach on Raro and the amazing array of tropical fish just off the shore makes snorkelling a real must do.

All in all, a brilliant place to have a really restful holiday. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Kia Orana Judith and thank you so much for your incredible review of Royale Takitumu. While we are very biased, we must agree with you that our beach is the best on the island, and we are glad to hear that you took full advantage of it by relaxing, snorkeling, swimming, and enjoying the beach hammocks. We very much pride ourselves on providing a relaxing, tropical holiday with friendly but unobtrusive service. After reading your review, it seems like we are achieving that goal. We can't wait to see you on your next visit! Kia Manuia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Read some previous reviews, so opted to try. Immediately felt like a close friend. Just nestled in to our cozy, comfortable, clean, convenient (and did I mention gorgeous) unit......and the best vacation we've had in twenty years was on. Can't say enough about Amber & her staff. It was one of those vacations we dreamed about, always looked for, but never found until then. Tropical hideaway with a beautiful uncrowded, private feeling beach, that offered great snorkeling, kayaking (included), We were pretty well left to just enjoy, but the staff (not sure how they just sort of blended into the surroundings - possibly ninjas) were always there to take care of problems (we never had any). Car or scooter rentals were super easy...and delivered. (Note: you need to obtain a Cook Island D.L., which amounted to a short drive into town, a photo, small fee, and a great keepsake). One caveat though, due diligence is required at meal times. Finding a restaurant is easy, finding one that's economical is the trick. Do your research before you leave. All in all, despite this small hiccup (no pun intended), this is a wonderful place, friendly/helpful people, lots to do & see, or just restore the soul. Both my wife & I would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you Amber (& the people of Rarotonga) for getting rid of my cynicism. I won't post photos, as there are ttl (true-to-life) pics available on the net, but if anyone wants to see some, just drop a note (rew_web@telus.net). Cheers!

Room Tip: No tip required. All are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZekeStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Kia Orana ZekeStone and thank you so much for your review! What more can we add to your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read that you fell in love with Rarotonga and Royale Takitumu, and it makes us so happy to read that this was the best vacation you have had in twenty years. Now, we certainly hope you don't wait 20 years to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our daughter stayed here and had our wedding ceremony on the beach. Perfect place and excellent service from the hotel. Would recommend this as the perfect place for your wedding

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeezS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Kia Orana LeezS2 and thanks for your review. We also feel that Royale Takitumu is the 'perfect place' for a wedding. We are so happy that you were happy with the location and service. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range: $211 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing