We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The standard by which we measure all other hotels”
Review of Kloster Hornbach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kloster Hornbach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We visit Kloster Hornbach at least once a year for its tranquility, perfect service, attention to their guests and the constant effort to get even better. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels in my life and none was better. The owners are actively involved in the running of the hotel and restaurant. They seek out the opinions of their guests and they act upon them. You see their care in the smallest details, the welcoming drink, the mattresses, bed sheets and even the toilet paper. We are not afraid to offer constructive suggestions, but it gets harder and harder each year.

Room Tip: They have at least 4 room types: Oriental, Shaker, African and Mediterranean. Then there are suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Touring along the German "Weinstrasse" and "Barockstrasse" we decided to try out the well-reviewed Hotel Kloster Hornbach with its casual restaurant offering regional specialities of Rhineland Palatinate. My friends were from Zweibruecken, so knew the place. We sat outside on a warm Thu evening 8.30pm and ordered some wine spritzers and Riesling wine as well as the Schaenken Menu. The wine was good, but that was the only gastronomic highlight of the evening! Service was slow and rather casual and overtaxed, i.e. unprofessional. Although friendly in tone, staff appeared untrained and didn't even speak the language! When addressed in German a waiter just shrugged his shoulders and muttered: "I don't understand. I no German." And left us sitting - puzzled. It then took ages until the menus and drinks arrived. When the starter eventually arrived (herring), it was tasty but the main course was indefinable - was it really game, a leg of venison, as alleged on the menu? It tasted somewhere between liver and nothing. Obviously one had undertaken every effort to render the piece of meat unrecognisable. We waited about 20 minutes for the desserts, which arrived in "shifts". It seemed rather impossible to have the uninspiring desserts delivered at the same time to a table of four: crème brûlée, a spoonful of tired strawberries and a scoop of sorbet, which had already ran/melted away when it arrived, rather sad and disappointing. We were offered a drink/digestif on the house as compensation and staff were apologetic but the whole dining experience was rather a let-down, so we'll avoid the place for dinner in the future and rather take to the "Fasanerie" in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back, i.e. the Klostergarten, are quieter and have a nicer view onto the herbal garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tripse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlosterHornbach, Manager at Kloster Hornbach, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear valued guest,

first of all we like to thank you that you took your time to address your open words and your helpful feedback. We at the Kloster Hornbach appreciate to hear our guests opinion, no matter if it is positive or negative. Positive feedback is always an additional motivation for all of us and complaints are always helpful to enhance our services.

Please accept our apologies for the unprofessional service you experienced while you were visiting our restaurant “Klosterschänke”. We assure you that our guests and their wishes always rank first. Our entire team and especially our service and kitchen staff lives for this philosophy. What you and your friends experienced is definitely not according to our high service levels and rules. On this special day we had to reorganize our team due to an unexpected lack of staff. We immediately discussed your concerns and feedback with our colleagues who were responsible at this evening and the team will take your constructive opinion to improve in case of short term and unexpected changes of shift members.

We would be more than happy if you could accept an invitation for you and your friends for another visit at our Klosterschänke. Please come back to us and let us know how we can provide you with a special compensation as a second chance to convince you of our always high service and quality.

Your Team of Kloster Hornbach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

do not miss out the opportunity to enjoy the superb tranquility and service of Kloster Hornbach. The team is setting standards on what you can expect and I actually would need to rate with 6 stars or change some of the previous 5 star ratings. Our daughter was thrilled when she saw the details just for her like special towel (Lilliefee), shampoo, reading books,... When I receiced a little travel convenience bag the day we left I knew this will set new standards!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crodino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We visit Kloster Hornbach at least once every year. I know of no hotel anywhere where the owners try so hard to improve. We keep thinking there is not much more that they can do, yet every year it gets better. In the very best hotels the mattresses and pillows tell you all about the hotel's philosophy. Is it about the guests, or is it about maximizing profits? Clearly profits result from the best service possible. Oh, by the way, it is beautiful, elegant, tasteful, has a gourmet restaurant, a friendly and caring staff and owners who seek you out and ask your opinions.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Kloster Hornbach is a fabulous place to relax. We spent Easter there, enjoying the beautiful Garden, relaxing, having massages and delicious meals together with corresponding wines - just perfect. If you look for something really different and special: check out there 'subsidiary' Loesch fuer Freunde (Loesch for friends). I have never seen something comparable in this category aand quality!!!
And perfect for shopping as well, only a few miles from Zweibruecken outlet - go for it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeinliebeBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Kloster Hornbach is the perfect getaway. A beautifully restored abbey, with tasteful modern design elements, thoughtful touches all over (free coffee & tea, mulled wine & stollen in the Christmas season, amazing chocolates on the pillow), and very personable service. It's the perfect place to lean back, relax, and not do much at all other than enjoy the beautiful lobby in the cloister, use the spa and go for a walk. On our fourth visit, we were yet again charmed and amazed, and every visit renewed feels like coming home

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealGaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

If Hotels are defined by their hospitality then this is hospitality at its very best.

Each section of the hotel has rooms themed in individual styles. Be it your classic style, African or the wedding suite etc. And each is done well.

The hotel has everything you'd wished for a romantic weekend or business conference during the week. Beautiful rooms, halls, history, excellent restaurant and top notch customer service tailored to match. The only thing I would say is the surrounding area / towns aren't really spectacularly unless you travel 1hour + away. But since my wife and I were focused on being together this was fine.

One evening (during our 2nd or 3rd visit!) we decided to eat outside on the nice grounds but due to the fact we were enjoying the moment so much we stayed out longer than we intended and it became rather cold. The next thing we knew the waiters and owner made a fire and covered my wife with a blanket, this sold it for us. We can't help but love the place.

Everything is given that personal touch of class and you feel very welcome here. This is a good tip by the way if your looking for a Wedding location. The Hotel has it all (including 2 churches of different sizes), so once your wedding party arrives they don't have to worry about traveling again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren_on_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornbach
4.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Landschloss Fasanerie
8.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Kunz
Hotel-Restaurant Kunz
#1 of 3 in Pirmasens
122 reviews
22.9 mi away
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten am Park
Hotel Rosengarten am Park
#2 of 3 in Zweibruecken
46 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Pfalzblick
Hotel Pfalzblick
#1 of 2 in Dahn
287 reviews
8.6 mi away
Wohlfuehlhotel Rabenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kloster Hornbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kloster Hornbach

Address: Im Klosterbezirk, 66500 Hornbach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Hornbach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornbach
Price Range: $168 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kloster Hornbach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Benedictine monastery “Kloster Hornbach” is today a small and exquisite 4* sup. hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Kloster Hornbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing