We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away and very unassuming”
Review of The Old Inn

The Old Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Carbost
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tucked away and very unassuming”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a typically rainy day, we needed food (and somewhere dry and warm) - and we 'fell in' to this little place. Once inside it seemed to be more like a tardis and people were sitting everywhere! We never did manage to see out of the windows because of the condensation but just felt fortunate to be in there.
We tucked ourselves around a small table for 4 and ordered what turned out to be the MOST DELICIOUS Scottish beefburger meal (an item of food I am very fussy over).
I would advise people to visit - no matter the number of cars parked or people who seem to be in there - there's bound to be room for you also!
Service was a little slow but considering the number of people eating, I'm not surprised.
The toilets were very adequate and in the Ladies were displayed most beautiful local scenic photographs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bizliz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    238
    51
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location and views.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Popped in for a refreshment and a light bite of lunch after a walk .
Great and friendly welcome, decent menu with great use of very local products.. mussels, scallops and oysters .. a wee bit pricey vor an unplanned lunch but worth it.The bunk houses look to be in great "nick" , ideal for more intrepid travellers than myself.
Very cheery service.

Will definitely return on my next trip to skye.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Friendly and Bustling Pub -- and a Hotel”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Old Inn includes a pub, a restaurant and a hotel, all with incredible views of the loch. The service is friendly, not fancy. We sat in the pub/restaurant for four hours, playing cards, having a couple drinks, then dinner and dessert, and watching the world go by. The food is surprisingly good for such a remote location. The hotel is in an adjacent building. The rooms were clean, reasonably large and had the usual amenities such as coffee and tea. This is not a fancy place by any stretch, but is comfortably, friendly and good value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eastonlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food but also very busy restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food was very nice however we had to wait like 1 hour for the food, it was really busy. The prices are very accessible and you can also count with a typical scottish pub environment

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pub garden ever”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Vistied twice on glorious sunny days and sat in what I can only describe as the most incredible pub garden I have ever been in. Its a tiny garden directly on the edge of the loch! Small and with only four tables and a bench, the views up loch harport with pint in hand is like being in heaven. Choose a sunny day and I challenge you to ever leave!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nightmare196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Inn also viewed

 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing