We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Haus Erika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Erika
Ranked #1 of 7 Wieden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our 6 night stay was perfect. Lesley and Manfred are excellent hosts they even took us to their cousins pub resturant in the hidden valley. Haus Erica is a tradionally built Black Forest house, full of character but will all mordern conveniences. Breakfasts were excellent an a joy to try a variety of local breads. Lesley made available a number of cards that allowed for reductions in the price of cable cars, parking etc. This destination is worth the four hundred mile drive from the UK. We will certainly stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 195 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Wow, what do we say? Our family had an incredible stay at Haus Erika, thank you so much for having us! Leslie and Manfred were very welcoming and accomodating, thank you for all the advice and various drinks outside in the warm evening air, oh and the dog who happily kept us company too. Such a friendly atmosphere, all the guests were chatty too and we had a smashing time! The rooms were excellent with good facilities, due to an error in our booking we had to move rooms on the last night but Leslie was very helpful and the move was very easy! The location is literally amazing, far more than I had expected, its one of those places where pictures don't do it justice. Would love to come back again, was such a relaxing and enjoyable break. Make sure Leslie gives you vouchers for the local attractions, the toboggan is so much fun and costs literally £1 with a voucher. I could probably go on forever, you get the idea, great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at haus Erica. Lesley made us feel very welcome and was helpful with information, especially useful for where to park in Freiburg. Wieden is beautifully situated for walking and there are three good restaurants in the village. We also enjoyed sitting in the garden at Haus Erica after our walks. TV in the room had a good range of channels in English as well as German. On the down side, the wooden floor boards creaked a lot when people on the floor above moved about, and the low ceilings might be awkward for very tall people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangegillyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we stayed 4 nights at haus erika. we were a group of 9 people (inc. children) and all we can say is that lesley is a proffesional!!!!
the welcoming, the reccomendations, the tips, and taking care of everything you need on
your holiday is what lesley knows how to deal with, and perfectly.
we arrived there based on tripad. reccomendations and we add ours saying to everybody;
excellent!!!.
this is an example to hosting!.
fam aroetti. tel aviv.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HILATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have traveled extensively and stayed at many bed and breakfasts throughout the world. Haus Erika will meet your needs but isn't exceptional like some we have stayed in. Leslie was friendly and business like, much like a small hotel. If you are looking for feeling like you are part of a family, this isn't the place. Room was small and functional but bring your own soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudgesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hello from everyone here in Haus Erika.
Thank you for your review and your valued comments.
Obviously we have to do better!
I feel it a pity that you weren't happy with your room - I had expressly kept the traditional Black Forest bedroom ( with it's painted furniture ) for you as I'd thought that it would be a nice experience for you.
I wasn't aware that there was soap missing from your room, as there is normally a bottle of liquid soap on the wash basin in all rooms. ( It is a pity that you didn't tell me, we could have rectified this problem immediately). We don't supply shampoo as everyone has their own personal favourite ( which they usually bring with them ) and we try to keep the price of our rooms down and have found that placing such items in the rooms is not only extremely expensive ( and in all hotels / B&B's the cost is passed on to the guest ) but also the individual packaging isn't enviromentaly friendly. We do have shampoo, toothpaste etc. available for guests who have none with them. Again, if I'd have known, I would have gladly given you a bottle.

I hope that you'll give us a chance to prove ourselves, should you be in the area again.

Best wishes
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Haus Erika, the setting is beautiful and the welcome and attention received from Lesley and Manfred is quite special. Our room was comfortable and very clean, the dinner we had one night there delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting other travellers who were staying. Lesley gave great recommendations of what to see and do in the area and was always concerned to help her guests have a good time! We began to feel like Haus Erica was home by the end of our stay. We would thoroughly recommend a visit to this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We chose Haus Erika based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were delighted with our choice. This lovely house was everything we had anticipated a house in the Black Forest should be -- quaint, quiet, safe, cozy, lots of wood and sparkling clean! Lovely personal touches of mineral water, tea, coffee in the room, wine and beer fridge go a long way to making the traveller feel at home. The bed linens were deluxe. Standard breakfast, but the view from the breakfast patio is outstanding. The village is charming and the Black Forest scenery beyond beautiful. Our 2 night stay was not long enough and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155004Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wieden
2 mi away
Vital-Hotel Gruener Baum
2.8 mi away
Waldhotel am Notschrei
Waldhotel am Notschrei
#1 of 9 in Todtnau
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhang
Hotel Sonnenhang
#2 of 3 in Wieden
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gut Lilienfein
Gut Lilienfein
#2 of 7 in Wieden
88 reviews
14.2 mi away
Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni
Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni
#1 of 20 in Schluchsee
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wiedener Eck
Wiedener Eck
#1 of 3 in Wieden
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Erika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Erika

Address: Ortsstr. 10, 79695 Wieden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Wieden
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wieden
Price Range: $84 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is a traditional 360 year old Black Forest house which has been renovated continually to a very comfortable standard. Our rooms are all Ensuite. We take pride in providing our guests with value for money and giving you a holiday to remember - for all the right reasons! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haus Erika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Erika Hotel Wieden
Haus Erika Wieden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing