We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great service, dated rooms.”
Review of Thumrin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thumrin Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Trang
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, room can be nicer. Service was great. But the bathroom shower was broken and pours water out to the floor whenever you switch on the the shower. Simple, ok value, relatively clean hotel. Oh, the aircon didn't work too well but it's alrite for me that time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sekzchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Thumrin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

The location is good, located in central Trang. Many restaurants in the vicinity. Close to the tourist agencies for going to surrounding islands and attractions.
Breakfast was included but was very simple and not recommended to pay much extra for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

the thumrin is well located next to the train station. rooms are well appointed and clean. staff is friendly but not too much english is spoken there. make sure to go to the weekend mnight market just down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beesker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Pros
- Wall and furniture repainted but some appliances are still old.
- No carpet - which is good. Bed, towels and bathroom are clean as well.
- Good location, close to train station
- Easy to find breakfast, lunch and dinner in walking proximity
- Hawker food at train station on the weekend
- 7-11 (24 hrs convenient store) on the opposite corner
- Value for money

Cons
- Out dated design
- Need a big renovation, not just repaint the room.
- Transportation to air port is not free anymore (90 thb per trip). I was here 3 years ago and it was free.
- If you got the room on 5th floor or lower, your view might be blocked by the buildings beside the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Songpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Ok, so Trang's not the kind of place to go on holiday, but Thumrin was a decent place to stay in whilst in transit. It was cheap (800 Baht per night), comfortable, clean and reasonably well located. The staff were nice and the wifi was the quickest in Thailand. The rooms have coffee and tea making facilities and were quiet at night (unusual in Asia).

It's not going to blow you away but it's a very good option to stay in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

location is good near trang railway station...there have nite market on weekends...for muslim traveller halal food available nearby...only dislike inside room furniture already tired...time for change...everything start dropping it seems...overall a good stopover stay in a budget friendly hotel

Room Tip: no tips unless they refurbish the rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tank_khoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Thumrin Hotel looks deceptively modern and new from the outside, but is rather dull and dated (or perhaps just cheaply done). But having said that I don't expect luxury or atmosphere in such a small city as Trang, especially as this seems like a bit of a business hotel. For a one night stopover (or slightly longer) it's perfectly fine. In this part of the country accommodation gets a lot more basic and you've got to go with the flow.

There was a gecko in my bathroom on arrival but I'm used to them in SE Asia and the room was otherwise perfectly clean.

The two negative things were that I could smell the smoke from previous occupants in the room. The air conditioning is also very loud, I don't usually mind, but it makes the walls and windows vibrate and sounds like a helicopter or truck is driving through.

Free WIFI is available in the reception area of the hotel which has some large, clean faux-leather sofas to chill out on and check emails. But it is true that the entrance and reception area smells rather odd. I could also get a WIFI signal from my fourth floor room. The TV has local and international news channels and there are also coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

I didn't book an airport transfer to the hotel, but when my plane landed at 7pm there was a member of staff waiting in arrivals for other guests and she let me join the minibus transfer direct to the hotel at no cost which was very helpful.

Would I stay here again? not sure, perhaps if I were too lazy to look elsewhere. The big plus point is its central location.

Don't set your expectations too high and it's good enough for a stopover.

LOCAL INFO:

The location of the hotel is very central and only a matter of metres from the railway station. On the street around the hotel are numerous travel agencies which you can book tours with.

The staff at BB Tours, directly across the road were extremely kind and helpful and arranged a minivan and boat transfer to Koh Muk for 350 baht.

Trang is very mellow compared to Chiang Mai or Chiang Rai, which is nice. Aside from the tour companies it seems more catered towards locals rather than tourists and I didn't see a single souvenir shop while wandering around looking for somewhere to buy a hat (

All the shops seem to shut at about 8pm but the 711 across the road was open later. There was a little night market in front of the railway station the night I arrived (a Wednesday) which was nice to wander through. Locals were enjoying some clothing bargains and street food. This is a city that would be pleasant enough to stay for a day or two, not sure if there is much to do though.

Post office and plenty of ATMs and a Siam Commercial Bank all within 50m of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MissNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trang hotels
0.3 mi away
Thumrin Thana Hotel
Thumrin Thana Hotel
#4 of 16 in Trang
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison de Cheer
Maison de Cheer
#3 of 16 in Trang
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wattana Park Hotel
Wattana Park Hotel
#8 of 16 in Trang
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rua Rasada Hotel & Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Trang Hotel
Trang Hotel
#11 of 16 in Trang
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wattana Hotel
Wattana Hotel
#7 of 16 in Trang
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thumrin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thumrin Hotel

Address: 99 Sathanee Road | Tumbol Tubtiang, Amphur Mung, Trang 92000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Trang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Trang
Price Range: $16 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thumrin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thumrin Hotel, a friendly place with the cozy atmosphere of Trang town, is only 5 minutes walk from Trang Train station. The hotel is right in the heart of business area full of travel agencies, local restaurants, and Trang's famous market. Our rooms are clean and comfortable, newly refurbished rooms available. Other facilities include restaurant and cafe, wi-fi access, airport transfer, and tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thumrin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing