We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
134
138
63
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
134
138
63
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn liver the pub at reasonable prices bar menu sparkling water bottle of red wine bar area pudding booked a table lamb fantastic food staff were attentive only criticism double bed main course lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 399 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch there was four at our party we all ordered the Sunday lunch which was extremely dissapointing, the meat portion is minimal, I ordered lamb half of the serving was fat, boiled potatoes were hard also the broccoli, cabbage was soggy and there was smear of swede at the bottom of the plate.
Service was mediocre asked for mint sauce it did not arrive had to ask again, all of this for a healthy thirteen pounds per meal, I would not recommend this restaurant extremely poor

Mrs. Thompson

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

It is very unfortunate that you felt this way as we very proud of our Sunday roasts and get very good feedback consistently relating to our Sunday offering. Our prices are fair as our meats are bought in locally and everything is homemade on site, inevitably this does mean we are unable to charge £6-£10 that we could if everything was bought in pre sliced. Our lamb is farmed at South Dissington in Ponteland, so very local, well reared and fully traceable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Our one night in Corbridge during our Hadrian's Wall bike trip was just fine. The room itself was tight. There was only a two foot space around the perimeter of the bed BUT the bathroom was nice and spacious. Great size shower decent selection of tv channels (no Sports again!). As this is an older building there was a significant squeak in the floor and crack in the bathroom floor tiles, not the room was clean enough so no concerns. We could hear voices from the next room.

Breakfast was fine, limited for Celiacs but still enough to eat. It's made to order from a menu so nice selection.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CharleneY04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback Charlene :) I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Angel and hope you enjoyed seeing Hadrian's Wall.

We do have various options of bedrooms which all have different offerings, some are larger, with a smaller bathroom (room 6) whereas some are a bit smaller with a large bathroom. We have reduced the rate of the smaller rooms to reflect the difference, and we do have an amazing apartment as well for those who would like a living area as well as their bedrooms and large bathrooms. So plenty of options for all :)

We do our best to meet all dietary requirements, and will always do our best if there isn't something suitable on the menu that you like to produce something.

I am sure there is plenty more of the wall and Northumbrian countryside to explore so it would be great to see you back at The Angel very soon. There are some really great cycle routes in the region, including C2C, coast and castles, Pennine Way and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Decided to try lunch at the angel advitised at £10-00 for two courses and £13-00 for 3 course.in the barn restaurant.arrived at hotel no direction to barn restaurant? Went in bar had drinks noticed barn menu on blackboard.asked waiter for lunch menu he said only served in barn restaurant? Escorted us to restaurant .a well presented room with a friendly waitress.no one else in restaurant? Ordered the two course meal wife had soup then the pork.i had goats cheese then the mackerel.both dishes excellent and we'll presented.we decided to have deserts.again excellent. Will go again after discovering restaurant .it needs more advitising in front of hotel then surely more people will use it.a Good lunch and good experience.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank beaushildon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and review, we will certainly take this on board.

We are certainly looking into some additional/ better signage to the restaurant; we do have signs but there are so many entrances to the building itself, it is difficult to ensure they are visible to all customers. We did also have tent cards on the tables in the bar to ensure our customers knew about the Barn Lunch, and are hoping to get these reprinted shortly too.

As you mention, it is a really great offer especially for the dishes that our chefs put on their which are often taken from our main menu or are trial dishes and specials, not the usual dishes you would see on an 'offer' menu.

The Barn menu changes frequently, so do make sure to come back and try some more dishes... Throughout December we will also be adding some festive dishes to this menu so our customers can enjoy a great christmas dinner for this great price :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

We spent one night here on our Hadrian's Wall walk. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable except for stained carpeting. Our room overlooked the front entrance and with a warm night, we had some noise and smoke from those sitting outside. The pub/restaurant was good for both dinner and breakfast. We would have enjoyed another night here as it seemed a great location to visit the town and its center.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IslandGuy376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback, I will certainly look in to those comments mentioned. We are about to undergo some building work and are hoping to get that carpet professionally cleaned once that is complete.

It is definitely worth returning to explore the town, it has some lovely shops to wander around and beautiful walks by the river and up to Aydon Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Stay here often as I have family nearby, friendly staff and very clean comfortable rooms the bar food is also good . Can not comment on the restaurant as have never eaten there, the breakfast is on the whole fine,but I would love a nice strong espresso in the morning to fire me up rather than a filter coffee which is abit bland.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enduroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoy your visits to The Angel :)

You must take advantage of you free coffee delivered to your room on arrival so you can enjoy one of our proper coffees in the comfort of your room :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews