We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
134
138
63
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
134
138
63
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn liver the pub at reasonable prices bar menu sparkling water bottle of red wine bar area pudding booked a table lamb fantastic food staff were attentive only criticism double bed main course lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 399 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

First visit here and it won't be the last! Service was great, good wine selection and buzzing atmosphere. Food was amazing, best Sunday lunch we have had by far. Beef was perfectly cooked, giant Yorkshire puddings and crispy melt in the mouth roasties, gravy was absolutely delicious! Very reasonable prices for the standard of food and service will be back for more.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Danielsimpson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you so much for this review Daniel, great to hear and hope to see you again soon. Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here a number of times over the years, but won't be in a hurry to return, the fish dish was swimming in molten butter 2 or 3 mm deep,the veg had to be dried off on a napkin, my lamb was rare and tasteless and the portions were small, well overpriced at £13 each, had many a pub lunch far superior to this and for much less. Other diners seemed to be getting much bigger meals than ours, but didn't see an option on the menu offering different size meals, could it be they look after their regulars better than occasional customers?

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Ian, I was honestly just talking to a colleague about how great our Sunday lunches are and then your review came in! I am really sorry that your experience was not as usual or as expected. We will obviously discuss and address your points as well as speak to the butcher about the lamb and thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We hope that you allow us to improve and look forward to seeing you again. Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Booked Dinner, B & B on a deal that was available to the end of February 2019. Room was clean, well appointed and warm. Double bed was a bit on the small side. Tea and coffee was available at a service point in the corridor. I thought that dinner would be in the restaurant but it was served in the public bar which was busy and noisy as is the norm. Slightly disappointed with that aspect of our stay.
Staff were friendly and service was pleasant and efficient.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegardner41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Thank you for taking the time for this review and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Angel and, as usual, it did not disappoint. The liver (one of the day's specials) was cooked perfectly and the smoked bacon underneath it was the best I have ever tasted. The mashed potato was lovely and the greens were cooked well. My wife commented on how much she enjoyed her fish and chips.
The beer was on great form. There was plenty of choice and it was a pity I was driving as there were a few beers I would have liked to sample.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar area, which was very pleasant.
Parking in Corbridge can be difficult at times but there is a large, free, car park on the south side of the river just over the bridge and the pub is less than 5 minutes walk from here.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Anglingfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Thank you so much for this lovely review and hope to see you soon for your fourth visit! Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

Visited for lunch on a Monday and first to arrive. Given menus and was immediately a bit disappointed by the choices - normal pub grub, sausages, burgers, fish and chips. Not given any 'Specials' to choose from so plumped for chicken breast and confit pork. Both were nice quality and well cooked but really a bit bland, and nothing stood out about the meal at all. Later discovered that there were 'Specials' including Lambs' Liver , a favourite, and Smoked Haddock, another favourite. Too late for us though and wish we had been given these options on arrival. Maybe we were just too quick off the mark.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Sorry Sue, it doesn't look as though we were on the ball and I would be equally frustrated and I will discuss this honest review in about 45 minutes with the management team nd ensure we don't experience the Monday blues again. Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews