We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe with delicious home made food”

Watling Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Corbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Great fresh daily specials, homemade cakes tray bakes and scones. Serving Corbridge and its visitors since 1976
Reviewed July 18, 2018

This is my favourite cafe in Corbridge. Friendly staff and good service. The quiche and the scones are the best I've ever tasted.

Date of visit: July 2018
3  Thank lmb723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 383 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2018

Lovely and warm on a rainy day. Friendly service. Specials were fantastic. Clean, and well priced. Thankyou

Date of visit: January 2018
3  Thank Dashers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

My parents have been coming here for years and always return. Beautiful coffee, excellent lunch, cake and friendly staff. Thank you so much.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Katie Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

My family stopped by following a visit to Corbridge Roman town. We were tired rather than hungry but were tempted by the display of cakes. Two of us had a really tasty coronation chicken sandwich with a selection of interesting salads and my husband had an excellent scone, on the strength of which we took home several kinds of scone and tray bakes - all very good. The venue is small but worth trying to get a table. Prices were very reasonable and the service was friendly and efficient. We are very happy to recommend a local independent business.

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We called into the Watling Coffee House on a Sunday at the end of May whilst on holiday in Northumberland. It was a warm day and the large windows were open making it cool and airy. The array of cakes was impressive and the coffee excellent. The staff helpful and very pleasant. We had the good fortune to be sat there when the town bank holiday weekend madness was in full swing so we had couples racing by in fancy dress pushing each other in wheelbarrows :).

We enjoyed our snacks a lot and at the end our holiday we went back for another visit. Just as good (even without the wheelbarrow race!).

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watling Coffee House also viewed

 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Watling Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing