We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay would stay again”
Review of The Golden Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golden Lion
Ranked #6 of 15 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay would stay again”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I would just like to say how accommodating this hotel was with our party of 6, they were very happy to help with difficulties for breakfast. The rooms were clean and tidy the food from the restaurant was wonderful!! classic pub would recommend it to anyone who asks!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    40
    21
    10
    10
See reviews for
23
68
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Went in for our tea, great meal and service, I had the soup of the day, leek and potato broth which was very nice and then the steak which was cooked perfectly, my wife had the garlic mushrooms and then the steak and ale pie which she said was delicious, very happy.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

If you want generous portions of pub grub served in pleasant surroundings, you can't go far wrong with the Golden Lion. We're not talking gastro pub here, we're talking hearty plates of food at reasonable prices. Cheery staff and good service - and one of the best cappuccinos I've ever had in a pub environment - filled to the top and piping hot!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy_Blonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are a local 22 year old wanting a local 'Football' pub with great Disco at the weekend this is the place. BUT if you are looking for a charming local B&B with all that goes with it then it most certainly isn't.
I am not often a critic but the rooms were like YMCA, each equipped with a dreadfully cheap and uncomfortable mattress, and if that didn't make the task of sleeping hard enough don't worry they put on a really nosy disco to ensure that you were still awake when the 22 year olds were turfed out at midnight - we then enjoyed their party until 1 a.m. from the comfort of our 'YMCA' room.
It's horses for courses of course but just make sure you know what you want from your stay before you book, and either way it's ONE STAR. And just ignore the mould in the bathroom, it's a part of the package.

Room Tip: Avoid the weekend disco if sleep interests you !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
852 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I cannot comment on what it is like on staying here because we ate lunch here but it was an experience. Newcastle (football) was playing someone (not sure who and I don’t think anyone there really cared! Newcastle won!!!). It was a lively environment. If you are going for a nice quiet lunch, this is not the place and everyone seemed to know each other too. It was great!!! Anyway, I got the jacket potatoes and my husband got the ring sausage with chips and gravy. The food was very good.
This is a cute little village with adorable will shops. It is worth a couple of hours of wandering around and hitting the Roman fort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited this pub on a Sunday for the carvery, the meat was really good and a large portion was served. There were about 7 vegetables which could have been hotter. The bar service was courteous but not friendly, and the premises showed little ambience being a pub and not very bright.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this b & b for a few days, whilst on a short break. Fantastic location, great food and fab staff.

The property was clean and comfortable, and the young owner made us feel very welcome.

Highly recommended .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nielformnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
3.4 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
5.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
680 reviews
5.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 15 in Corbridge
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dyvels Inn
The Dyvels Inn
#1 of 15 in Corbridge
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#5 of 15 in Corbridge
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion

Property: The Golden Lion
Address: Hill Street, Corbridge NE45 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion is located in the beautiful historic village of Corbridge, Northumberland, 5 miles north of Corstopitum - the ancient Roman supply depot for the Roman soldiers guarding Hadrian's Wall. We are only 4 miles from the market town of Hexham, perfect for those visiting Hadrian's Wall, Hexham Abbey, Aydon Castle and Hexham Race Course. In our recently refurbished bar/restaurant, we offer a welcoming dining experience for couples, families and foodies with home-made food carefully prepared from locally sourced ingredients and a wide range of wines, cask ales and spirits. Dogs are welcome in the bar area We also have 6 fully refurbished letting rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee facilities, TV and free Wi-Fi. Get in touch today and book your accommodation in the beautiful village of Corbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Lion Corbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing