We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really lovely little cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
View from Dilston Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Dilston Cottage
Dilston Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View from Dilston Cottage
Dilston Cottage
kitchen
kitchen
stair
cottage garden & view
bathroom
Winter
view of Dilston Newtown and cottage from field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corbridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathleen3...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A really lovely little cottage”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I stayed in this lovely, well equipped, little cottage for a couple of weeks for some 'time out' and it was just perfect --beautifully designed, warm and cosy --an ideal venue for a peaceful rest or indeed for a more active break exploring Northumberland. I was particularly impressed by how immaculately clean the cottage was --so many cottages where dogs are welcome seem to develop that 'doggy' smell and begin to look a bit tired but that was not the case at all here. The owners are friendly and there if you need them but otherwise leave you alone which I like. The small but pretty garden has lovely views towards Hexham and Corbridge --safe for your dog - and must be great for a barbi in summer.
All this and internet access too -- I don't hesitate to recommend Dilston Cottage for solo holiday makers or couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace.
Liked least: Lack of a bannister for the top portion of the stairs--a problem for infirm.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafodholi...
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not as described, unfortunately”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our satnav sent us to the wrong property, but it had the 3 white gates, as described in the email from the owner. We then phoned to ask directions, but because we were looking out for the white gates, we drove another 3 miles and became even more disorientated! Eventually, the owner stood outside and waved us in. After I had questioned her instructions, she informed us that the gates were changed earlier on in the year to plain wooden ones. She then informed us that the key was in the door to the property and promptly dissappeared into her house!
The property itself was beautiful with lovely views over the rolling hills and Hadrians wall. Unfortunately, the attention to cleanliness was a little lacking. Particles of food in the fridge,microwave and kitchen surfaces were a bit offputting. One sofa was most uncomfortable and liberally covered with dog hairs, so we had to squeeze into the comfier one which was more like an oversize armchair for one.This too, smelt of dogs. Luckily I spent a lot of time sitting outside in the little garden as the weather was so kind. The sunsets were spectacular.
Although the property was described as " suitable for people with restricted mobility". It isn't, I'm afraid. The stairs are quite steep and there is no handrail half way up. I had to resort to semi- crawling up the last bit! There is also a step up into the bedroom, which I forgot about in the middle of one night! Could prove dangerous.
I would imagine if you were more restricted than myself, you would not find the shower very accessible either, as it's in the bath.
The beds were very comfy and clean, but we didn't get much sleep as the duvets were far too hot for the wonderful summer weather we were experiencing for a change! We slept with the windows wide open but were awoken early on a couple of occasions by the revving of cars, loud voices and dog barking below. A little inconsiderate of the owner, we felt.
We thoroughly enjoyed the area, Re-living my childhood at Chipchase Castle( the walled gardens are a must for garden enthusiasts) and meeting up with long lost relatives. Corbridge, Hexham and Allendale offer something for everyone, but the jewel in the crown, by far, was," Blanchland". The prettiest little village in the entire country I conclude!
The " Stencil Studio" at Stocksfield offers courses and a tour around the ground floor of the house if you enquire in advance. The lovely, artistic owners have stencilled it from floor to ceiling in stencils which they design and sell all over the world. Even the furniture has been stencilled. It sounds wierd, but this beautiful, much loved old house has been painstakingly decorated over many years and looks just fabulous.
On a last note- there was a lack of intructions in the property for some white goods. In the welcome pack it said to use" common sense." Perhaps we don't possess any and because of this comment, we felt too silly to ask! The instructions for recycling were beyond our comprehension, I'm afraid, so we just did what we thought appropriate. We curtailed our stay by one night as we were in need of a good nights' sleep!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous sunsets and views
Liked least: Inappropriate bedding on hot summer nights!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2013
We are very sad that you had such a poor experience here at Dilston cottage, and disappointed that you did not draw our attention to the problems you had while you were staying here- we do have a feed back form in the cottage which we encourage guests to complete. The property should not be described as suitable for those with mobility difficulties and we have corrected this error on the holiday lettings website.The gates had just been renewed in the last month so unfortunately this guest had received details of arrival before the gates had been changed. It is always difficult to maintain a suitable level of non obtrusiveness to our guests when we live next door to the cottage and we are sorry that in this case we were obviously too hands off!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked getting out of the car, pushing open our gate, walking through the small walled garden and through the front door to a pleasing comfortable space.h
Liked least: Not applicable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard53...
Chester
2 reviews
“Perfect Location for our Annual Salmon Fishing holiday”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We have chosen Dilston Cottage for the past 4 years for our annual weeks fishing on the River Tyne. As we as being ideally located for the beats that we fish, it is a beautiful, cosy well appointed cottage that allows us to visit our many friends from our college days in Newcastle. Corbridge, itself, is a delight with several good pubs and high class shops, and Newcastle is handy either by car or train. We love the region, and hope to keep coming back for many years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath B
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic & comfortable little cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2012

We have stayed at this lovely cottage for 2 years running now. The cottage is very clean, comfortable (beds especially comfortable), quiet and very well equipped. It’s a real bonus having your own private garden, and secure parking, and the owners are extremely helpful if you have any problems. The location is perfect, being so close to Corbridge and Hexham, and ideal for exploring the beautiful countryside of Northumberland, not forgetting the many National Trust and English Heritage sites to visit in the area.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it. At the end of your stay in this cottage you will leave feeling refreshed and relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the proximity to Hexham and Corbridge.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly H
Ambleside
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly location”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

A delightful autumn break in this delightful & well- appointed cottage only a
short walk from historic Corbridge.
Lots to see & do - the nearby Newcastle Physic Garden is fascinating, various walks along the banks of the Tyne, unspoiled countryside with castles, ancient churches & many places of historic interest all made perfect by being able to return to the comfort of this perfect little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall comfort & design of cottage & peaceful location & our Westie being welcome!.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carralex2...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Our family has stayed here for around 3/4 years running! The accommodation is outstanding! It has everything you would need, staying in a quaint holiday cottage in the Northumberland district. The owner has great communication if you have any problems and to deal with bookings. The accommodation is a granny annex on the side of a house which has the most amazing views on the countryside. The best part of our holiday is sitting out on the little garden having dinner looking out on the view. Having this cottage means we can take our Staffordshire bull terrier dog with us, who now knows where her yearly retreat is. The cottage hosts two single beds and a sofabed which is perfectly adequate! The kitchen facilities are excellent! The only thing is it is not ideal for old people who can't get up the stairs for the toilet! Which didn't effect us but could be a consideration for other people.
Located near the little village of Corbridge is another asset which has a fantastic pub for food.

I honestly can't recommend it enough!!!

Guranteed not to dissapoint!!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing