We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talisker Distillery”

Talisker Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.89*
and up
Full-Day Guided Fairy Pools Tour In Isle of Skye
More Info
$396.88*
and up
Private Full Day Tour of Skye and Lochalsh from Kyle of Lochalsh
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Carbost
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Talisker Distillery is the oldest working distillery on the Isle of Skye, set on the shores of Loch Harport in the village of Carbost. Come and visit us for a tour of the Distillery, see our 5 copper pot stills and the traditional worm tubs that make our Talisker so unique, then take a look at the casks in the warehouse where the Angel’s Share is lost to evaporation during maturation. Have a taste of our award winning Talisker Single Malt Scotch Whisky in our Visitor Centre.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Talisker Distillery”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location at Carbost, Isle of Skye. Very senic and the distillery is full of history and the shop is well stoked with goodies and the tasting room upstairs is very comfortable with sofas and tables etc. the whisky is great too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJanLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    438
    207
    58
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very good 45 minute quided tour with free sample at the end and included in the reasonable admission (£6) was a voucher for £3 off a bottle of whiskey. Guide very knowledgeable and could answer any question. Remote which added to the experience and nice waiting room with toilets but would have been good if there had been some basic facilities eg somewhere to buy a coffee.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good visit”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

For someone who doesn't drink whisky, but being with a group - I went along. I found the talk and the tour surprisingly good and enjoyable. I must be the only person not to have tasted nor to have purchased in the shop - but at least I know how it's made - and what makes it so expensive!
Thanks to our 'host' who made it all so amusing and enjoyable - and - understandable!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bizliz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice tour and explanation”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is a fee, but most of them can be used in the shop afterwards. could ask a lot about the wiskey process and the aswers where very informative.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank daettli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great free testers”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

some great smells, and a little wishing well outside, the staff are very friendley, children under aroun 10 yrs are not permitted on the tour. the whiskey is quite cheap to purchase in the shop .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisker Distillery also viewed

Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 

Been to Talisker Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing