We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner right on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant

Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are situated right on the beach. Imagine sitting on the beach with the sun setting, sipping your favourite cocktail and enjoying some of the best cuisine on the island - how romantic! We also offer a pizza take away service - forget the cooking - enjoy our pizza in your room/hotel or just sit on the beach with your feet in the water enjoying the food. We can cater for small private functions and weddings. Look forward to seeing you at the Vaima. We recommend that families book between 5.30 and 6.30 pm.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

In addition to regular seating inside, Vaima has a plenthora of tables right down onto the beach itself. The food is yummy, with many of the usual enticiting local polynesian flavours mixed with some international flavours as well. Definitely worth experiencing if you're staying in or around Vaimaanga.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoom-Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    319
    71
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“a beach, a curry and a beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I love, love, loved this little gem of a resturant- Wonderful staff -an authnitc tiki lounge vibe, the ocean at your feet and the Fish curry is to die for! I'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicspics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make sure you book”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place is popular, so make sure you book. The food was great - the seafood curry is amazing. There was live music on the night we visited and it was brilliant. We love this place and will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHCMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Viama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Dining on the sand under the stars and the food was delicious, salt n pepper squid for starter and twice cooked pork belly for main, yum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosworth, missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed our meal ( both ordered the catch of the day _ Mahi-Mahi) but dessert was the best ! I wish I could remember the name of it, but it was fresh fruit on a crispy pastry with ice cream on the side. We ordered it and waited so long we almost got up and left, but glad we didn't when it came. One order as enough to share.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing