We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Castle, Food and Service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carimate
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magnificent Castle, Food and Service!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We were celebrating some special birthdays and chose the castello di carimate as it offered us something a bit special and unique to celebrate the occasion, and it did not disappoint! The feeling when you walk up to reception is unique. On the first evening we had food and wine in the fabulous restaurant and then some cocktails in the bar across the road. On the second day we went for a walk in the grounds and then to sit at the swimming pool in the golf resort, it was costly for what they offered at 20 euro, we headed back to use the spa facilities and receive a massage, the spa is fantastic and the massage is brilliant, then we had a fabulous meal and more cocktails. On the Sunday we organised a taxi into lake como and spent a fabulous day touring the lake then back for dinner in the hotel, the service through dinner is exceptional! On the Monday we used the goa facilities before leaving. The rooms and the venue are brilliant showing the beauty of the castle. We did have a problem with one of our doors which was quickly rectified. The food was amazing and buffet breakfast outside was just enough to set you up for the day. The spa was excellent. I would definitely recommend a stay at the castello di carimate, we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    86
    31
    18
    6
See reviews for
15
182
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

For a recent weekend trip we used search engines to filter out a Hotel with (!) an outdoor pool. Although the pool is not far away, the fact is that the Hotel does not have a pool and even 3 year old kids are charged 15E/day. That makes a family pool affair a Euro 45 idea, very unexpected cost for a castle with a pool.
Internet access at 10E a day will not work in your room, at least not if you booked the Grand suites as the wall are too thick or the wireless device too weak. It will keep yourself running to the hallways to surf or send emails, and back to the room if you wish to write something.
Breakfast is not 'castlelike' , rather without immagination and below anything you would expect.
The Hotel had stated on their reservation form that babies need to pay for the babybed but i had not taken that serious as no Hotel in the world charges for 1 month old baby. To my surprise it was true and we did have to pay E25 on top of the E200 suite. Very forthcoming and customer friendly.
The castle is beautiful from outside, public rooms in decorative inner walls, furniture has not been upgraded since the Hotel opened in the 90'. Service was kind, yet not more than that.
In case you end up having dinner at the Hotel you are looking at E300 a night experience and they are far from providing value for price. If you have the Suite 112 on a weekend you are likely to experience an Italian wedding just outside your window with the obvious collateral impact.
Upon complaining with booking.com that has been very helpful and supportive with the fact that the pool was not stated as additional cost, the Hotel refuses to acknoledge and refund the price. Overall they can't be doing well as the impression is that they are barely surviving. Bring your money elsewhere is our advise.

Room Tip: Room 112 is huge, albeit the decor and furniture is not castle like and somehow doesn't match an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UdoHamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel as everything it lists it has it hasn't, we wanted a hotel with an outdoor pool which it states it has, it doesn't have an outdoor pool it's next door golf clubs pool and you have to pay 15euros each to enter each day. It states it has a spa which it has but you have to pay an extra 30 euros each to enter to spa area. The list goes on, no tennis, no aircon etc.
The hotel s also miles from anywhere a good 20 minute drive to the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello Carima... A, Direttore generale at Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Esteemed Client, we are very unhappy for your disappointment. Nevertheless let us please say that the Golf Pool is less than 100 yards away from the hotel through our meadow. The text you read did not specify that you have to pay a fee (this applies also to our SPA): we have amended it. We have also asked the Golf Club a reduction on the fee for our clients. Let us please say that we propose special offers that include access to our spa in the room rate. We would like to remind you that 3 tennis courts are available at the Golf Club. All our rooms have air conditioning. We are always pleased to change our clients’ room in case air-cond does not work properly. As far as our geographical position is concerned, there is nothing we can do about it. However, we never say that we are on the lake side. It would not be honest.

Enrico Aramini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

First time in Northern Italy region to explore the Lakes and Milan. this hotel is excellent. Old castle and original rooms to go with it. New part as well but we were pleased they placed us in the older castle part. Room size and bathroom very pleasing, as Europe is generally offers smaller accommodations. Buffet breakfast every morning was plentiful and fresh although repetitive, meats, cheese, yoghurt, fruit, fresh pastry, toast and boiled eggs. Excellent restaurant on site but expensive, but on holiday treat yourself!! 1km from train station and very close to A9/A8 autostrade for reaching Como, Bellagio, Verese, Verona, Bergamo, Garda, and Venice (if you want a good car trip). Would recommend to friends if they were first time in the area, but for ourselves knowing what we know now, we would prefer to be closer to the Lakes, as this is a bit off the beaten track, but not unmanageable. Wonderful food, wonderful weather, good people - give it a go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndamacIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We really wanted to love this place, and still do the idea. It is a castle after all. The rooms are huge with high ceilings, the drive up spectacular, and the surrounding village quaint.

But, as with the 1 review here already, the AC did not work. The room never got below 26 all night long, on a day that was barely that hot at noon.

On the plus side (?) when we called at 11pm the reception guy made us think that the “computer needed to be set-up” and thus we thought this might solve the problem. At 1am, in a sweat and a degree hotter, we called down and he “turned on another room” from the computer and would call us back if it came down from 30 degrees, which he could read it was when we called. He rang back in ½ hour and said it had come down to 27, so we moved over wrapped in towels and groggy eyed. It never got below 27.7 in this room, so a few hours later we went back to the 26.5 room. A nightmare would have been better, because at least then we would have been asleep!

In the morning, we wanted out of the remaining night, and a refund for at least that night. They refused for several hours, showing us other rooms that were all hotter.

By the way, all the rooms were really nice.

Dean gives it a 1, Laura a 3 for effort (they were really very nice, and ultimately did give us a refund, so we averaged to 2.) Dean was even more upset by the faux “help”, which he must have known was a ruse and would not work. When asked directly if the AC in the rooms EVER worked, the attendant would never answer; so the feeling was he was just wasting our time. Laura’s view is he did offer us another room in the middle of the night and was professional throughout while we were pretty grumpy, so this counts for something.

We asked a worker in the hallway in French if the AC ever worked in the hotel, and he confided: “It never gets below 23 even on the best days.” For a sunny day that’s fine, but to sleep in consider your tolerance before making a booking.

Another problem worth mentioning is the 10EU per day internet charge, and that it took 1-5 minutes to load simple pages like Google. Basically a frustrating waste of time.

In summary, how can a hotel be 4 stars WITHOUT air conditioning?

This is a hotel with a lot of promise and a lack of follow through. For the price of a few of the expensive chairs in the multiple spectacular lobbies, couldn’t they install a working AC system?

Room Tip: Don't go in summer unless you can sleep in the high 20 degrees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was our 4th hotel in our italy trip and the least favorite. although the castle is beautiful it does not look like in the photos including the rooms which are basic without even a spare plug for electricity. The only hotel we had to pay for wifi 10(!) euro. it says hotel with golf and spa but it is closed until next month and you need to pay extra for it even tennis court and pool. honestly, dont go there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lyadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico A, Direttore generale at Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Esteemed guest, we are very sensitive towards our clients’ satisfaction, and your review leaves us very frustrated. Please consider the following circumstances: not all our rooms have been refurbished yet, owing to the deep crisis that has hit Europe for the past four years. Yet all the rooms have a courtesy plug for appliances, on top of the desk. We have basic rooms, like the one you chose for your stay, and very classy fully renovated rooms: both old style and modern, which include unlimited Wi-Fi high speed access in the daily rate. Of course rates are different. 18 holes scenic Carimate Golf Club is 100 yards away from reception and can be reached in 1 minute walk through our park. Our clients have a private entrance to the Club. Yes, our spa was closed for a few days, we had a leak in our fitness pool and we had workers for reparation. We are sorry for the inconvenience. Tennis courts and swimming-pool belong to the Golf Club and for this reason our clients, who are not members, must pay an entrance fee. Nevertheless, we tried to keep it very cheap: € 10 for a full day at their pool, which is really magnificent, and € 10 for one hour of tennis court, which makes it € 5 per person. This money goes entirely to the Golf Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The historic environment was definetely lovely, but they could definetely improve on the atmosphere. Just having a lovely building does not make it a special hotel.
Even though our room was located in between the lift and the gallery door which leads to the other rooms, it was quiet, which really surprised us. Breakfast was an average affair, but satisfactory. The spa is definetely overpriced - was a bit surprised that the hotel guests had to pay 30 Euros entrance fee to it at all - but is well-kept and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMaryMontagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carimate
7.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Di Casiglio
1.2 mi away
Blu9 Hotel
Blu9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Novedrate
23 reviews
5.7 mi away
Albergo dei Laghi
Albergo dei Laghi
#1 of 1 in Turate
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Arosio Hotel
Arosio Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arosio
76 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Parco Borromeo
Hotel Parco Borromeo
#1 of 2 in Cesano Maderno
137 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Canturio
Hotel Canturio
#2 of 2 in Cantu
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa

Property: Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza Castello 1, 22060 Carimate, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Carimate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carimate
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Hotel Carimate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing