We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not hygienic. Beware of cockroach.”
Review of Thumrin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thumrin Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Trang
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location but not hygienic. Beware of cockroach.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a night. Overall room condition was very poor but the price was also low. At 4pm, my husband was awake as he felt cockroach climbing over his body. It was very scary . Luckily it was a twin room so we was able to move to another bed.

In the morning, we mentioned this to the front. The lady was quite ignorant and said she would tell the housekeeper. It was the 2nd disappointment. When we checked out, I asked for the the complaint paper, the front said they didn't have one here. It was available only in the guest rooms. At the end, I had to write a complaint letter on a piece of paper. Not only feel bad about the attitude of the hotel staffs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mai_Passara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
20
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were looking for a one night stay in Trang.On entering the foyer it looked and felt really dated.but i thought i will give it a chance so asked to look at a room.On inspection of the rooms and corridors my wife and i walked straight out of the hotel, would not stay there even if it was free.Walked around the corner and found a lovely Thai hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank hullbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trang hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The location is perfect. Sitting very close to train station and those tour agencies to various islands. Very easy to find good breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the walking proximity. Apart from that, the hotel also gives free transportation from/to Trang airport.

However, the hotel does need a big renovation. Start from the lobby, it's like turning back to 30 years ago. Then the big negative point is its room. I've got the room at the corner in which the view outside is nice. But inside the room is NOT. Furnitures inside are old. There's also a lot of dust in the window rails. Blanket's also got some tear and spots. The bedsheet does not cover the full length of the double bed. There're only 2 light bulbs in the room and surely that's not enough for reading at night. Bathroom is adequate. Wall paint is also old.

Hotel staffs are nice and helpful. I like Thumrin service quality and great location. But I'll go back there again only if the owner gives the hotel a big renovation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satun, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My second stay here, which would make you think I had a spectacular experience the first time but not really. Both times I showed up late at night, looking for a cheap place near the train station. Looking better from the outside than it does inside, this facility is older than Trang itself and the rooms smell like mold and alcohol. Rooms do have air-con, don't think there was free wifi and the television programming offered little for falangs. After checking in we found some potentially more promising places to stay down around Wunderbar that could possibly be cheaper. That's what I'd recommend doing, and that's what I will do next time.

Room Tip: Want a good hotel room? Go to Krabi or Phuket
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sens4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombok, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

i was on my trip back from phuket and thought that i'll stop by in Trang before continuing my trip. That was a bad choice as the hotel was really average..
The reception area has a funny bad smell. The sofa was dirty and i don't feel like i want to sit there even when i felt flat! There's a computer at the reception and they charge you for that!
There's no phone in the room so when they gave me a twin bed which i rejected as i asked for single, i have to walk all the way down to reception and up again to my requested room..
The room has the funny smell too but once the air condition is on, luckily the bad smell too!
the shower room was really poor! i have to switch off the light whenever i visit there!
The breakfast was average, toast, omelet and coffee.
It's quite expensive considering that the hotel was old and has no facilities at all..
I was out walking about most of the time and only return back to the hotel for shower and sleep.
However the hotel is just 5 minutes away by walk to the Trang Railway station. And nearby was local food vendor where i spent most of my time after walking about the shopping area.
Get yourself a chicken barbecue with chang beer before you go back to the hotel, that'll calm you down..
Ge

Room Tip: make sure the air condition in your room works. That's a big help to reduce the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rk-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stay for 1 night for business

Although it is only 600 Bath per night, this hotel should be avoided. The hotel is very old. Room is small, and bathroom has bad smell

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Tired from a motorcycle ride all the way from Singapore, my friends, partner, and I decided to look around and settle at any decent and affordable motel/hotel.

We saw Thumrin Hotel, which looked pretty classy as compared to the shophouses and buildings in Trang. Furthermore, there was a banner that state "From 490 THB" and so we decided to try it out.

When we entered, it was totally unlike its exteriors. The paint from the walls were chipping off, and in fact most of the paint has faded. You can even see some of the plaster peeling of from the walls.

Moving on the rooms, the carpet was dirty and dusty, so much so that I even told my partner not to step on the floor with his bare feet. Beds were hard (though decently clean).

All in all, it was an uncomfortable experience. I'll definitely not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracemagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThumrinManagement, Owner at Thumrin Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
We are truly sorry for your experience. Thumrin hotel is now under refurbishment. The first 19 rooms have been completely refurbished and the lobby area has already been re-painted. We do appreciate your review and will try our best to keep the hotel in better condition. Please feel free to contact us through reservation_t1@thumrin.co.th if you have any plans to visit Trang again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trang hotels
0.3 mi away
Thumrin Thana Hotel
Thumrin Thana Hotel
#5 of 16 in Trang
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison de Cheer
Maison de Cheer
#3 of 16 in Trang
43 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rua Rasada Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trang Hotel
Trang Hotel
#11 of 16 in Trang
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wattana Park Hotel
Wattana Park Hotel
#8 of 16 in Trang
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rua Rasada Budget Hotel
Rua Rasada Budget Hotel
#10 of 16 in Trang
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thumrin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thumrin Hotel

Property: Thumrin Hotel
Address: 99 Sathanee Road | Tumbol Tubtiang, Amphur Mung, Trang 92000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Trang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thumrin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thumrin Hotel, a friendly place with the cozy atmosphere of Trang town, is only 5 minutes walk from Trang Train station. The hotel is right in the heart of business area full of travel agencies, local restaurants, and Trang's famous market. Our rooms are clean and comfortable, newly refurbished rooms available. Other facilities include restaurant and cafe, wi-fi access, airport transfer, and tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thumrin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing