We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbost
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse
Ranked #3 of 10 Carbost B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great location”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were recommended The Old Inn by the owners of the B&B we stayed at and we have to say we weren't disappointed! We ate there on two different nights and the food was excellent on both nights. The place was always busy, but the staff are friendly and the service is quick. The steaks we had were delicious and cooked just how we asked (something that a lot of other pub chefs should take note of!). There was a good selection of beers, including some excellent local ones. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    84
    35
    25
    8
See reviews for
59
96
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Basic and tatty rooms but a good location looking out over the water and a short stumble from the Talisker distillery and not too far to drive to walks in the Cuillins. The staff at the Old Inn were all lovely and very helpful, good food and nice cosy pub atmosphere (the best pub we found on Skye).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A busy bar with happy atmosphere. Staff excellent no waiting to be served despite the thirsty crowds listening to the fidler music. Plenty of parking. Freinds staying in the bunkhouse deemed it adequate

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBadHandsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The old inn is set on the loch side and the views are good from the front of the pub. We thought we'd be in the pub building itself but were in a building with 4 /5 other rooms, whilst no problem we did hear other people coming and going and didn't feel security was that great as the door to the building itself wasn't kept locked although individual rooms locked fine. The matress could do with replacing. A strong disinfectant smell in the bathroom made us wonder if it was hiding anything or that the cleaners were just using it liberally ! A very popular pub but if you were out til late you may not get a space in the car park on your return. The food was a bit on the pricey side we felt, although the meals we bought in the bar were good quality and hot. The breakfast was better one day than the other out of our stay and the less said about the coffee the better ! The dutch couple on the table next to us agreed too ! The staff were friendly, the girl on our first morning serving breakfast could've done with a hand. The breakfast was overpriced if you're calling in for one and not staying there we felt. Nice to visit the area but don't think we'd stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our family of five had the best time in Scotland staying at The Old Inn Bunkhouse.
Even we had messed the booking up, the staff found room for us.
The bunkhouse rooms has a wonderful view overlooking Loch Harport (got several mackerels from the Tallisker pier - they were prepared in the bunkhouse kitchen, steamed in the oven with veggies and served with rice - yummi ! )
Nice food in the restaurant, live music and a lovely atmosphere at the inn. Nice beds and clean everywere. The whole staff made us feel very welcome! A special thanks to Keith the Beard - you got a big heart ! The Old Inn Bunkhouse is a super base if you want to see the magnificent Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Spending a week in Carbost, we decided to try out The Old Inn, it was very busy when we arrived and we were told to take a seat and menu's would be brought. 20 minutes later we had to ask for menu's and were met with a grumpy reply of "I'm busy as I'm on my own", menu variety okay but felt like you were pushed to eat meals from the specials board(which are more expensive). The quality of the food was okay but we have tasted better, we didn't feel that we received good value for money. During the meal a family" don't know whether they were family/ friends of the owner or work there" arrived and had a very loud conversation which included remarks about people from Glasgow having "machine guns and knives" if any of these people are employed by The Old Inn, they have to learn customer service or turn the volume down. The last straw for me was when I was trying to pay the bill, local people were being served before me even though I knew they hadn't. Having worked in the hospitality trade for a number of years, I know what to look out for.
If and when we return to Skye from Glasgow, we will not return to The Old Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were lured by the sign that claimed that this Inn served "award-winning" food. Sadly, unless the award was for 'average food' and 'longest wait time', it did not live up to this claim. The food was passable - we just about cleared our plates but this had a lot more to do with having missed breakfast than the quality of fare on offer. We were also put off by the fact that the poor waitress was run off her feet whilst the barman stood idle - where's the sense of collegiality?! Not all tables were full so I dread to think what this would be like at peak times. I hope that this was just us catching The Old Inn on a bad day given that it is in a beautiful location and has so much potential as an inviting place to stay and eat. However having now read other reviews (which I wish we had done first) it would seem that our experience is all too common.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbost
23.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
10.1 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,037 reviews
15.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
437 reviews
9.7 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
335 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sligachan Hotel
Sligachan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sligachan
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse

Property: The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse
Address: Carbost IV47 8SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Carbost
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Carbost
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Carbost
The Old Inn & Waterfront Bunkhouse Carbost, Scotland - Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing