We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hirschen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elzach-Oberprechtal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hirschen
South wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“New Year 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I went to this hotel for New Year the rooms very very clean, staff are amazing,food was very good the only fault I had with the hotel on New Years eve day there was nowhere around to have a snack and because the hotel staff was busy getting the meals ready for New years eve they were unable to do snacks and also the bars was closed
It was not the hotels fault because there was 2 coach trips there
There was a problem on New Years Eve when they run out of deserts but that was down to the people and not the hotel some people got their deserts and then went up for more not thinking that some people had not had any at all which I thought was selfish and greedy
If I went again maybe I would get a roll or something in the shops just in case I got angry like I send the hotel was amazing it was a shame that it was not in walking distance of a town we went with New market holidays
I thought the trip was quite expense for what it was no free bar and reading other people reviews who went Christmas it cost £100 less and they had a free bar if I was to complain about the hotel it would have good if there was a free bar new year eve but that is the New Markets holiday problem not the hotel great place to stay if you enjoy walking or need to chill out

Room Tip: I had room 7 it was very big warm and showers was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RetrosBeauty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    24
    20
    22
See reviews for
14
56
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent New Year 2012 on a National Holidays trip to this hotel.We had a good journey both ways with overnight on the ferry from hull.
On arrival another coach had just tuned up as well but the keys were brought to the coach and as we were in the main bulding of the hotel ,did not have to queue for the stairs in the annexe in the dark.
We were on the top floor,in a large comfortable warm room,with a nice shower room.The tea/coffee station was on the landing but was always full of english tea bags coffee sugar and milk.
The food could have been better,but was typical German cuisine,a problem arose on New Years Eve when they ran out of desserts ,but that was because a lot of people were just plain greedy!.
We had a tour of the village on New Years day which was very interesting,then went back for snapps and Gluewine,but after that we were left to our own devices,the bar was shut and nowhere else was open,to get something to eat or drink.I know it was New Years Day ,but feel they missed an opportunity!
What bugs me is when people dont get what they want is that ,they kick off at the driver!,instead of taking it up with National Holidays when they get back,the poor lad was only driving the bus,and was actually very good,I felt sorry for him .
Would I go again ,Yes I would

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spexMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We a party of six went to this hotel with Caledonian coach trips on the 6th dec.for the Christmas markets. We left from Glasgow to Hull with Caledonian bus and changed to National which was very comfy bus .The ferry was amazing it was great fun and very good food. The journey is long but in our opinion was worth it . The black forest was amazing it was wow! . The hotel is in the heart of it and a great stopping point. The rooms were clean a lot of tired furnishings but certainly not dirty . The food was not great but as others have said what you have paid what do you expect. It was not all bad the wine from the free bar was very good . The family who run the hotel were so friendly .They could not do enough for you. Beatrice was brilliant she was full of enthusiasm I think she will turn this tired hotel round . I believe it was run by the parents and the young ones are just taking it on The hotel in our opinion was only somewhere to sleep we were there for the markets and it was brilliant . We saw so much in that six days that I would recommend it as real value for money . We paid £259 for this coach trip . including berth and food on ferry .Hotel dinner bed and breakfast and 3 hours free bar every night we were in hotel . The bus driver Graham was very good he was informative and the excursions were brilliant . In our opinion the whole trip was brilliant . so stop moaning or pay up for 5 star.accommodation. We would use hotel again and recommend it .

Room Tip: If you are not happy I am sure the family will be most happy to move you just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ardeer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Day 116th December took us 8hrs to get to Hull & onto the ferry then the crossing to Rotterdam Day 2 arrived 1200 delayed by 4hrs engine trouble. Informed 9hr drive to hotel & with a rest stop, arrived 2200. Hotel served us a poor quality meal then 2300 find casses and rooms. Day 3 up 0730 breafast 0800, leaving for markets 0900 back at 1800. Day 4 up 0730 breakfast 0800 leave 0900 for market back at 1600. Day 5 up 0530 breakfast 0630 leaving ASAP to catch ferry to Hull Arrived Rotterdam 1730 onto ferry. Day 6 Hull 6 hrs to Sunderland then bus home thank F***.
Long boring and tyring bus journeys mostly in the dark, very poor food in hotel and lack of sleep lost interest in the markets and bought very little. Rooms cold, 1 kettle in corridor, sauna & Gym burnt down & food so bad ate out on the 3rd night.Free bar from 2030 to 2330 so had to buy drinks with meals. NEVER AGAIN done easier Army Exercises had more sleep and been better fed. In my oppinion National Holidays need to revue this trip find a better hotel closer to Rotterdam and do a sightseeing trip to the Black Forest that includes one of the markets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stickman1052016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elzach-Oberprechtal hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Doncaster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Firstly I'm amazed at how many people can go to what in essence is a typical German 'Guesthouse'and expect 5 Star facilities/food when the cost of the holiday is incredible value for money and then moan because they actually get what they pay for which is a Budget Holiday. Yes we had one or two gripes over things but My Partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Hirschen.

1) The hotel provides Tea/Coffee making facilities free of charge. Most places charge these days !! so why not look on it as a bonus than a nit pick ?? It's free to help yourself when you want. So does it really matter that much that a kettle is 'shared' between rooms ??

2) The hotel was warm, relatively clean and really only lacking in one thing which was a Lounge of some sort to sit in and read or relax. Sitting on hard chairs in the Dining room wasn't ideal..but at least it was better than sitting alone in your own room. If you went in Spring/Summer there would be plenty of places in the garden to relax in.

3) Food was good. Self service soup each night. What's so hard about helping youself to soup ?? Plenty of Meat and 2 Veg. Pork first night, Schitzel second, turkey the Third and Ham the Forth night. the Hotel was always happys to give 'seconds' and extra gracy etc Portions were generous as well. Yes, Some of the Veg was Frozen but If you want Fresh Veg then go to a 5* Hotel and pay Fresh Veg prices !!!! A frozen carrot never hurt anyone and still gives you the same nourishment !! Breakfast was the standard German continental Breakfast with the addition of Scrambled Egg and Bacon which was a bonus. Remember folks you are in a different country and therefore ways of cooking food will be different !! Stay at home and go to Blackpool if you want 'British Grub'

4) Bar prices were reasonable Euro 2.50 (small) 3.00 (med) and 3.50 (large) Beer. 2.50 forHalf pint apple Juice and 2.50 for a Latte.

5) Yes, you do pay for water in the room. It states clearly Bottled water is charged for in the Hotel Info Book in every room. No different than any hotel. 5Eu per day for WiFi which isn't unreasonable compared to buying a UK bundle from your Uk Mobile provider. TV in the room only has Sky news but hey..who goes on holiday to watch Telly ??

6) The Village was very quiet but as we visited over Christmas we did not expect any different.

7) The excursions provided by National Holidays were excellent and Graham was a fabulous coach Driver with a great sense of humour and loats of information. Thank you for the Christmas Presents National !!

8) The family who run the 'Gasthaus' are wonderfull and always ready to do their best for you. remember treat people the way you expect you be treated !! Get drunk and obnoxious and expect the consequences !!

All in all a wonderfull holiday - and yes I would go back!!

Room Tip: There are no lifts so explain and they wil put you in the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pussinboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a long review, so if you wish to skip here's the points.
1) Hotel food diabolical, highly processed, and frankly disgusting, and inedible, by almost all of the coach members.
2) Rooms tired, not overly warm, comfortable, or clean in some occasions.
3) Hotel is modern really (not 300 yr old). Well maybe 10 years old modern.
4) Their schnapps they make is fab! (see if you can get a free taster session)

Basically, take plenty of food, some cleaning materials, kettle, cup, tea/coffee etc, and don't use the bottled water in the room. Eat well when you're out and about, and consider using the restaurants located in the village.

The Review:

It's a coach trip so you don't expect 4/5 star accommodation, but this hotel really was the pits.

Tired, old rooms, no tea/coffee except at corridor ends/annex entrance (when there was water provided with it). Pretty much needs an overhaul totally, mouldy areas, dirty spots. Bed linen was clean to begin with, but sheets never changed, even though beds "made" daily (and obvious Tea Stain on the corner from the first day).

Food was well below par. Highly processed rubbish provided daily. Bacon with bits of bone in it, Scrambled eggs, probably powdered, cereals were routinely topped up with what was accidentally dropped on the serving table. Tea/Coffee was free for all, grab it first, or be left out, never enough for each table.

Beatrice kept us outside in -2 freezing weather (with most of us having no coats) for 20 mins because breakkie "wasn't ready" (day of departure, very early start, and she knew that we'd be there). She was quite happily sat at reception in full view of us, and we were in full view of her.
Hard to access rooms in hotel, up awkward stairs in hotel, and annex has no lift. Hotel isn't 300 years old. it was rebuilt in 50's from scratch due to fire. Only section that was 300 was the sauna/schnapps section, which was gutted in a recent fire.

I don't expect top notch on a coach hotel, but this was well below par, and this opinion was shared amongst the majority of guests. It rated the absolute worst amongst several seasoned Coach Holidays/National Holiday coach trippers. As a first time coach tripper I didn't expect the Ritz, but I also wasn't prepared for how awful it was. It was a joy to get on the coach to leave each day to seek out better food.

You could request different food, but it was on the same par as the mass produced rubbish others got. Crinkle cut carrots, frozen and boiled senseless, some salad leaves if you were lucky, and sweetcorn, and green beans equally grabbed from the freezer. In addition a sad looking "pork" chop.
Soups as starters caused much amusement in trying to distinguish the flavour, generally powered, and one night another guest had an added extra piece of rubber in one bowl.
Frozen cubed veggies ala school days, powered "potatoes" mashed, sludgy puddings, and a "chef" who happily dug his fingers in the ice cream (the one only decent pudding till I saw this!), lick it off, serve the guests bowls, and pick up the dropped scoops with the same fingers he'd put in his mouth.

It was unacceptable to leave guests in the freezing cold just because you weren't ready, did she expect us to run riot? All we wanted to do was sit down in the warmth to wait. Mind you, what topped the "tasteless cake" was the notice on departure day at breakfast that the cheapy water in the room were chargeable at over 2 euros (!), especially when one bottle was opened by a previous guest in my room, and never replaced! Then you had the breakfast notice saying you could buy a tiny roll for an Euro, and 80 cents more for a bit of ham, or cheese upon departure day. Especially when the hotel were very aware it was an 8 hr drive (9 to get there with a stop)

Bottom line, don't do it. The ferry was delayed 3 hrs, we sat on a coach for an 8 hr trip to it, to then have to sit for over a couple of hours to eat this awful food, and not even be able to have a private cuppa in the rooms. It took forever for keys, as some instructions were not passed on, like ground floor rooms needed.
Loved the places we went, and the people on the coach, but the hotel was a blot on the horizon at the end of each day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mynameis_Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just back from visit to German markets and stayed at this hotel,i must say we were made very welcome by Beate the wife of this hotel nothing was too much trouble, accommodation was excellent and good food into the bargain I would have no problem recommending this premise and would have no problem staying here anytime.This is a family run hotel which has been in the same family for over 300 years,they also make very nice schnapps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 342Robmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elzach-Oberprechtal
14.6 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#3 of 3 in St. Peter im Schwarzwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
3.0 mi away
Landgasthof Adler Pelzmuhle
5.3 mi away
Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
#1 of 1 in Biederbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Der Hirschen
Der Hirschen
#1 of 3 in Sankt Margen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
#1 of 4 in Hornberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel an der Sonne
Hotel an der Sonne
#6 of 8 in Schonwald
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Property: Hotel Hirschen
Address: Triberger Str. 8, 79215 Elzach-Oberprechtal, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Elzach-Oberprechtal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elzach-Oberprechtal
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Hotel Hirschen Elzach-Oberprechtal, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing