We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, relaxing break in a wonderful location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glendale Studio

Looking down to Glendale Studio and Loch Harport
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking down to Glendale Studio and Loch Harport
Portnalong sunset Glendale Studio and former Portnalong shop
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Looking down to Glendale Studio and Loch Harport
Portnalong sunset
Glendale Studio and former Portnalong shop
Winter view from the garden
Studio living area
Studio kitchen and living area
Dining table overlooking the garden
Cosy woodburning stove
Inside the Studio
The Studio Double bedroom
The Studio Double bedroom
The Studio Single bedroom
Shower room
Glendale Studio entrance
View from the dining table
Some garden visitors
Secure garden
The garden in summer
View of the Cuillin from the driveway
Glendale Studio
Nearby Fiscavaig Bay
Snowy Cuillin View
Wintry Cuillin scenes from the driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Carbost, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jen G
1 review
“Perfect, relaxing break in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect lcation in a lovely studio. Glendale is well equipped with everything you could want, or need, for your stay. Clean, beautiful outlook, absolutely no complaints. We absolutely loved our stay and are already planning to return for a longer holiday next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothng
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Many thanks for reviewing the Studio.We have upgraded the Studio through the winter and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy D
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dog friendly studio for exploring Skye”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay in Glendale studio!

It had everything we needed, comfy bed, warm shower and was properly dog friendly with a secure garden and highlight was definitely the log burner! Good base to explore Skye. Would recommend to anyone.

Only thing I would say is it is not as easy as you might think to walk your dog off lead in the local area because there is a lot of livestock around. We wished we had looked up dog friendly walks before we arrived as we had a dog bursting with energy and nowhere to safely walk him off lead without driving somewhere.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Studio.There are walks locally that are dog friendly.We have taken your point on board and now have left a guide to nearby walks in the Studio.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genuine_R...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very small accommodation with musty smell”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The dreaded musty smell as you open a holiday cottage door! The Studio is extremely compact and very basic. The external light was not working (switch taped over) making it dangerously dark when returning at night, lots of bulbs in the studio itself were missing or not working. There was only kindling for one fire, not enough toilet roll for the stay, the can opener didn't work and the knives in the block were all dangerously blunt, plus lots of the kitchen equipment was dirty.
The worst thing for me was the damp smell and the blocked shower cubicle which filled with inches of stale water less than a minute after switching the shower on (I found a solution 2 days in, a filter in the drain, which looked like it had never been emptied, blocked with years full of hair and black gunge). I also didn't like the black bed sheets and navy towels which just don't give the impression of being clean. There was an awful lot of dog hair on the carpets when we arrived.
Someone (owner/housekeeper) came into the studio one day when we were out which I found rather out of place - if you want to check up by all means but please do so when guests are in.
The log burner was the best thing but was very large and as such was too powerful for such a small lounge.
Good location for exploring the island and secure garden for dogs.
I really don't think the first review should be considered as the reviewer clearly didn't set foot into the studio, they were reviewing the service not the accommodation they booked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The damp musty smell
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
We are saddened to read that you were disappointed in your stay at Glendale Studio.
We do not feel that we have advertised the Studio as anything other than it is, compact, as the name suggests. Indeed we changed the name from the Cottage as marketed by the previous owners as we felt it could give the impression of something more spacious.
The Studio is currently undergoing planned renovations, including replacement of floors and new carpets, mattresses. Some of the bedding and towels will also be retired at the same time.
We can find no fault with the outside light, which is activated by a motion sensor at night. The switch is taped over not because it does not work but to stop guests from accidentally switching it off. We could only find 1 bulb out of 25 missing and the rest were working fine when we tested them, however we will make sure plenty of spare bulbs are left in the future.
We make no excuses for the log burner. It is a fabulous feature which has to provide adequate heat during the winter and not just during Skye?s 2015 indian summer. Perhaps try burning fewer logs if the temperature gets too much or a quick read of the instructions provided on how to damp down the fire to reduce the heat.
Our housekeepers have a short gap during changeovers and do not always have the time to check every piece of crockery, cutlery and utensil put away by previous guests. We have addressed the issue of the blunt knives and are happy to report that they are now dangerously sharp.
Toilet roll ? really? We have self-catered for over 30 years and never expect there to be enough for the entire stay. The clue is ?self-catering?, not serviced accommodation, however we take your comment on board.
Throughout a long and busy season we do find that things get broken or do not work as new. Most of our guests are kind enough to let us know before they leave if anything needs fixed or replaced for the benefit of the next guests. In fact the purpose of the housekeeper?s visit was to replace something reported broken by the previous guests and not to check up on you. You just happened to be out when they arrived.
We encourage our guests to communicate with us, as often a quick phone call or email can lead to most problems being resolved. What surprises us most is that you waited several weeks after leaving to report your issues via Trip Advisor, rather than mentioning anything at the time. This especially when you were in contact with us directly while on Skye to extend your stay by an extra couple of days.
We take all feedback seriously and thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chill out location!”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

When we first arrived we thought it might be too remote but not so.
The cottage is in an ideal location with most places of interest within a short drive with beautiful scenery. The cottage is compact and is well equipped with a lovely view. We brought our two dogs who enjoyed running around the well enclosed garden.
The log burning stove added to the atmosphere after returning from a long walk.
The nearby pub is a must.
We feel in love with the place and will return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the log burning stove.
Liked least: The basin for washing the dishes was a bit small.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Thanks Ian for your lovely comments. Glad you and the dogs enjoyed your holiday. We also think it is a fantastic location and must admit to frequenting the pub for some Skye beers and lovely home cooked food on occasion!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DugEye
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb cottage in a superb setting run by an understanding & friendly host.”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I booked Glendale Studio but David got back in touch to see if we would like move into the Cottage on the same sight as the renter in the Studio wanted to extend their stay. The cottage was for a larger group and thus had superior facilities, David offered this at no extra cost. We obviously accepted the offer.
The complimentary bottle of wine and a supply of all relevant information that we needed was a perfect start to our stay.
Skye is an exceptional island with a lot to see and do. The cottage was in a perfect location to enjoy the island.
I would recommend The Studio or The Cottage as an excellent rental and location to enjoy Skye.
Thank you David.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience of Skye and it's people
Liked least: The changeable weather but it did lead to excellent photo oppertunities.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2015
Thank you for your kind words and for allowing us to change your accommodation at such short notice. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Cottage and the location.
Skye is indeed a wonderful holiday destination and we hope to welcome you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isabreton
La Cote-Saint-Andre, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing