We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tours, they carefully explain the whisky making process” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talisker Distillery

Talisker Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$317.40*
and up
Private Full Day Tour of Skye and Lochalsh from Kyle of Lochalsh
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Carbost
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Talisker Distillery is the oldest working distillery on the Isle of Skye, set on the shores of Loch Harport in the village of Carbost. Come and visit us for a tour of the Distillery, see our 5 copper pot stills and the traditional worm tubs that make our Talisker so unique, then take a look at the casks in the warehouse where the Angel’s Share is lost to evaporation during maturation. Have a taste of our award winning Talisker Single Malt Scotch Whisky in our Visitor Centre.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tours, they carefully explain the whisky making process”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Isle of Skye is a beautiful place with one distillery - Talisker. I did a few distillery tours whilst in Scotland and the only one that demonstrated and explained the whisky making processes clearly was Talisker. The guide was a serious sort of man who did not attempt to joke around, however, he clearly knew his stuff. He was also happy to answer questions, no matter how ridiculous.

If you go to the Isle of Skye, I recommend dropping in. I think the tour was only 7 pounds and you get a tasting at the end. There is also a decent shopfront.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kym-and-Dan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    386
    181
    47
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
“Lovely visit, after scenic drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a group of 9 of us, and even before we showed up there, the staff were so helpful. We joined Classic Malt Whisky society as friends some time beforehand on recommendation of one of our Scottish friends, http://www.malts.com/index.php/en_gb, and luckily Talisker is one of the 12 distilleries that one can get into for free as a member. I think normal entree fee is £7. The tour was fun, even though there were renovations taking place so access to all areas was not possible, and in the end there was a tasting of the famous Talisker 10yo. The facilities are lovely, and the little journal one gets as a Friend of Single Malts helped those of us who are not whisky connoisseurs. I also liked the shop, the best thing about it was that it has a lot of whiskies, including Talisker at half bottle size, which is great in my case when you want to post them to the other side of the planet, or if you are looking for lovely affordable Christmas presents with Scottish flavour. Really enjoyed the tour, and this beautiful smokey whisky.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
428 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Talisker is at the end of a moderate drive from central Skye, but the journey is worth it. Situated on a beautiful loch under the hill where the distillery still draws its water from, the location is perfect for the whisky that is produced here. The tasting room is lively and informative, and there are plenty of wares from which to select. We took the the tour, and enjoyed it a lot. If you've been on a distillery tour before, a lot of what is presented will be familiar, but having done the Oban Distillery tour a couple of days prior, there were enough differences to keep us interested. Our daughter noted, for example, that Talisker and Oban use different amounts of water and at different temperatures for their mash.

You end the tour with a wee dram, and while there are no photos allowed inside the distillery proper, you are allowed to snap some pictures in the tasting room and in a glass-fronted room facing one of their aging rooms, with some barrels of 1979 whisky maturing in front.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dunadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A corporate tour...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Prior to this vacation, Talisker has been my single malt of choice. I was very much looking forward to the tour. The setting in Carbost is pretty. You walk into the tasting room, and it feels slick and commercial. The information is interesting, but it's quite a contrast to the setting. Our tour guide was pleasant and knowledgeable, but it felt like someone from Diageo Central had handed her a script and said something to the effect of "memorize this and don't dare deviate...". A totally spark-free, humor-limited tour. You do get a small dram of Talisker at the end (clearly the highlight), and I was fascinated to learn that water is surprisingly a challenge despite 14 or so wells. The topsoil is so shallow that it doesn't hold water well - no rain for long enough, and there's no Talisker. So as a tour, it's okay. It should be better. The drive is worth it for Talisker-lovers only, or for people who've come to Scotland and found a way to miss the more interesting distillery tours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NCDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A really informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was interesting, very professionally done, and the tour guide was genuinely knowledgeable. I can thoroughly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtemisBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisker Distillery also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 

Been to Talisker Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing