We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome meal”

Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are situated right on the beach. Imagine sitting on the beach with the sun setting, sipping your favourite cocktail and enjoying some of the best cuisine on the island - how romantic! We also offer a pizza take away service - forget the cooking - enjoy our pizza in your room/hotel or just sit on the beach with your feet in the water enjoying the food. We can cater for small private functions and weddings. Look forward to seeing you at the Vaima. We recommend that families book between 5.30 and 6.30 pm.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome meal”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Beautiful food, great atmosphere, served right on the beach.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    325
    72
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
“Small Restaurant With a BIG reputation!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We came to the Rarotonga for our Honeymoon and ended up eating at Vaima's twice during our one week stay. Being from San Diego there is no shortage of excellent cuisine, but nothing comes close to the atmosphere of the beach dining experience you will have here. The food is superb and the staff is also wonderful. Be sure to call ahead and make a booking!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BADD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“so good we ate here 3 times in 8 days”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was probably our favourite restaurant in Raro. We had the fish curries on the first night which are superb. We got a takeaway pizza the second night and had the John and Nina special at the bar on the third occasion. The staff are lovely and Francis the barman is really awesome bloke with a huge knowledge of the local area. Don't come to raro without going to Vaima, you won't be disappointed. They will also pick you up if you need free of charge.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fish Curry - YUM”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had dinner here and I highly recommend the Fish Curry, it was awesome!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NgaRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great scenery”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I love that when we showed up to eat we were lead out to the beach and got a table closest to the water. The food was tasty and the staff was nice. I ordered the cheesecake of the day and did not like it they let me get a different dessert which I ordered the sticky toffee pudding, let me just say AMAZING!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breanna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing