We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food after Long Hadrian Wall Walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corbridge Tandoori

Corbridge Tandoori
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Corbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Food after Long Hadrian Wall Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Family style dinner after long day walking hadrians wall. Mutter Paneer was fantastic, as was curry. We missed the crowd because we dined a little bit earlier. Servers were very friendly, and accomodating to our 6 month old.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhysicsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Damn good curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went on a very busy night and had excellent service, despite being busy we didn't wait long for food. We were a party of 5 aged 30-82 and we all loved it! The naan was lovely and fluffy, all dishes ordered were delicious. Special mention to the Bombay aloo which can sometimes taste stale but this was very fresh. We also had a takeaway later on in the week and it was just as tasty. When takeaway not quite ready when arrived for collection we weren't pressured into having a drink. We were served by Ahmed when we ate in and for the takeaway and he was very polite and friendly. When we were there for meal there were several other large parties and they were all enjoying themselves. I can't believe there have been so many negative reviews!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darthknitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not very good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

In terms of a takeaway... do yourself a favour and make the extra effort to go somewhere closer to Newcastle or choose something different to Indian. As for a restaurant, the customer service is terrible and the food is not that good. I can only assume that many of the positive reviews for this place is confusing this restaurant with the far superior one across the river by the station.

Don't ask for recommendations as you will be pointed to the most expensive thing on the menu... which, is not necessarily the best thing. The staff are abrupt and often rude.

Simply, don't go here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank shunrai00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“eat in not out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

we ate in the restaurant once and had a takeaway on another night (10% discount for the latter)
service in the restaurant was a bit slow but the food was excellent.
the takeaway was ready at the promised time and equally flavoursome but in three of the chicken dishes there was very little chicken (which had not been the case when we dined in the restaurant) may just have been a glitch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jock16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kormandgetit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Little restaurant upstairs in main square of this medieval village just 2 miles south of A69.
Amazing taste. They take indian and add meditteranean ingredients.
Once again we had lamb with olives ginger garlic and corriander, chicken tikka jalfrezi, chick pea rice and gorgeous potatoes in spiced aubergines. Seriously tasty, and not a mark on her new white top.
In corbridge or just passing? You must give your tastebuds a treat and your wallet a rest. This summer just gets better and better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nagromd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corbridge Tandoori also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Corbridge Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing