We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience we ever had on vacation!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carunchio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Tour d'Eau - Abruzzo Cibus
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carunchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

An unbelievable experience for my wife and I. This is truly an experience of a lifetime. You will wish your time there was longer. The cooking classes are great fun, the tours exciting and interesting. Hunting for truffles, the bell foundry for the Vatican, the trabocco fishing house, Vasto, and the great sunsets from the Palazzo. But the best part is Massimo, Dino, Cheryle, Mattias and the entire staff at the Palazzo. You feel and are treated like family. Great food, new friends and wine! Do not let this great travel experience pass you by. Bob & Mary Ann Trenton, NJ.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view! You will not be disappointed if you are on the second floor. We had a c...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rhowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Tour d'Eau - Abruzzo Cibus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was an awesome honeymoon (private room and alone time) plus a great cooking vacation (made new friends and ate/drank very well). Massimo and everyone at the Palazzo were very gracious...treating everyone In our group like family. We went on fun excursions!!! We highly recommend this vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LVTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Talk about luck when I found this offer of a week in the Abruzzo Province in Carunchio, Italy at the Palazzo Tour d'Eau. Since one of my long time goals has been to eat and drink my way across Italy, I never dreamed that I could find it all in one incredible place. From the moment we got off the bus at the Palazzo Tour d'Eau, everyone in our group was welcomed and made comfortable by the most gracious host and staff in all of Italy as honored guests and family. We were greeted by Massimo, our host and his staff, and after the awe of being is such a beautiful place, we all began to feel at home The Palazzo, a beautiful renovated palace, located at the highest point in Carunchio, overlooks a sparkly vista from all sides and on a clear day, you can almost see the Eastern Adriatic Sea.
Then the experience began with a huge welcome feast that featured simple and elegant foods from the region made from the freshest ingredients. As we learned with each meal, steadily more delicious and attractive than the last, our chef, Dino, is a true genius in the kitchen. Every menu featured local ingredients and recipes from the Abruzzo area with a touch of real elegance. The cooking classes presented in a beautifully decorated kitchen were wonderfully orchestrated so everyone could participate. As a Culinary Teacher, I saw that the mis en place for the classes was so organized, that everyone could learn and enjoy the experience. I certainly learned a lot of ideas and tips that I have brought home to use in my own kitchen.
Food was only a part of the experience since Massimo planned wonderful excursions for us to experience the culture and history of the area. Presentations about olives, wine, cheese on our field trips really captivated my attention and increased my knowledge. The trip to the Official Bell Foundry for the Vatican in Agone was another interesting experience. Since everything was part of the package, we did not have to worry about food, transportation, or any of the other annoying details that I have found to be part of travel especially when it takes you far from home.
The days were paced so well that one activity flowed into the other without stress for us, leaving opportunities for socializing and absorbing the Italian lifestyle. I sure enjoyed that nice break in the afternoon for a rest. The week was over too soon and we had to say "Good Bye" but now my goal is to return for Abruzzo 2, to see what else Massimo will plan for us to do. I can only recommend that you come and experience it all for yourself.

Room Tip: They are great. Very simple with wonderful comfortable beds and plenty of hot water.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FrancesFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We chose to spend a week-long cooking adventure at Palazzo Tour d'Eau primarily because of the excellent reviews, and we weren't disappointed! Massimo has impeccably planned a well balanced week of wonderful meals, hands-on cooking classes, and excursions in the Italian countryside, and is the perfect host! He has a passion for what he does, and keeps everyone happy and entertained. The Palazzo is rustic and lovely, and the views are breathtaking. All the meals were wonderful, and made with fresh local ingredients. Chefs Dino and Cheryl are great teachers and made all the classes fun. Antonio, Mattias, and the whole staff are so friendly and accommodating. The excursions were amazing as well, especially the Trabocco Fishing house and truffle hunting. We were made to feel like guests of the family and it was truly an unforgettable experience that we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

As I planned my trip, I read many reviews; some of which seemed like a bit of a stretch. I could not imagine this place could live up to my expectations. Well let me assure you that spending a week at the Pallazzo tour d"Eau was the best vacation I have ever had!!. Christina and her amazing staff (Chef Dino, Antonio, and The David) ensure your stay could not be perfect. Their love of their Country, this region, its cuisine, and people are obvious in everything they do. They welcome you as family and it shows. Our entire week was perfectly planned down to the last detail. The cooking classes were fun and very interactive, the day trips were very interesting and a great opportunity to pick up some things to bring home (at great prices). I cannot say enough about the food; every bite was memorable. My mother and I are planning a mini cooking class for our family on Christmas Eve. We will share the things we learned and the items we brought back to cook with; I assure you it will be amazing! I am trying to figure out when I can return for the more advanced course and another week of bliss!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank De66ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My expectations were vastly exceeded on this trip! Massimo is an impeccable host and the staff are wonderful! From the moment we arrived we were pampered and fed. The excursions were all fun and educational...Antonio is an amazing tour guide, and adorable! The food we were served and the food we learned to make at the Palazzo was all amazing! Dino is a fabulous chef and teacher. Some of the best meals I have ever had...ever! We were a group of 21 from all over the United States. We have come away as friends, having dined, cooked and toured together. It was a wonderful week!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa41362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I attended a week-long cooking school (Abruzzo Cibus) at the Palazzo Tour D'Eau in October. I was eager to see a region of Italy I had not been to before and a cooking school vacation was just the experience I was looking for.

The Palazzo is beautifully restored and the views are incredible, it was like living in a postcard for a week. The room was very comfortable. The staff are friendly, fun, and accommodating to the guests.

The cooking lessons were perfect for me, as I'm a beginner cook. Chef Dino's food is fantastic and the ingredients are local, local, local!

The day trips to Vasto and Agnone were two favorite days during the week, both are definitely a slice of real Italian life.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LowCountryIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carunchio
15.3 mi away
Domus Hotel
Domus Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bagnoli del Trigno
221 reviews
14.3 mi away
Gabri Park Hotel
Gabri Park Hotel
#1 of 7 in San Salvo
185 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Castello di Septe
Hotel Castello di Septe
#1 of 1 in Mozzagrogna
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel del Camerlengo
Hotel del Camerlengo
#1 of 1 in Fara San Martino
257 reviews
16.9 mi away
Masseria Grande
Masseria Grande
#1 of 1 in Montecilfone
116 reviews
23.2 mi away
Garni Il Riccio
Garni Il Riccio
#1 of 25 in Roccaraso
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tour d'Eau - Abruzzo Cibus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tour d'Eau - Abruzzo Cibus

Address: Via Monte 8, 66050 Carunchio, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Carunchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carunchio
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a new kind of holiday? Are you considering culinary travel? Why not explore the rich history, natural beauty, and culinary delights of the most authentic and captivating region in central Italy? Enjoy a relaxing gourmet vacation experience in a beautiful destination! Savor the wine and cuisine of the Adriatic side of the Mediterranean! In our opinion, the best way to discover a region is through food. That is why we created the Abruzzo Cibus Culinary Tours. Cibus in latin means food. Our goal is to show people why Abruzzo is one of the world's finest foodie destinations! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Tour D'Eau - Abruzzo Cibus Carunchio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing