We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, clean, cosy, dog friendly cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glendale Studio

Aurora Borealis views from Glendale Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aurora Borealis views from Glendale Studio
Looking down to Glendale Studio and Loch Harport Glendale Studio and former Portnalong shop
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Aurora Borealis views from Glendale Studio
Looking down to Glendale Studio and Loch Harport
Glendale Studio and former Portnalong shop
Studio living area
Living, kitchen and dining area
Dining table overlooking the garden
Cosy woodburning stove
The Studio Double bedroom
The Studio Double bedroom
The Studio Single bedroom
Shower room
Glendale Studio entrance
Some garden visitors
Secure garden
Winter view from the garden
View of the Cuillin from the driveway
Nearby Fiscavaig Bay
Snowy Cuillin View
So many stars!
Portnalong harbour sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Carbost, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Reb76
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean, cosy, dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a short break for 3 nights here. Lovely clean and cosy cottage. Had the wood burner going the first night as it was a bit chilly, and enjoyed the bottle of wine that had been left for us, lovely thought-thank you! Beds nice and comfy, all looked new and very clean in the cottage. Well equipped. Visited Old Man of Storr, faerie Pools and Glenbrittle beach. Had a drive round Trotternish too. All fantastic scenery and amazing walks. Great view of the Cuillins from the house. 2 minutes walk round the corner is a hotel for food and has a bar, and 2 miles down the road is Carbost for the shop and pub. Dog says he loved it too and can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
We would be very happy to have you stay with us again.Thanks for taking the time to review your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brycegrah...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just lovely will be back again”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Was a great week. lovely island.
Great walks and hill climbing.
Cosy accommodation.
Friendly people.
Looking forward to next time.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay.More than happy to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurenann...
Tain, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Will definitely be going again!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked The Studio as a surprise for my parents and their dogs, we have been regular visitors to Skye in the past and usually stay near Carbost, as it is a great central location for going walking, so coming across The Studio was fantastic as it is difficult to get somewhere pet friendly! I had to change the original dates that i had booked as my dad wasnt going to be home from work in time, and David couldn't have been more helpful or accomodating!! My parents said the studio was lovely! Clean, fresh and with gorgeous views! Compact and well equipped with everything you could need for your stay! Will 100% be back again and again!!

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Many thanks for the kind review we do hope you come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen G
1 review
“Perfect, relaxing break in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect lcation in a lovely studio. Glendale is well equipped with everything you could want, or need, for your stay. Clean, beautiful outlook, absolutely no complaints. We absolutely loved our stay and are already planning to return for a longer holiday next time.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothng
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Many thanks for reviewing the Studio.We have upgraded the Studio through the winter and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy D
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dog friendly studio for exploring Skye”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay in Glendale studio!

It had everything we needed, comfy bed, warm shower and was properly dog friendly with a secure garden and highlight was definitely the log burner! Good base to explore Skye. Would recommend to anyone.

Only thing I would say is it is not as easy as you might think to walk your dog off lead in the local area because there is a lot of livestock around. We wished we had looked up dog friendly walks before we arrived as we had a dog bursting with energy and nowhere to safely walk him off lead without driving somewhere.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Studio.There are walks locally that are dog friendly.We have taken your point on board and now have left a guide to nearby walks in the Studio.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genuine_R...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very small accommodation with musty smell”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The dreaded musty smell as you open a holiday cottage door! The Studio is extremely compact and very basic. The external light was not working (switch taped over) making it dangerously dark when returning at night, lots of bulbs in the studio itself were missing or not working. There was only kindling for one fire, not enough toilet roll for the stay, the can opener didn't work and the knives in the block were all dangerously blunt, plus lots of the kitchen equipment was dirty.
The worst thing for me was the damp smell and the blocked shower cubicle which filled with inches of stale water less than a minute after switching the shower on (I found a solution 2 days in, a filter in the drain, which looked like it had never been emptied, blocked with years full of hair and black gunge). I also didn't like the black bed sheets and navy towels which just don't give the impression of being clean. There was an awful lot of dog hair on the carpets when we arrived.
Someone (owner/housekeeper) came into the studio one day when we were out which I found rather out of place - if you want to check up by all means but please do so when guests are in.
The log burner was the best thing but was very large and as such was too powerful for such a small lounge.
Good location for exploring the island and secure garden for dogs.
I really don't think the first review should be considered as the reviewer clearly didn't set foot into the studio, they were reviewing the service not the accommodation they booked.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The damp musty smell
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
We are saddened to read that you were disappointed in your stay at Glendale Studio.
We do not feel that we have advertised the Studio as anything other than it is, compact, as the name suggests. Indeed we changed the name from the Cottage as marketed by the previous owners as we felt it could give the impression of something more spacious.
The Studio is currently undergoing planned renovations, including replacement of floors and new carpets, mattresses. Some of the bedding and towels will also be retired at the same time.
We can find no fault with the outside light, which is activated by a motion sensor at night. The switch is taped over not because it does not work but to stop guests from accidentally switching it off. We could only find 1 bulb out of 25 missing and the rest were working fine when we tested them, however we will make sure plenty of spare bulbs are left in the future.
We make no excuses for the log burner. It is a fabulous feature which has to provide adequate heat during the winter and not just during Skye?s 2015 indian summer. Perhaps try burning fewer logs if the temperature gets too much or a quick read of the instructions provided on how to damp down the fire to reduce the heat.
Our housekeepers have a short gap during changeovers and do not always have the time to check every piece of crockery, cutlery and utensil put away by previous guests. We have addressed the issue of the blunt knives and are happy to report that they are now dangerously sharp.
Toilet roll ? really? We have self-catered for over 30 years and never expect there to be enough for the entire stay. The clue is ?self-catering?, not serviced accommodation, however we take your comment on board.
Throughout a long and busy season we do find that things get broken or do not work as new. Most of our guests are kind enough to let us know before they leave if anything needs fixed or replaced for the benefit of the next guests. In fact the purpose of the housekeeper?s visit was to replace something reported broken by the previous guests and not to check up on you. You just happened to be out when they arrived.
We encourage our guests to communicate with us, as often a quick phone call or email can lead to most problems being resolved. What surprises us most is that you waited several weeks after leaving to report your issues via Trip Advisor, rather than mentioning anything at the time. This especially when you were in contact with us directly while on Skye to extend your stay by an extra couple of days.
We take all feedback seriously and thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chill out location!”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

When we first arrived we thought it might be too remote but not so.
The cottage is in an ideal location with most places of interest within a short drive with beautiful scenery. The cottage is compact and is well equipped with a lovely view. We brought our two dogs who enjoyed running around the well enclosed garden.
The log burning stove added to the atmosphere after returning from a long walk.
The nearby pub is a must.
We feel in love with the place and will return !

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the log burning stove.
Liked least: The basin for washing the dishes was a bit small.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Thanks Ian for your lovely comments. Glad you and the dogs enjoyed your holiday. We also think it is a fantastic location and must admit to frequenting the pub for some Skye beers and lovely home cooked food on occasion!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing