We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad and tired”
Review of The Hayes

The Hayes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hayes
Ranked #13 of 14 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A lovely approach up the drive, but it was all downhill from there. It seemed the staff had left and the elderly couple were bravely soldiering on themselves. Mould in the shower and on the walls, small towels which didn't dry off overnight in the damp bathroom as the rusty heated towel rail didn't work, old poly cotton bedding -none of which matched, creaky wardrobe door, ordering breakfast before 10 at night and cold toast waiting for us at 8.30. (It had to be 8.30). Poached eggs were not poached but cooked in one of those little steamer pans. Ugh! Everywhere else was fully booked - only reason to stay. Nice garden though!!!

Room Tip: Lovely view of the garden from room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliAK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

Shabby, old fashioned B & B. We felt as if we were staying in a low standard retirement home. Poor quality linen in bedroom; minute shower room with rusty fittings. All the towels stank appallingly of cooking fat so we assumed they'd all been dried over the Aga while breakfast was fried!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in this beautiful family home, rooms were large and very comfortable. Owners are very friendly and treat you as one of the family, a very substantial breakfast was offered which set us up nicely for walking Hadrians Wall. Four of us stayed and we all would certainly reccomend The Hayes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWestTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Corbridge is a very nice small town, with good shops and some decent places to eat ... we had visited before and wanted to have a more detailed look at the Roman site on our way south.
We found The Hayes on line and it certainly looked OK ....... but on arrival what an indifferent welcome ....
The house is furnished with an eclectic collection on old furniture .... some of it probably quite good but the general impression is of a sale room.
Our room was large and cold, with a double bed and two singles ...... very old fashioned but clean. There was a tiny television, a tea/coffee tray and an ensuite shower room of adequate size ... but the overall feeling was of gloom and despair.
Breakfast was at 8.30 sharp and was adequate. 'Get out of my house time' was 10.00.
Overall it took one back 50 years ..... except for the price ....142 pounds for two nights!!!
Could do better, probably very easily!!!!! Oh...and the internet connection did not work o either of our laptops, despite asking!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pelican65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We were walking Hadrian's Wall. This B&B is 3 miles south; we took a cab from the Errington Arms to get here. The owners are friendly and informative; the room and bath were comfortable if a bit dated. Close to the village. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_Louise_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

I could not agree more with the previous reviewer. A very disappointing experience. A frosty, monosyllabic welcome as the previous reviewer indicated. The best part of the stay was the evening meal down in the town.

The large room was adequate but a tiny TV on a coffee table with limited manoueverability because of the way it was connected to the aerial is really not on - think about this from the guest's perspective please!

Breakfast for me when I'm paying for it should not include dregs of limited choice cereals. But the worst aspect of breakfast was serving instant coffee - in this day and age a positive insult! At a time of recession when business is challenging, much more effort is needed from this 'can't be bothered' non-consumer friendly owner who needs to get out more and smell the (fresh) coffee.

I have stayed in the best hotels in the world and some of the best B&B's in the UK, including in the north east, so I know about quality and service. The Hayes does considerable disservice to the UK leisure and B&B industry. Would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Oh dear! I don't mind dated decor, but a frosty welcome, a room that smells of wet dog (be warned - they do allow them), a non-negotiable 8.30am breakfast time and a breakfast apparently using the cheapest ingredients possible is not my idea of B&B in 2009! Unfortunately the price is most definitely 2009. Very disappointing. I am glad it was for one night only.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southcoastchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corbridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#4 of 14 in Corbridge
335 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Robin Hood Inn
The Robin Hood Inn
#7 of 14 in Corbridge
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golden Lion
The Golden Lion
#5 of 14 in Corbridge
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dilston Mill B&B
Dilston Mill B&B
#8 of 14 in Corbridge
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 14 in Corbridge
188 reviews
0 mi away
Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayes

Address: The Hayes Newcastle Road, Corbridge NE45 5LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hayes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Hayes Corbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing