We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wee Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbost
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Carbost B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Wee Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly locals, friendly staff. Great back lounge room. Tasty pub food. On Friday nights there's live traditional music. on Sundays there's a 3 course roast dinner for under a tenner - very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    80
    31
    22
    7
See reviews for
55
89
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We ended up in her after being at the Talisker distillery. We only stopped for lunch and were not to sure of what to expect. As it turned out the food was of better quality that the famed Stein Inn, the staff were far friendlier and the atmosphere in general more friendly. I would thoroughly recommend the place for food and drinks if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very good place to stay at reasonable cost - the rooms are cosy and comfortable with plenty of toilets/showers and a drying room for all those wet clothes and boots, and everything is spotlessly clean. There is a large, well-equipped kitchen with comfortable seating if you want to self-cater, but the Inn serves very good food at good prices and the staff are very friendly. There's plenty of parking for cars/motorbikes. The view of the loch is lovely, especially early in the morning. Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed late september .. rooms in the lodge overlooking the loch .. great view .. the bars had a rustixc feel to them . great food and service excellent great value recommend to anyone touring the Isle of skye seems to be really popular for walkers

Room Tip: go for one in the lodge away from the main hotle .. quieter !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

2 night loch-side stay in wonderful location for the Cullins. Accommodation is in lodge at side of the inn so not affected by any noise from the inn, Plenty free parking.
Room basic but had everything we wanted and was clean and warm.
Ate at the inn on both nights - food excellent with very good choices, especially sea-food ("lobster and chips" to die for!!). Great entertainment on Saturday night.
Main assets are the extremely friendly and helpfull staff together with great atmosphere in the restaurant/bar.
Will certainly stay again when in that area.

Room Tip: 6 rooms all overlooking the loch - Number 3 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were recommended The Old Inn by the owners of the B&B we stayed at and we have to say we weren't disappointed! We ate there on two different nights and the food was excellent on both nights. The place was always busy, but the staff are friendly and the service is quick. The steaks we had were delicious and cooked just how we asked (something that a lot of other pub chefs should take note of!). There was a good selection of beers, including some excellent local ones. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Basic and tatty rooms but a good location looking out over the water and a short stumble from the Talisker distillery and not too far to drive to walks in the Cuillins. The staff at the Old Inn were all lovely and very helpful, good food and nice cosy pub atmosphere (the best pub we found on Skye).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbost
13.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
10.1 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
25.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sligachan Hotel
Sligachan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sligachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse

Property: The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse
Address: Carbost IV47 8SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Carbost
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Carbost
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Carbost
The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse Carbost, Scotland - Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing