We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 4 star in Germany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel am Europaplatz
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Koenigsbrunn
Certificate of Excellence
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best 4 star in Germany”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was the truest example of what a 4 star hotel is. Nothing extravagant and everything comfortable. It was the largest shower I have seen in a European hotel, not huge just a lot of room to move in. The staff were very accommodating and the parking was truly secure. The motel is about 30 minutes or less from everything in the area.

Room Tip: Regular rooms are good size and comfy. No need to get the suite to be able to move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    45
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
20
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Germany is one of the best in Europe, when you are talking about general standards of hotels. This property located in the small town of Konigsbrunn was a litttle above my expectations.

Its a nice building, with an indoor and outdoor restaurant. The food was average but nice atmosphere. The rooms are spacious enough. Nice flat tv, full complimentary minibar etc. I'm not talking about hygine and cleanness since this is Germany.

The hotel was better than my expectations in general but they need to change the towels at all!! What kind of a management uses orange color towels in a hotel?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Summary: I would avoid this new hotel for a while until the management changes its poor attitude toward its clients. This is a modern new hotel that has a few kinks to work out, but the manager was rude, confrontational, unhelpful, and seemed to delight in "blaming the vicitm" (his clients) for any problems with the hotel.

I stayed one night in what should be a decent 2.5-3 star just outside of Augsburg. As an "overflow" hotel for a larger city hosting tourists and business, I found it a bit expensive - 85 euros/night - given how small Koenigsbrunn is and how little there is to do there. However, it's not totally out of line with high-season rates in Germany. The rooms and the bathroom/shower are modern and clean and fine, if unremarkable, much like the decor.

Though a reservation had been made by telephone in advance, there was no record of it when I arrived. The young evening desk clerk quickly made a booking, and he spoke quite good English for me. I found him quite helpful, although his senior management is certainly not. When this was mentioned to the senior manager, he accused my host of having mistakenly booked another hotel. Would that she had!

Though I asked for a quiet room, I was booked at the front of the hotel. As with many if not most European hotels in this category, there is no A/C, one opens the windows. This proved a problem as teenagers and youths gathered outside much of the night to drink and cavort, which prevented sleeping. They weren't crazy or violent, just loud and drunk.

There is no night clerk - one enters with the hotel key via an electronic lock. Therefore, there was no-one to call to change rooms or request intervention (and my phone didn't work anyhow - see below). This is also not abnormal in Germany, but this hotel will either need a night clerk or it will need to leave the number for the local police in guest rooms, I think.

The manager the next morning simply smirked at me and my host, and stated I "should have called" to change rooms. When I pointed out there was no night receptionist and that the room phone didn't work, all I received was a blunt "Ja, this is a small hotel." No apology, no concern, no worry that a client might not want to stay again.

As stated above, the room telephone did not function, and when my local host attempted to call more than once, the manager slammed down the phone on her. When she arrived in person he was rude to her, point-blank. At no point did he acknowledge the telephone should be replaced.

I have traveled throughout Germany extensively for quite a few years and while Germans sometimes refer to their business culture as a "service desert," I found the attitude displayed by this manager shockingly poor. I refused to try the included breakfast, given how bad service had been from him. This is a shame, as the hotel itself seems clean and modern (if a bit boring) with a nice biergarten. There are a couple of older hotels nearby, including one right across the street, and I would try them before I returned to the Arkadenhof for such rude treatment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front side, facing the cafe and biergarten. Teenagers and youths congregate there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSOTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajevo
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms. Highly recommended for families with older children.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidasba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donetsk, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This hotel is very good equiped from the entrance to the toilet. Excelant indoor garage. The stuff is highly qualified - everything we asked was done in time and we could hardly see somebody doing it. Nutritious breakfasts, very clean rooms.
The only minus was owner's wife - she was quite unpolite with me, but it was just 2 min. meeteing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anela7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I was in this hotel in august 2011 with my family. We have a 7 month child but the services was very understanding and helpful.In the hotel there is a playroom for children. Rooms very nice, well equipped with TV and fridge, accommodation. very clean, daily maid service during your stay by the support for. breakfasts are served in a buffet table, a very large selection of various dishes, both hot and cold. The great advantage of the hotel is an excellent restaurant which is located in the building of the Hotel. Hotel location is also very good because it is situated in a very quiet and peaceful place, but both are from there anywhere near both to munich and in the beautiful German Alps. Personally, I highly recommend this hotel, I have no objection to it, certainly yet visited it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koenigsbrunn
Best Hotel Zeller
#1 of 2 in Koenigsbrunn
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lechpark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Untermeitingen
32 reviews
Vienna House Easy Landsberg
#1 of 4 in Landsberg am Lech
49 reviews
Lechhausen-Ost
Best Western Hotel Dasing Augsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel am Europaplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel am Europaplatz

Property: Best Western Hotel am Europaplatz
Address: Rathausstrasse 2, 86343 Koenigsbrunn, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Koenigsbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Koenigsbrunn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel am Europaplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our BEST WESTERN Hotel am EUROPAPLATZ is located in the heart of Koenigsbrunn close to Augsburg. The hotel offers 72 comfortable and modern rooms in three different categories. All rooms are equipped with allergy bedding, shower or bath, toilet, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, desk, sitting area, minibar, coffee & tea-making facilities, telephone, 32 inch flat screen and radio. Particularly beautiful and trendy are our rooms in the category NEW GENERATION with king box spring beds, floor to ceiling windows, and daylight bath with walk-in rain showers, air conditioning and safe. Wi-Fi is free of charge throughout the house. You can relax very well in the newly designed spa area with thermium-sauna, steam bath and two relaxation tubs. A gym with cardio and strength tower is ready for your daily workout. Free parking is available on site. Chargeable garage -parking available on demand. For conferences there are three flexible conference rooms for up to 30 people. The Federal Highway 17 connects our hotel with the city of Augsburg and the exhibition center (about 10 minutes by car), the Bavarian capital Munich (about 55 minutes by car ) and tourist attractions in the Bavarian Alps such as the Royal Castle “Neuschwanstein” (about 70 minutes by car ). If you travel by train you can reach the hotel via Central Station Augsburg with the direct bus route 740. The closest bus stop “Koenigsbrunn Zentrum” is just a 5-minute walk from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel am Europaplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Am Europaplatz Germany/Koenigsbrunn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing