We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shorefield

Stunning view from comfortable living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning view from comfortable living room
Tranquil location overlooking Loch Harport Nearby pier where fishermen land their catch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Stunning view from comfortable living room
Tranquil location overlooking Loch Harport
Nearby pier where fishermen land their catch
Sample of delicious fresh seafood available locally
Well equipped, modern and stylish kitchen
Master Bedroom, with en-suite
Room with a view
Welcome tray on arrival
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carbost, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlotta...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, but could be amazing ”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a family holiday with a dog for a week in July. The view from the house is amazing and it's near Munro's pub (amazing food), so although the location feels very rural, you can still go out for a meal.

The house is situated in Portnalong rather than Carbost, which is something to consider when booking. Apart from Munro's there is not much around, so driving is a necessity. There is a little shop in Carbost, but we found ourselves having to drive out to the Coop in Portree on a few occasions (40 mins). I would not book without access to a car to get you around the island.

The house itself could do with a sign to allow better ease in finding it. It sleeps 6 comfortably, but we found the kitchen cramped with 4 people using it and we all found the hob difficult to get to grips with! It also has a lovely large living room with fantastic views. The place was comfortable, but not luxurious. There was no welcome package was not as suggested by the photo on the website. The bathrooms could have done with a more thorough clean, as could the glasses and cups. The bedding and towels were of a good quality. Just a few touches would have made this a truly lovely place.

The owners were helpful and brought round a BBQ when it was requested. Despite a few niggles, this is great dog- friendly accommodation and I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
99happybu...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A family holiday with age range from 15 months to 63 plus dog here. You could not ask for anything more from accommodation. Shorefield is set in a stunning location and is beautifully presented on arrival with everything you could possibly need for a very home from home feeling. The cottage is immaculately maintained, warm and cosy. We all felt very much at home and will be returning in the future. A lot of small touches make such a difference. Well done to all involved - your efforts were very much appreciated by our family. Will have no reservations in recommending to anyone looking for a good base to explore a stunning island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you very much for your great review and kind words. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Shorefield, while holidaying on Skye. The Joan and her team were delighted with the chocolates and message, you left for them, on Saturday. I am very fortunate to have such a great team doing the Saturday changeovers.
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Shorefield sometime in the future.
Kindest Regards and Best Wishes
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tburlamaq...
Madrid
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best sunrise ever!”
Reviewed December 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The cottage has all the comfort you can need, very clean and prepared for your stay. But for me the best thing was the amazing view from the living room windows! I woke up every single morning to watch the sun rise over Loch Harport, and it was peaceful and perfect.
Location was perfect - close to the Old Inn and The Oyster Shed, you can't ask for more.
Catherine was a lovely host! Great communication and always making sure we were comfortable with our stay!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Shorefield. I look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Kindest Regards and Best Wishes Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHarrison...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and idyllic location”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful holiday at this fabulously well equipped cottage in Portnalong. Everything we needed for our party of five. Spotlessly clean with high quality bedding and towels. Amazing views over Loch Harport, with the Cuillins in the background. Highly recommended and will be back soon. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the living room/ All mod cons/ Cosy and spotlessly clean
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2016
Thank you very much for your great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Shorefield. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg M
1 review
“comfortable stay on the water's edge”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house had everything we could possibly need and was tastefully decorated. We had a great time. Thanks!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Thank you very much for your great review, Meg. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Shorefield.Kindest regards and best wishes
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
The Portnalong and Fiscavaig properties listed on Tripadvisor/Holiday Letting are advertised under Carbost. I did message you, through TripAdvisor on 27 July 2016, giving clear directions for driving to the cottage, which I stated was located in Portnalong. The message also included additional information for your arrival at the cottage. I did not receive a reply and sent another message on 30 August 2016, giving additional information, including my telephone number and email address. I was surprised when your daughter phoned me from the pub in Carbost, on the date of your arrival, asking if the cottage was in Portnalong, given that I had already furnished this information in the 2 emails already referred to.
I am sorry that you found the fridge freezer too small for your needs. However, there have been 3 quality assurance checks carried out at the cottage over the last 4 years. Each inspection has upheld the cottage's 4 star status. The size of the fridge freezer meets the criteria set by VisitScotland quality assurance for a party of 6 over one to two weeks.
You state that the towels provided were hard and quite grubby. The towels were replaced 2 years ago, and will be replaced again this Winter. All the towels are Christy's, who are renowned for their luxury towels. The towels and all the linen is changed and laundered, by my sister and her team, at each change over. The definition of grubby is dirty or unwashed.The towels provided for your stay at Shorefield were freshly washed and hung out to dry in the Skye fresh air.
I am sorry that you feel the cottage was not worth the money you paid, but the tariffs I charge are reasonable in comparison to similar properties currently being let on the island.
Regards
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
J C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent accommodation with fantastic scenery”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Shorefield is an excellent place to stay for exploring all that Skye has to offer. It has everything you need down to a supply of tea bags! The property had ample space for the two of us and our two small dogs. All amenities were available such as wi-fi and free view channels. Gorgeous outlook from living room that you would never tire of. Superb quality living!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living and outstanding scenery
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Thank you very much you for your fabulous review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Shorefield. My ultimate aim is to provide high quality accommodation for my guests.
Kindest Regards and best Wishes
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing