We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windermere Estate
Nearby Hotels
$100
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$56
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Deshadan Mountain Resorts(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 4651 Woodpecker Resort(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
$221
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fragrant Nature Munnar(Pothamedu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveler rating
308
205
58
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
205
58
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsset menufixed menutea hutcardamom plantationno alcoholthe barnplantation walkgarden roomeach afternoonbanana fritterssurrounding countrysidetea museumcomplimentary teaguided tourpre dinnerwestern ghatsstunning location
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 592 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were upgraded to the Planters Villa which undoubtedly helped with our enjoyment of this lodge. The views from the room and from other vantage points on the property were most beautiful.
The lodge is set high up in the hills in tea and cardamon plantations a little way off from the highway and town. Before you arrive stop for any supplies you may want, such as alcoholic drinks, because they do not have a liquor license and it is far back to town.
Ask for a guided hike through the neighboring cardamon plantation.
Food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for Planters Villa.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hotel enjoys an incredible location in the middle of tea plantations, with beautiful valley views. It was extremely difficult to find (no signs) for our Indian driver.
We found it far from Munaar and felt that a closer hotel might be a better choice.
Our room, PL A, had an annoying hum from generator nearby but luckily it stopped at night. We had mosquitoes but no screens on windows.
Management could not put all 3 rooms near each other even if we had booked over 3 months ago.
There is free wifi in lobby and staff let us use the hotel PC to access the web.

Dinner (set menu) was unfortunately bland. Soup and dessert tasted like package stuff. At 700 inr per person was a total ripoff
Breakfast, on the other hand, was tasty idli or eggs and fruit and such
It caters to Indians and foreigners

Room Tip: Avoid PLA because of the hum of the generator.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onlyGeorgeVwilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

After a very long and windy 4 to 5 hour drive from Thekkady, we were pleased to have chosen to stay at Windermere Estate for its quiet location and misty views. As we had our own car and driver, staying 10 minutes outside of town was not an issue for us.

As we are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (10 & 13 years) we had booked a "cottage" via Red Dot Tours. It wasn't what we as Australians or Brits would call a cottage, but rather a very spacious room in a two story semi-d block with large bathroom (no bath) and a good size balcony to enjoy the views. The room was extremely comfortable and clean, with a small fridge. The decor is old fashioned in a favorite-great-aunt kind of way.

The bedding configuration was a very large comfortable king size bed (2singles pushed together), a single bed and an additional mattress on the floor. We found that booking via an agent we were able to accommodate all 4 pax in one room rather than having to pay for 2 rooms. We found this difficult to do when emailing the hotels direct or booking via online sites. In this way, it was good value for money.

The room was breezy and cool in the evenings (20 degrees celcius). We did have the occasional mosquito but the room did have some plug in mossie repellents and we had our own supply of creams and sprays. With the windows open, we also had fireflies which were a beautiful and welcome surprise.

The reception and restaurant staff were efficient and helpful in dealing with special dietary requests for our daughter with coeliac disease. The staff spoke very good English and were able to clearly tell us which dishes did and didn't contain gluten. The set meal at night was very generous in portion size, a real mix of English and Indian dishes and overall very tasty, though not spicy enough for our tastes. We couldn't order wine with dinner, but we were able to purchase and have in our 'cottage'.

The room above the restaurant is a nice place to have a cup of tea, read and take in the view. It has a computer and internet connection as well as a nice range of books covering birds, wildlife and history of Kerala as well as some newspapers.

The surrounding tea plantations and hills make for some nice walks. We enjoyed the visit to the TATA factory where there is a community employment scheme for people with disabilities who make a range of paper products and beautiful textiles.

We would recommend this property as a really good 3.5 star which adequately met our expectations. Like others on this forum have said, the "luxury" hotel tag in Kerala doesn't translate as a 5 star equivalent in Western countries but it is a good choice nonetheless if you are taking a breather in Munnar.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgainhunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is set amidst stunning scenery at altitude and surrounded by mountains, tea plantations and spice fields. Munnar itself is a ten minute drive and is a busy market town with a range of shops.

The hotel itself is often described as luxury. However, in the UK it would struggle to rate three stars based on the standard of accommodation and amenities.

Our room, booked by an agent, was a basic Garden Room. This meant that we did not have a balcony overlooking the valley below. It also meant that we did not have a fridge, air conditioning (not strictly necessary at this altitude) or TV (not missed). The wardrobe was missing one doorknob which seemed a careless and unnecessary oversight.

Internet should have been available in reception but there were problems beyond the hotel's control.

Our room was large and the bed comfortable. The shower room was acceptable. Patio doors gave onto a pleasant shared garden area. I noticed that in another block the lower rooms were rather tucked away and probably gloomy.

Food at the Windermere is enjoyable. Lunchtime sandwiches are served with a choice of local fruit, freshly squeezed juice (a favourite was tree tomato). The evening set meal was varied, well cooked and tasty without being overly spicy. On one evening a pre dinner barbecue with complimentary gin and tonic as served, it proved a sociable event.

The staff were business friendly and efficient. A small tea area provides a range of complimentary teas in the afternoon. A naturalist took us for a short walk amongst the trees and spices, there was not a great deal to see.

Mosquitoes were not a problem, sitting outside after dinner was a little chilly in April due to the altitude.

We visited the Tea Museum, which is a modest experience. The video presentation referred to a local organisation for disabled people which made paper products and strawberry jam. We asked our driver to take us there so we might buy some. However, these are not available for sale and we received a brush off from the organisation. I felt that this was an opportunity missed on their behalf.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get one with a balcony overlooking the valley. Otherwise avoid the darkest ground floor rooms. Our garden room next to reception was fine.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinTurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

When I reached Windermere Estate Hotel in Munnar, Kerala, I truly felt I had come to paradise on earth. It was so tranquil, and beautiful, the rooms so well-appointed, clean, and comfortable, and the staff so welcoming and kind, for me, it was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in! I cannnot recommend it more highly!

Go and relax and enjoy!

Marcie USA

Room Tip: the rooms are so arranged that they all seem wonderful!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marciefallek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews