We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titikaveka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows
San Diego, California
1 review
“pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed in the guest house which is 1 to 2 minutes walk across the main road from a beautiful beach on the lagoon with excellent snorkeling. The bungalows are about 3 meters from the lagoon and have amazing views across the water to the reef and crashing surf which is about 500 meters away.

The guest house is clean and well cared for with large kitchen dining and sitting areas. Outside there is a wide garden with birds, fruit trees and flowers and 2 tables to sit at.

The family who own the place are very helpful and have many stories to tell.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Fritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This place also goes by the name of Titikaveka Absolute Beach Bungalows: Beach House bookable through Go Cook Islands, so beware...
We stayed here for 10 days at the end of August 2011 paying $170 per night, so not budget accommodation. However the first thing we had to do on the evening we arrived was wash all the glasses, crockery and cutlery as it was dirty/greasy. In the morning I cleaned the microwave and the cutlery drawers that smelt like sweaty socks! (probably parmesan cheese leftovers) and tried to kill the ants that were crawling all over the fridge/freezer. The Ghekos that were living in the property and came out every night obviously weren't doing their job right. The whole place needed a really good clean, light switches, sockets curtains and wardrobe rail all dirty. The bedside light lamp bulb was not working and when I put a new one in it started flickering and crackling which I thought may be a loose wire . Then I plugged my hairdryer into the socket in the kitchen a couple of nights later and the bedside light started flicking on and off and after a short while my hairdryer made a funny noise and stopped with the smell of melting plastic coming from it. We told the owner Anna who agreed to get an electrician the following day and then told us that there was nothing wrong with the electrics it was my hairdryer! We then saw that they had jammed the plug of the bedside lamp into the socket, obvioulsy problem solved! The info states that it has a full kitchen, which it doesn't, amongst other things, the TV is just watchable and the radio doesn't work. The wire leading to the microwave had been melted in two places and the hotplate was falling apart and dirty. The location on the water front is great and linen was changed regularly and always clean. The closest shop, Wigmores is 25 minute walk and so is the nearest restaurant for the evening. The Saltwater cafe is only open 9am-2.30pm closed Friday and Saturday and the bakers only sell wholesale now, not to the public so you really need a scooter or bicycles with lights for the evenings. This was suposed to be a dream holiday, but along with the poor choice of accommodation, we had other things that happened and in the end it was sooooo very disappointing we will not return or recommend to anyone else. Just down the road are some lovely beach front bungalows for $10 a night extra Bella Beach Bungalows and you get sunbeds, hammocks BBQ and a dry sandy beach to walk straight out onto from your deck and they looked spotlessly clean and so well furnished with a proper kitchen area etc. I wish we had seen these as we would definately have gone there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tavuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were guests at Maiana 14th-24th august 2011 and had a fabulous holiday!!
It is a cute little well maintained bungalow RIGHT on Titikaveka beach, waves lapping right up to your deck. Great ,quiet stretch of beach, we kayaked load (even saw a turtle in the lagoon!) and its just a stones throw from the marine reserve for fantastic snorkelling. Saltwater cafe right opposite for morning coffee and bus stops outside but we found a scooter really useful for zapping around as 25minute walk to nearest shop..Wigmores.
Anna and her family were really welcoming and helpful but also gave us our space, regular servicing of the bungalow was awesome!!
Thankyou guys for a wonderful holiday and great value..will certainly be back!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morrisexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We booked the Maiana Beach Bungalow for about 20 days, staying from the 9th August and due to a booking hiccup will be moving to another location after having spent 10 fantastic days in this ‘gem’ of a place. Thought we would make some comments even though we are only half way through our holiday.
We read the T.A. article prior to arriving, re the burglary and having travelled to many a country know that these things do happen in all destinations and we have our ways of trying to make sure our valuables are safe. A few days after we arrived the local newspaper had an article on the front page requesting people to come and claim stolen items that had be recovered, and that those involved where awaiting trial and sweating it out in jail. The police on the Island are aware the damage this type of event can do for tourism and l believe they put the hours in to solving the activities of a few ‘bad apples’. The bungalow we stayed in had locks etc on all doors, windows that could be secured, external lighting. I guess a valuables safe would be ‘money well spent on’ to assist in alleviating future guests concerns The guesthouse across the road offers to keep valuables securely for you and the owners were very concerned and upset re the events that had occurred to the previous guests.
Our host Ana was there to meet us at the airport and we stopped off at the local supermarket to grab some essentials before taking us to our beach bungalow.
Our bungalow was wonderful, literally on the beach. We could swim and snorkel a few metres from the bungalow. The main road passes the back of the bungalow, but there really is not much traffic and the noise was not an issue. The bungalow was a good size, the main area is an L shape , with the king bed, in one section, the lounge chairs, small TV and an kitchen area with a microwave, hot plates and a large refrigerator. It has a good size bathroom. The bungalow is serviced every couple of days and our hosts were just lovely and endeavoured to ensure our room was up to scratch. When guests arrived to stay in the adjoining bungalow we did notice that the sound does travel between bungalows.
The winning feature is the balcony, we felt like we were sitting over the water, and people strolling on the beach never noticed we were there, because of the bungalow is set amongst she oaks and coconut trees. The bungalow is about 50 metres from the Sea Change Villas, and the Saltwater café is across the road. The location could not be better. The Island bus stop is a just metres away from the bungalow. A book of 10 trips costs $25 or $4 one-way or $7 return
The Saltwater Café is only open for a few hours each day. It has one of the telecom wifi hot spots (you purchase a card from the supermarket or from the telecom shop in the main town.) We purchased a 250 MB wifi card for $50 but the cards are also available for $10, $20 etc). The hotspot at the Saltwater Café is only available when the café is open, and we could sit in the bus shelter across the road from the cafe and do our emails. The next closest hot spot is at Wigmores supermarket, just over a 2 km walk. The guesthouse across the road has a public phone available and the place has mobile coverage, but there is no phone data coverage on the Island.
The nearest restaurant for dinner is the Paw Paw patch. It’s about 2.5 km walk east. The buses only go one way after 4.30 pm, so we walked to the restaurant and got the bus home. The food was fabulous, good quality and beautifully presented. They had a good wine list with reasonable prices.
We hired a car for a few days mainly to assist in the transportation of beer ($55 a slab), wine ($20 a bottle), food (bit dearer here than in Oz) and to explore other snorkelling spots. We brought some fishing gear with us and to walk down to have a fish outside our bungalow was great fun. Gear is a bit limited to get on the Island and we brought some silver lures with us that did the job. There are lots of Leather Jackets around to play with, but fish within the lagoon have a parasite that make them unsafe to eat so catch and release is the way to go.
Maiana Beach Bungalows are a real treat, very reasonably priced and if you compare what you get for $100 a night here or $400, fifty metres up the beach, this place if defiantly value for money ++.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed here (in the guesthouse) for several days with a friend and we had a great time. The guesthouse setup is simple, functional and clean. There are common areas for cooking, dining and generally hanging out, with shared bathrooms and a variety of bedrooms for guests.

Maiana is well situated on the island - close to several of the best snorkelling spots and to cafes, stalls and stores. The guesthouse rooms are very well priced.

The family are very friendly and helpful - Mano collected me from the airport and Ana came by every day to make sure everything was ok and to chat.

Would definitely stay again - highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpo-Aotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

loved the place and the people. mano and his wife have chickens and forest with banana plantation.especial thank you to anna joy pokia whose name makes me smile.beautiful island beautiful people.i will be back
ricky taylor

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patonginverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We've stayed there on a number of occasions, and always felt most welcome. A great location, and a casual friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpmcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
0.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Bella Beach Bungalows
Bella Beach Bungalows
#6 of 12 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aremango Guesthouse
Aremango Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows

Property: Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows
Address: Maiana Guesthouse, P.O. Box 1036, Rarotonga, Cook, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia orana and welcome to Maiana. Looking to have a excellent and peaceful rest, we offer a range of rooms that can catter for your needs. We are found amongest mango trees, colourful flowers, friendly neighbourhood, great beaches and even snorkeling. Cafe 1min walk Beach 40secs walkBus-stop at front gate Superstore 5mins drive ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maiana Guesthouse And Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing