We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No improvement”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elzach-Oberprechtal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hirschen
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I went on a coach holiday to this hotel in the middle of September. All the adverse critisisms in the previous reviews were still a reality. Evening meals were of a very low standard with no choice of starter other than powdered soup, poor quality main courses, and very little of it and tiny desserts suitable for a toddlers party. Potatoes were either powdered mash or tinned potatoes. Fresh vegetables were never served with hot meals. Service was very slow by untrained staff. There was no lounge area with comfortable seats to relax after dinner the only seating being at the dining tables. No evening entertainment was provided, not even piped music, and there was nowhere else open to go in the tiny village. The hotel is in a poor state of repair and needs a major makeover.

The Black Forest is a beautiful area but our coach driver did not do it justice and never once stopped at a view point for guests to take photos. He had a sarcastic attitude and gave the minimum service possible giving us very little information and returning us back to the hotel very early despite the glorious weather.

This is certainly one hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hirschen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Living in the North-East of England, we find that the National Holidays trips into Europe via the North Sea ferries from Hull offer great value with the Boat experience proving a big bonus. With great food in the restaurant and the opportunity to relax in the bars or watch some cabaret, the holiday gets off to a great start. You can just about put up with the bunk beds but a £10 upgrade to a better cabin is worthwhile.
The long coach trek down to the Black Forest area is not too arduous and is more than made up for by the holiday itself. The Black Forest area is very scenic and the places we visited were all interesting. Our Driver, Graham, has a lot of knowledge of the area and he timed each day's excursion perfectly.
Having read some mixed reviews about the Hotel Hirshen, I was pleasantly surprised both by the location (in pretty village) and the accommodation itself. We were the only ones in the party who were allocated a room in the main building with other members of our party being allocated rooms in the annexe. All seemed pleased their facilities in the annexe and we were happy with our large room.
We were given a guided tour by the Hotel Proprietress, Beatrice, on our free day and were also able to explore it ourselves and take a trip to the nearby town of Elzach by bus.
I have noted some adverse comments about the food at the hotel. I consider the breakfast to be more than adequate with a good selection of cold meats, cheese, cereals, bread, buns, fruit, juice alongside scrambled egg. The evening meal was basic but I echo the comments of some other National Holiday customers by saying 'look what value you get from the Holiday as a whole package' and don't expect five star food. The free bar is also a big bonus and you can enjoy your drinks in the dining area or in a covered outside area.

The Proprietress, Beatrice, is obviously very proud of her hotel and her village. She is very obliging and will do her best to help if asked.
Well done, National Holidays, another very good value trip.

Room Tip: Try upgrading your boat cabin. Request a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Husband and myself went with National Holidays. Cheap and cheerful would be an apt description. The hotel itself was a nice building, spacious room with balcony and exceptionally clean. However, the food was what I would describe as "low end budget catering". We had dried re-constituted soup every single night and things like a "chicken burger" served with boiled potatoes, tinned carrots and gravy made up from powder (the gravy appeared on most things on most nights). The chicken burger didn't resemble any chicken or burger we have ever met in either taste or appearance. Highlight of the week was "Greek Moussaka" with a tiny piece of aubergine, a great many sliced potatoes and some brown bits which might or might not have been meat. Had some flavour and texture though, which made it the hit of the week. I made the mistake, one night, of having Spinach Dumplings which were truly horrible both in taste and texture. They were served, two on the plate, and that was it until pudding (desserts were a bit better, if very small). I didn't see a green vegetable available with any meal, unless I opted for a salad as a main course. Breakfasts were better with a good selection of continental sausage, cheese, rolls, fruit, etc. and they also tried hard to please us Brits with scrambled eggs and bacon as an option. We found the evening meal experience very frustrating because a bit of imagination and a little more effort could have presented meals with some variety of flavour, texture, colour and appeal and not necessarily at more cost.

The free bar was a good idea in theory but my husband asked for the name of the wine and was told it was from a box. It was OK but, as the free bar didn't start until 8:30 pm. we had to buy two glasses of Chateau Box at 4 euros each if we wanted a drink with our meal - and our meal certainly needed a drink.

The holiday was a bit disorganised. We were supposed to have a conducted tour of the village on day one but this didn't happen until the last day when we discovered there was a beautiful swimming pool with free entry for hotel guests. Imagine being informed about this on the last day! The brochure also advertised free wi-fi but our friend had to pay 5 euros daily for this (not free for coach trippers evidently) and the free bar didn't stretch to tea or coffee which was 3 or 4 euros a time. The brochure advertised tea and coffee making facilities but didn't go on to explain that these were located communally on the ground floor (we were up on the first).

We did enjoy the holiday but wouldn't do it again, or if we did, we would rather have B&B in Hotel Hirschen and go elsewhere for dinner. We felt that the free bar was paid for in the low cost budget food and the loading of prices on anything that moved.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seemed to be good - we had a lovely room on the first floor in the annexe with a b...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krysia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went with National Holidays, myself and my sister in-law. The rooms were clean, beds were . comfortable. The food was simple but very tasty. The couple who owned this beautiful hotel were exceptionally friendly, very helpful, very accommodating. Beatrice spoke perfect English and worked tirelessly. The free bar was excellent (especially the red wine). The owners son Justin was a very intelligent lad with a great sense of humor and is a credit to them, some of the other guest did not quite get him but i put this down to them being considerably older and maybe having forgotten what it was like to be 15.......
The only problem we had throughout the whole trip was one woman, who sat behind the driver graham, who consistently complained about every detail of the trip, i felt sorry for graham i really did.
Overall the holiday was brilliant and i would definitely go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went with National Holidays, and didn't know what to expect but my children aged 16 and 13 loved everything about the place, 10 out of 10 to the family who own and run the hotel, they are a credit!
The hotel and staff were very friendly, and helpful, the room was great, spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was very good. Justin is a star! Wait til you meet him.
The weather was perfect, the forest is beautiful, everyone who lives there are very proud of their houses, villages, churches and hotels.
The trips out were all fantastic, Strasbourg, Baden Baden and Frieberg are all beautiful places. All great value, and well organised, we got on well with everyone on the trip and made some friends.
The holiday went too quickly, we would go back tomorrow.
Recommended by Adrian, Leah and Isaac. (and the soup was gorgeous).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you don't like stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ADRIAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was also on the same trip when someone used other peoples tables and barged into the kitchen then was surprised when the owner told her to get out!
I went with my father and yes we had our own niggles when we were given a double room, which we were told was a twin in Germany, and so we got an extra bed put in, no big drama.
There was a problem initially with the water, however Graham the coach driver (who did a bang up job btw) explained on the next trip out that it would be fixed by the time we returned (and it was).
The comfort of the beds was very good, and because of the design kept at good comfort level - during a heatwave.
The food was well, ok, nothing special, a bit repetitive on the pork and soup side but all cooked well. There was a freebar 8:30 - 11:30 for wine & beer. food service was sometimes slow due to staffing issues so i believe.
The owner also gives a guided tour of the village on the last day, and speaks perfect english.
When you deduct the cost of the ferry (Hull - Rotterdam) which can easily be in excess of £200 p/p, the coach trips including Baden-Baden, Freiburg & Strasbourg, Tram tickets for Strasberg, and local bus tickets doesn't leave much for the Hotel so you aren't going to get 5* luxury, there is plenty of time during the days out to have lunch if you wish.
Please note the journey to the Hotel is very long although the coach is very comfortable and well air conditioned. The return journey can be broken up with an optional cruise on the Rhine, well worth the €15 p/p. The optional trip round Lake Titisee is not very good and is not in my opinion worth the €5 p/p, the area around Lake Titisee is very scenic though although it rained whist we were there

Room Tip: If you want twin beds apart ask for try asking for 2 single beds
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ringy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I too travelled to the black Forest with National holidays with my husband 14th July. Our room was lovely, very clean, serviced daily. Yes we waited a while in the restaurant but it was no big deal. Some guests seemed to think they were in England and obviously expected 5* food and service for the very low prices charged by National. We were witness to both sets of guests who have written bad reviews for this hotel and can honestly say that Buck Palace would not have been good enough and boy did they let us know!! They were rude to the Hotel staff from the start of the holiday to the end. They plonked themselves on a reserved table and when politely asked to move tables replied 'tough'. The table was eventually moved out and they were shown where they should sit. Instead they sat at a table where another couple had happily sat for 3 days forcing them to move without any explanation, thought or apology. how rude!!
The lady who says she was shouted at by a 'man in pyjamas' is in fact referring to the hotel proprietor who was in fact wearing chefs attire and shouted at her to get out of his kitchen when she walked straight in there to bother them for about the 10th time that meal time while her confused husband wandered around standing right in the path of the waiting staff trying to serve us. I have been in the hospitality industry for many years and quite frankly this woman deserved throttling and was an embarrassment as a British guest.
We had a wonderful free bar between half 8 and half 11 and having been on several national holidays I can say without doubt this was the best one. There was never a queue and no empty glass needed for a refill and you could order in 'rounds'. Service was always with a smile from the landlady who was extremely hard working but always helpful and courteous.
We actually witnessed one of these ladies ranting it was 'ridiculous' that the local staff in the pool facility not even attached to the hotel didn't speak English!!! How damn inconsiderate of them to speak German in Germany!!!
Our coach driver, Graham, handled these people very diplomatically.
So thanks to this minority of people from North of the Border - it was you who spoiled our holiday not National and certainly not the Hotel Hirschen. These were a lovely, caring, hard working family and if spoken to with the respect they deserved instead of like dogs they were certainly nothing but helpful.
If you travel on a budget holiday you need to get real. this was excellent value for an all inclusive break. If you expect 5* be prepared to pay for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elzach-Oberprechtal
14.6 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#3 of 3 in St. Peter im Schwarzwald
20 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
#1 of 1 in Biederbach
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
#3 of 4 in Hornberg
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Landgasthof Adler Pelzmuhle
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Zum Schuetzen
Gasthof Zum Schuetzen
#4 of 5 in Elzach-Oberprechtal
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Endehof
Pension Endehof
#3 of 5 in Elzach-Oberprechtal
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Triberger Str. 8, 79215 Elzach-Oberprechtal, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Elzach-Oberprechtal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elzach-Oberprechtal
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Hotel Hirschen Elzach-Oberprechtal, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing