We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & excellent location”
Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly & excellent location”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Excellent location for the town centre with it's own private parking. The staff were welcoming and the cooked breakfast good, if a little haphazard in the service. A selection of fresh fruit would have been a welcome addition to this. The room was clean & the finish in our bathrooms good. However, ensuring maintenance was attended to and a small increase in comfort ( mattress), plus a move to add more character to the public areas, would have made the Wheatsheaf a very good, as oppose to just a good place to stay.
Corbridge itself was enchanting, with a selection of quality independent shops, good places to eat, and interesting and attractive buildings.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 & 5 if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
20
103
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We'd pedaled 30+ miles in sleet, hail, rain, wind and sunshine to get to The Wheatsheaf - and we weren't disappointed!

Staff were very friendly and helpful. They took our bags for us and helped us garage our bikes for the night.

The room was of excellent quality in all respects - spacious, bright (very often these days, hotel rooms are so dim you can't read or even see into corners!), sweet-smelling, modern furniture, gorgeous bathroom and well equipped with tea, coffee etc and toiletries for washing.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon at the end of a very busy carvery service but the staff were still very attentive to us and, because the hotel didn't do food on Sunday nights, they pointed us in the right direction (The Black Bull - great food & service too!) to replenish our calories.

After a cosy night's sleep the breakfast set us up for another 30+ miles!

My husband was very impressed with the ales on offer that night too! All this for less than £40 each.

Do yourself a favour - if you are looking for a place to stay in Corbridge (a great village that is everything a village should be), get yourself along to the Wheatsheaf for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We called in on a sunny Saturday afternoon and sat in the dining room. It was so nice outside that we decided to move tables and sit in the sun. I had the sirloin and my partner had the gammon. Both were very tasty and well prepared. We have previously enjoyed the Sunday Carvery and that too was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Excellent carvery, service and value for money. I would definitely eat there again ands relatives who live within a few miles would also return and bring friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I didnt stay at this Hotel but called in to use the resturant. It was a quiet night so even though we booked there were plenty of free tables. The staff are everso helpful and friendly. We all had wonderful meals in a warm friendly atmosphere. Great night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimm_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I needed to stay in Corbridge on business. Having never been to the area before, I used Trip Advisor to help in selecting a good place to stay. Read the reviews and then called the Wheatsheaf to book for a one night stay.

On arrival, noted the large private carpark (security barrier) and received a warm welcome. Room was a good size and recently refurbished to a very good standard. Had an evening meal, which was very good, and sampled a few of the wide selection of real ales available.

Will certainly stay here again when next in the area on business. As well as a great place to stay, it's really good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnsie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2011

just had sunday lunch excellent choice and value for money highly recommend it to any one

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
3.4 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
5.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
9.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 15 in Corbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dyvels Inn
The Dyvels Inn
#1 of 15 in Corbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golden Lion
The Golden Lion
#4 of 15 in Corbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Hotel

Property: Wheatsheaf Hotel
Address: St. Helens Street, Corbridge NE45 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Corbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing