We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly Disappointed”
Review of La Carabaccia

La Carabaccia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Carabaccia wants to be a new way to experience the restaurant with primary emphasis on the possibility of a relaxing experience. The Restaurant with its 40 seats creates a family atmosphere, a sort of garden in which the client, accompanied by a light background music and surrounded by soft colors and natural, will have the opportunity to spend a pleasant evening. A private dining room will welcome those who want a more intimate location. During the summer you can dine in our garden.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointed”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have eaten at this establishment many times in the past but on my recent visit I was sadly disappointed. Perhaps this is due to the change of ownership. My seafood spaghetti was tasteless and swamped in butter. The service was friendly so I will try the restaurant again and give it a second chance. I really hope I enjoy my next meal here as it used to be one of my favourite places and it was always busy and bustling.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PJW1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Carabaccia, Proprietario at La Carabaccia, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear sirs,
we are sorry that your experience in our restaurant was not to your liking. For over a year we offer our customers dishes cooked using fresh local produce.
We use no butter for preparations but only extra virgin olive oil.
The sauce that comes on your plate of spaghetti sea is due to the starch and the cooked spaghetti in the pan with seafood.
Our choice for the restaurant is quiet and not crowded. For this reason we removed the old management service pizzeria and completely renovated the restaurant.
We will be happy to have you among our customers.
Wish you happy holidays in Tuscany.

Good bye

La Carabaccia staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant with a varied menu”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

It's strange staying in Tuscany in August - most places are closed for the month so it was great to find a restaurant actually open!

This seems to be a family orientated place, with welcoming staff and a great choice on the menu. Fish of the day was sea bass and I got a very generous portion with a vegetable souffle on the side.

Pizzas were lovely and the pasta good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BerkshireEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carabaccia also viewed

Casciana Terme, Casciana Terme Lari
Perignano, Casciana Terme Lari
Casciana Terme, Casciana Terme Lari
Chianni, Province of Pisa
Casciana Terme, Casciana Terme Lari
Casciana Terme Lari, Province of Pisa

Been to La Carabaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing