We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't give a toss”
Review of Artisam

Artisam
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Corbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Couldn't give a toss”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Didn't give me the whole order on collection, and then tried to lie their way out of it by blaming it on my wife. Manageress claimed she repeated clearly the order to my wife. My wife initially spoke to a man!

Getting things wrong is normal, trying to worm your way out of it is a disgrace. Arrogant and expensive

Helpful?
1 Thank Azizza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    56
    23
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Dreadful food”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced and over hyped restaurant serving an odd take on Chinese food. The worst crispy seaweed I have ever had, it was like eating seasoned leaves! They even managed to totally forget my order, when we got our takeaway back, my dish was missing completely.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“lovely bakers”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

absolutely lovely scones cakes etc.
took a few samples home with us.
very nice scones and humungous Meringues.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pickybeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's the little things....”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Super food but it really is about the whole package. We visited recently and thoroughly enjoyed the food; very much up to its usual standard. However, the pre-meal drinks area is beginning to look a bit tired with holes in the leather seats and tables needing a good clean down. Service attention was good with a very sociable young team trying to please.
The restaurant area is, as always pristine but please, whoever is in charge look at the paintwork!
The food means that we certainly return but other reviewers are repeating what we have seen. Such a shame for something that could so easily be put right.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So Disappointed!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have visited this restaurant whenever we are in the area and have always found the quality of the food terrific - see my previous review - so when I took some friends this week, having extolled how good Artisam is you can imagine how disappointed I was when the meal was average at best and very poor at worst. The dim sum was tasteless, the wan ton indescribable, the duck very greasy, the hoi sin sauce was very thin as was the sweet chilly sauce and the salt and pepper ribs served in such small pieces they could have been anything. All the main course were bland, tasteless and had not been seasoned! The special fried rice was also tasteless and had very little in it. I find it hard to imagine that I will return - such a shame!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart S, Owner at Artisam, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi John sorry for the late response. First of all I'd like to thank you for your review as every review gives us feedback on our customers opinions. I'd like to apologies for your experience you had with us on your last visit, we pride our selves on serving good food and providing good customer service and i apologies that on that occasion it wasn't up to the usual high standards we set ourselves.
If your in the area again and think about dining with us again please don't hesitate to contact me, and me and my team will make it a much more memorable night for you and your guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisam also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Artisam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing